What Gives You The Right?

You know, in the last couple of weeks I’ve had something remarkable happen. And I don’t mean that in a good way.

A couple of weeks ago, a person showed up and made some comments on a post I’d written about Hillary Clinton. No problem, I’m all about comments and interaction. But her whole purpose in visiting, apparently was to berate and chastise me and spew insults. She seemed to have no other point.

Then this morning, some person (a man?) commented on the current post. Well, it wasn’t exactly a comment – it was about 20 paras of profanity. I actually tried to edit it, but it was impossible because every other word it seemed was bleepable. So, I simply wrote him a letter in the comment box.

The thing that really gets me is this, what gives people the right to do this sort of thing? I mean, look as a blogger I know that if I write something with a strong opinion, others will have strong opinions about it too. They often may disagree with me. I have no problem with that. In fact, I usually welcome a good debate. How else do we learn or get to see things from another perspective. However, when it’s just venom or garbage instead of any particular view, what exactly do these guys think I’m going to do with that?

Is it some psychological thing? They are so screwed up that they simply can’t communicate in any logical or rational manner? Are their meds in so need of adjustment that they simply can’t be civil?

Or do they think that since the Internet offers anonymity that they can just zip over to your site, dump all over you and steal away like a theif in the night? Are they not aware that their IP address is there for me to follow? Do they not know that I can track them? Do they really think they are anonymous? They aren’t.

So, Cassy in Minnesota and Jimmy in Virginia – I suggest you rethink your marauding blog strategy. Or better yet, get your own damn blog and spew your hatred for all to see. Show the world your utter lack of intelligence and vocabulary to anyone lost enough to visit you. Let the world know who you are by posting your crap day after day. And make sure you put your name on it. Find a way to get your own readers – I’m sure they’re out there. There are tons of pathetic, inept, nasty jerks of like minds out there who will happily come to your places and commiserate about how the whole world (save you) are total idiots – and that you and you alone have your finger on the pulse of the truth. Find a forum that wants you. I sure as hell don’t and neither would most intelligent people.

See how that works for you.

WC

20 thoughts on “What Gives You The Right?

  1. Yes, well the problem is they DO go forth and multiply…therein lies the reason for the world being so skewed. In any case, I think it’s a combination of the anonimity factor and the fact that they’re repressed and no one listens to them in general, or in “real life.” I sometimes think it’s better they get out their frustrations on something benign as a blog, rather than lock and load and go to town in some school or university or McDonald’s.

    Hello Alex,
    You know – I’m not sure that they don’t also go off to McDonald’s (or wherever) locked and loaded anyway. Perhaps they are by and large a bunch of losers whose lives are about stalking blogs and ordering everything else they need online – but I don’t think so. I do think, however, that the problem is that people believe they aren’t required to have manners or be considerate of others anymore. And the truth is, if you want to live in a society, you have to observe certain rules of kindness and consideration, even if you’d prefer not to. If you don’t live in a cave, you have to learn how to get along with others. And how to disagree without destruction. To me, that’s the problem.
    WC

    Like

  2. Well said. This is my first visit. What a beginning. With your permission would love to add you to my blogroll. Please visit me at rhymeintime.blogspot.com.

    Welcome WG – I’d be honored to be on your blogroll, thank you. I’ve just dropped by – you’re a talented poet.
    WC

    Like

  3. Arrrgggh! That is so annoying! I can’t wrap my mind around why anyone would behave that way. Makes you think how proud their parents must be of them. Jerks. And other choice words.

    Hey Teens,
    Yeah, you have to wonder what they are like in the real world, huh?
    Annie

    Like

  4. I choose to think MOST of these clowns just spew vitriol and venom via words, otherwise we’d have a ton more shootings a la Columbine. Still, I do agree…however, the world ain’t what I or you would want it to be regarding manners. I love a heady argument without F-words or C-words or whatever. But to get that, we might need to attend organized debates or forensics tournaments. Civility has long been lost. And now, back to my bottle of cognac.

    Yes, I prefer to think the same thing – although we might be living in dreamland on that topic.

