A Very Special Tribute

While surfing the net today I stumbled upon this website and I signed up immediately. Below is a description of their activities:

On September 11, 2006, 2,996 volunteer bloggers
will join together for a tribute to the victims of 9/11.
Each person will pay tribute to a single victim.

We will honor them by remembering their lives,
and not by remembering their murderers.

If you would like to help out, either by pledging to post a tribute on your own blog, or by offering your services to promote this cause, just leave a comment here and I’ll email you the name of a victim.

Then, on 9/11/2006, you will post a tribute to that victim on your blog.

But, and this is critical, the tributes should celebrate the lives of these people–kind of like a wake. Over the last 5 years we’ve heard the names of the killers, and all about the victim’s deaths. This is a chance to learn about and celebrate those who died. Forget the murderers, they don’t deserve to be remembered. But some people who died that day deserve to be remembered–2,996 people.

Thank you,

D.Challener Roe

Any bloggers out there interested in becoming involved in this tribute, please follow the link above to the website and sign up.

Thanks,

WC

6 thoughts on “A Very Special Tribute

  1. Done, i’m already signed up and did so about a month ago 🙂 It’s one way in which I can be a part of it despite being half a world away. Looking forward to it actually!

    I am too. But it is daunting too. I want to do right by my guy (NY fireman) and there is so much research to do. I’m going to dig into it this weekend.

    WC

    Like

  2. I think it is wondeful. I had two friends on United Flight 175 which was the second of the aircraft to hit the twin towers that day. They were on their way back to L.A. Scouts for the LA Kings Hockey team.
    Ace Bailey and Mark Bavis……… In advance, Thank You

    Gerry, I’m so sorry to hear that you had people close to you who were lost that day. Thankfully, no one I knew personally was taken. It must have made it all the harder for you to deal with.

    Nothing to thank me for – I wanted to do it – but you’re welcome.

    WC

    Like

  3. http://www.acebailey.com/aboutace.htm

    I’d consider it a great honor WC if you were able to take Ace Bailey on 9/11/2006 I attacged his foundations web site give you a little bit about the man….

    Gerry, I would be honored to do a tribute to your friends – but the way it works is that you are assigned someone randomly. You should go to the website (link in the post above) and check and see who is doing a tribute to your friends. I’m not sure how many people are ‘spoken for’ but I think you can find out on their website.

    God Bless,

    WC

    Like

  4. I feel so ashamed…. (blushing)
    You beat me to it, Annie.
    Oh, man. A big duh here…(whacking myself in the forehead)

    ~m

    Dude, lighten up. LOL. No worries. 😉

    WC

    Like

Comments are closed.