Gone But Not Forgotten

I find this not only amazing, but it also touches my heart. (HT to Marli for sending me this) WC

These wreaths — some 5,000 — are donated by the Worcester Wreath Co. of Harrington , Maine . The owner, Merrill Worcester, not only provides the wreaths, but covers the trucking expense as well. He’s done this since 1992. A wonderful guy. Also, most years, groups of Maine school kids combine an educational trip to DC with this event to help out. Making this even more remarkable is the fact that Harrington is in one the poorest parts of the state.

Rest easy, sleep well my brothers.
Know the line has held, Your job is done.
Rest easy, Sleep well.
Others have taken up where you fell; The line has held.

To all our troops and their families, know that we love you, appreciate you and pray for you. Merry Christmas.

Respectfully,

WC

Update: While cruising the net tonight I also found this guy who is sending Christmas trees to the troops. Unfortunately, they’re done for 2007 but they are accepting donos for 2008. I love this stuff!

Annie

5 thoughts on “Gone But Not Forgotten

  1. The story, all around, is moving.
    But what i found the most touching, is that the children who help with the project hail from one of the poorest areas of Maine.

    What a testament.

    Yes, it is interesting that those who seem to have the least, give the most, don’t you think? I’ve often read that charities say that by and large it is the small donors ( $5, $10, $25) are the ones that keep them going and make a difference. So it just goes to show you that anyone can make a difference. 🙂
    Chica

    Like

  2. You do a beautiful job. I love your blog. I get goose-bumps it is magical. Thank you! ly…Marli

    (((Marli)))!!
    Aw, thanks, hon. It is a wonderful thing that this company is doing and I’m happy to let people know.
    Love
    Annie

    Like

  3. Oooh – I had seen this last year and read it. So glad to see it is still going on. You really have to stop and think about wonderful people who do things like this. 🙂

    I know! You know, we hear so much bad stuff all the time. All the horrible things that we do to one another and never hear enough of the wonderful things we do for one another. It restores my faith in my fellow man when I read things like this, it really does.
    Annie

    Like

  4. Awesome photo.
    Truly inspiring and the highest of kudos to the wreath company.
    And in this day and age of me, me,me
    ~m

    Yeah, ain’t it sweet? Man is good. We are good. It’s just sometimes it would be nice to see and hear it, huh?
    WC

    Like

  5. So touching. It pulls on your heartstrings and makes you proud at the same time.
    Yes, there is so much good we just do not hear about very often
    Thanks for sharing this Annie. Very inspiring.

    Angie, there are so many cool things going on out there in the big world – and we never hear about it, which is really a shame. I wish to God, that somebody would actually start a good news television station. Nothing but good news. I really believe that if we had something like that, that a lot of the happy pills we take wouldn’t be necessary. 😉
    WC

    Like

What do you think?