    I’ve encountered some good debates, even without formal settings – but yeah, a lot of them dwindle quickly into cussing and insults. A shame really when you think of all the amazing technologies and access to knowledge and information you would think it would have society smarter by and large – but it seems to have just made people lazier. Sad, really.

    Cognac? Sounds good.
    WC

    Like

  5. Sometimes i think that folks that behave the way you’ve described is plain old immaturity. i think that folks who rant and curse to make their points are trying to intimidate others and that is all that is at their disposal.

    Now i’m all for free speech, emotion and passion- but that can’t be all there is when trying to make a valid point that others will actually understand and consider. i often have to watch myself- not that i’d do what they did (i’d feel so ashamed)- as i tend to get emotional about certain subjects. Usually, when i have a strong emotional reaction to a post, i won’t comment because i’ll only regret it later.

    Usually.

    But the cursing and degredation of one’s self in an attempt to, what? hurt? infuriate? get attention? is such a waste of time. And i agree, usually the ranter likes to see you sink down to them, get nasty and ugly. It’s not worth it.

    i don’t really write commentary so i’ve not had such an experience, but my plan is, if it ever occurs at my place of words, to delete. And like you- not differing opinions or even passionate opinions, but the foul, pointless ramblings that seek to create blight. It’s like visiting someone’s home. You don’t go in there and track mud all over the rug, jump on the couch and break the dishes. Sheesh!

    There is such a lack of respect for others, especially in cyberspace, but i see this lack daily. People think i am so supernice just because i have manners; they can’t get over how polite and well behaved my children are. i can’t believe this is so rare, but it is.

    Anyway, i am sorry these people have darkened your door. But you handled it well. When you really think about it, those two gave you all the power (the power they tried to gain with their foulness) when they degenerated into cursing maniacs.

    Write on, Chica!

    Hey Chica-chica,
    You said it. It’s terrible that people seem so impressed by manners these days – it used to just be a given. Now, a rarity. Man oh man, what does that say about us? I don’t know about the power business though – because truth be told, that kind of stuff really hurts me. I wouldn’t do that sort of thing to anyone – so it’s hard to be on the receiving end, you know? I guess that’s what I get for having an opinion, eh? I should know better than to think everyone would play nice.
    Annie

    Like

  6. I love what you said here! So true, we all have a right to our opinions and the whole point is that we can express them. Insults are not an expression of opinion, presumably these two are too retarded to form a counter argument! 😉

    Something similar happened to me. I posted a joke about Steve Irwin and – amongst other things – I got a bunch of school kids using it as a message board, just opened up my blog one afternoon and found 200 comments from three girls basically calling each other lesbians in text-ese. I deleted the lot, told them to eff off and changed the comments so that all from new users had to be approved first. Then I added them to the spam folder and left a comment explaining that I was writing a blog not providing a message board for teenage retards. If there’s an e-mail address given you can use that to block them with the spam checker as well as a name…

    It sucks that you have to put up with it but I think you’ve handled it well!

    Cheers

    BC
    Hey BC!
    Good idea, now how can you do the thing that new commenters go to moderation first? I can’t find that on my admin page.

    I had a similar problem with some youngin’ but not nearly as bad. I think they are so ‘myspaced’ that they just don’t seem to know better anymore.
    WC

    Like

  7. They think they’re all big and bad sitting behind a screen, typing away obscenities and such. Yep, big bad meanies they are. Scary ones, too. They scare the jaheepers outta me. Makes me wanna go curl up in the fetal position and suck my thumb *rolls eyes* 🙄
    I like how you handled it, Annie. Precise and to the point. You didn’t ignore the problem nor did you make an ass out of yourself while dealing with it. Kudos to you, my friend.

    Hey Red,
    Yeah, they don’t scare me either – but man are they annoying. He’s probably getting a big chuckle out of this post as we speak. But screw him, eh?
    Annie

    Like

  8. Great post, Annie. Sorry to see that it happened to you but I think this is the only way to deal with it – to confront them intelligently and let people know where you stand. You shouldn’t have to be subjected to this; opinions form the heart of your blog, not slander. I doubt they’ll be back under those usernames, but if you ban the IP addresses that might do some good as well.

    I can’t begin to imagine why someone would think they could make comments like that; likely they’re not thinking at all, just filled with hatred and spite. But definitely people think they can get away with much more online than they can in the offline world and that must play a part in it. It’s simple to forget it’s a real person on the other side of the screen… that makes it much easier to say whatever they want.

    I’ve had to delete comments from my blog recently, as they were naming and threatening people who had as much a right to privacy as anyone else. It might sound cynical but I think that often these kind of comments are a trap; they want you to edit them so they can shout about free speech and censorship. That doesn’t seem to be the case here but it’s one reason I think it’s a good idea to have a comment policy on a blog. It’s as much protection as a copyright notice.

    Anyway, kudos on how you’ve handled it, and hopefully they’ll get the message. I know I wouldn’t have reacted anywhere near as well.

    Hey CJ!
    Yeah, that type usually does pull crap like that. They bomb your blog with obscenities and disgusting comments then cry free speech when you edit/delete. Well, I’ve news for them. There are no rights on my blog, except the ones I afford my readers. This isn’t a government establishment which requires me to take that kind of crap. And as I said, if he’d even been trying to make a point it would be different – but it was just put there to incite. I saved a copy of the comment for anyone who wants to see it and I’ll be happy to provide his email and ip address for any blogger who wants it.
    WC

    Like

  9. You certainly did handle it well, I probably would have been bawaboohoo, i think it is easy in blogland to take it personally. Certainly for awhile. I think I would delete, or better yet, I’ll holler real loud..WC..help!

    I think your comment below is right:
    “I do think, however, that the problem is that people believe they aren’t required to have manners or be considerate of others anymore.”

    It is a sad state of affairs that many people are rude and crude today. Hey I get aggravated sometimes in traffic but I don’t scream out the window and gesture..Even though on low hormone days, I might regress to that great line in Fried Green Tomatoes where she just bashes the car in and tells em she’s older and got more insurance. Loved that line. Hope I don’t do that though cuz I don’t need to pay more for my insurance..LOL!

    Some of the qualities that really come across about you on this blog and others are your humor, compassion to others and gosh dang, ya even help newbies out on meme’s. So they are just scumbags! LOL!

    Hey Ange,
    Thanks for the nice compliments. And any ol’ time you get a troll I’ll be happy to help chase them off. And of course I’d help any newbies who wanted help – I was a newbie not so long ago and have gotten tons of help from all kinds of bloggers. We’re in it together, girl, believe me.
    WC

    Like

  10. And then there are shows like the auditions for American Idol where some seriously not quite right in the head people (can’t even call them singers) try out. AND we watch?! and they let it go on and on and on and on and on. How many bleeps do we need to hear? No manners, no control, it’s disgusting and unfathomable and they continue to show it. I had to come to some sense and turn the channel.

    Hey C!
    Yeah, what is up with that AI audition crap? I mean, personally, I don’t find it interesting or even funny. I’m just embarrassed for these poor misguided souls who think they are entertainer material. I’m not even tuning in to AI until they are to the performing stage. What’s the point? It’s all about humiliation until then anyway. Not my cup of tea. 😉
    WC

    Like

  11. i know it can be hurtful, Chica. i just want you to feel better, and i really believe that when someone resorts to such reactionary behavior, they give themselves away. i wasn’t saying that you desire that type of power, but they are still sort of handing it over.

    It is not easy for me to say that you shouldn’t be hurt by it because they are not friends, people you admire. i’ve had plenty of experience with mean folk and know that it is always disheartening to be treated in such a way, but truly, you shouldn’t. You handled it with strength.

    They do not have any right to be filthy on your page.

    Oh hon, I know you wanted me to feel better, I totally got that. And I thank you for being such a good amiga. And you’re right, they do hand over the power when they prove their ignorance and ugly stuff. They have no right to do that to anyone’s blog – mine, yours or anybody’s –

    LOL, this reminds me of a stupid Friends episode, where the girls are all reading a woman’s self help book and they get all freaked about people (men) stealing their wind. Yup, he was trying to steal my wind. Good thing I’m such a windbag. 😉
    Love
    A

    Like

  12. NOTHING DOES I have some of those on my blog too and I just delete them and ignore the people .well written though :)Hope these people stay away in the future.

    Oh honey, it saddens me to think they come to your sweet little blog and bother you. You let me know if they come back. I’ll kick their whiney little butts for you.
    WC

    Like

  13. Nothing like a little venom and profanity to get the blood boiling. You handled it beautifully, and probably much nicer than I would have. It just goes to show you what we’ve known all along: we are the superior species! (Just kidding, all you wonderful men out there who we love so dearly!) 😉

    Thanks, Jasmine. I’m feeling better about the whole thing now. I guess maybe I should feel sorry for the poor schlub – how empty must his life be that he has to stalk strange blogs and spew garbage?

    But I’m really very lucky, I have a bunch of great people who hang out with me over here and it’s a pleasure to open my email every morning (usually).
    WC

    Like

  14. Some of us don’t watch American Idol. Some of us, actually don’t watch television, other than rented films/documentaries.

    Films, yay! Documentaries – blech! 😉
    WC

    Like

  15. Hi WC,

    Wow! Ah to have some of these people comment on our blog! I do so love to shame them in verbal combat. While it’s even better in person, where I can watch them break down in tears and attempt to summon their courage to challenge me on a physical level, which few have dared and none have won, mincing the egos of Internet trolls is almost as much fun and has much less chance of getting the police involved. If you ever find someone to sic me on, just say the word and I’ll owe you a favor.

    As to why they do it, in my experience, and I was typing on bulletin boards back before the Internet came around, it’s because they’re at a personal loss for expression. Most of this sort have inherited ideologies for which they have no intellectual basis of support. Usually, they also “feel” that their position is correct. When anyone challenges their views, since they are unable to support their positions with logic, facts, or, in most cases, even well worded drivel, they can only fall back on vulgarities. So, in a way, I feel their pain and wish our public education system would do a better job. On the other hand, since I’m basically evil by nature and I’m not on the Government dole to coddle these idiots, I find it most enjoyable to taunt them until they break down and go away. Did I mention that I’m evil?

    Anyway, if you get the chance send any of this sort you get over to our blog.

    the Grit

    Hey Grit!
    LOL – yes, you do love this stuff, doncha? Listen, I saved the message, I’d be happy to forward it to you if have some useful use for it. It does have an email and ip address. Anyway, let me know if you want to play.
    WC

    Like

  16. I had to delete a comment or two from a certain person who kept coming on my blog simply to harass me as well. It pissed me off because I knew this guy back in high school and he feels he can throw in a running negative commentary on my life without ever actually saying anything positive. And while I am all for the “I don’t agree and here’s why”, some people just don’t understand that everything they write takes on an accusatory and “I’m better than you” tone.

    So in summation, good for you for calling these people out! It’s one thing to say your piece with respect – the blogsphere is an open community after all – but it’s another to be a troll.

    Hey MS!
    Sounds like you had a worse deal than me. I can’t imagine someone doing that to someone they know. That is beyond rude. That’s close to a mental deficiency. I hope he is behaving or you have blacklisted him.
    WC

    Like

  17. You go to your control panel and click on options, then you click the tab labelled “discussion” in the blue bit, just below. It should then give you boxes to tick for the various option. The moderate new ones bit is labelled “before a comment appears” that’s also where you can tick the box that ensures they have to give an e-mail address – sometimes false but that doesn’t matter, it makes it complicated enough to stop some. It’s about third or fourth item down, then just below, towards the bottom, are the spaces where you can make comments spam if they contain certain words, phrases or if they come from certain ip or e-mail addresses.

    I hope this helps.

    Cheers

    BC

    Ooh, cool. I did it! I think that must be a new feature, I never noticed it before. I knew about the blacklist but not the moderation for new commenters. That is really cool. Thanks BC!
    WC

    Like

What do you think?

