3,000 Miles on One Tank of Gas?????

This post has been moved here.

20 thoughts on “3,000 Miles on One Tank of Gas?????

  1. I don’t know. Where’s the backseat? Backseats are essential for many things in a car.

    They have a backseat, which accomodates 1 midget and a small pet. Although if you remove the backseat, they say you can stow 15 bags of groceries. So, it must be roomy, right? πŸ˜†
    WC

    Like

  2. With gas prices the way they are, these things had better be in the works soon. Seriously.

    Hey Teens,
    Oh you’d be amazed at what is around. They actually have a guy who invented an engine that runs on water. You can probably find the vid on Youtube- plus there are vehicles whose engines run on recylced fryer grease and I’ve heard rumors that there is an engine in the works that will run on fuel cells (somehow similar to the type of technology used for cell phones???). There is no lack of ideas or innovative products out there – it’s getting them on the market.
    WC

    Like

  3. Hi WC,

    That’s a cool vehicle, if you live in town. I suspect, however, that’s it won’t make it very far across the field, and I’m not sure it’ll hold my chainsaw, let alone enough fire wood to bother with πŸ˜‰

    As to fuel cells, they combine hydrogen and oxygen to make water without involving combustion, and in the process capture the energy given off as electricity. The big problems with them are that free hydrogen doesn’t exist on Earth, meaning that it has to be made, and that hydrogen is a very combustible substance, explosive even, so storing and transporting it is more dangerous that fooling around with gasoline. On the up side, they don’t weigh as much as regular batteries, so an electric drive car built around them should be a lot of fun to drive.

    Oh, there’s another technology that I saw mentioned somewhere which will have a good deal of potential if they can get it to work, solar cells that can be painted on a surface! That way, your house, car, and even your clothes may eventually be able to generate electricity when the sun shines on them! The down side to that is, of course, that on a good day no one’s cell phone will run out of power.

    the Grit

    Wow Grit,
    With those paint on solar cells, you could have a blinking smiley on your tee shirt or maybe even a mood shirt. How fun would that be. I’d especially like to see that mood shirt on you while you were discussing politics with a liberal. πŸ˜†
    WC

    Like

  4. Oh you SOOOO should have been on my shopping trip today! Walgreens and the Goodwill store pulled through for me BIG TIME! (I’m sure you’ll see my SCORE!!! on a blog near you reallll soon πŸ˜‰ ).

    LOL, you and your scores – shopping is like crack for you. πŸ˜‰
    A

    Like

  5. Does look spacy,When it gets that far on one tank of gas,it will probably be in the price range of Bill Gates or Warren B. If affordable who cares what it looks like with that kind of milage and Darla I want to go too…Please…:)

    Ya know I have been waiting for decades for that flying belt they used to say we would all have? Remember, think it was the 70’s, the future predicted we would have a belt like contraption that would just fly us around..LOL! As a matter of fact, I think it had been invented, just not approved for us mere mortals…Just think, Put on your belt and fly girl just like A real Wonder Woman! πŸ™‚

    LOL Ange, with my luck if I had a flying belt, the first thing I’d feel would be bird poop on my freshly shampooed head. And can you imagine flying around when it starts to rain. And what about groceries? How would you carry them? Too many questions in my head for that one.

    I don’t know about the price range, I didn’t find anything that mentioned what they might market for, but based on the the overall info, my sense is that they would be relatively affordable – especially considering that it’s that whole green thing – they’d want people to buy them and use them. Doncha think?
    A

    Like

  6. The website says it’s considered a motorcycle, and I want one. Maybe someday, someone will do a remake of “Easy Rider” featuring a gang of sixty-seven years olds sporting Aptera tattoos, cruising down the highway in these things while “Born to Be (Sort of) Wild” plays in the background.

    Maybe more like ‘ Born to be Mild,’ eh? πŸ˜†
    WC

    Like

  7. I dunno about 3000 mpg, but I studied enough physics to know that weight is a major enemy of fuel economy, and from the looks of it, this thing can’t weigh too awfully much – unlike today’s “small” cars, which are comparative porkers. (Today’s Volkswagen GTI weighs 1000 lb more than the GTI from 25 years ago.)

    Hey CG,
    I think it’s more 150-300 mpg – it’s 3,000 on a tank of gas, or so they say. According to what I read, it is relatively lightweight and also there is some sort of hybrid action going on in there. It makes me laugh to think of someone stopping in Nowheresville, USA for a fill up and all the local denizen thinking they’ve finally gotten their ufo siting, though. πŸ˜‰
    WC

    Like

  8. Here in Denver you’d likely A) get blown off the road, or B) get run over by all the SUVs (odd, really, in a state that prides iteself on being so green). I’m paranoid enough driving around with my current eye-level view of bumpers and axles.

    LOL 30! I know what you mean – just trying to see around the car ahead of you is a challenge. I have thoughts about this sucker blowing off the road too. It looks like it could be made of paper maichet – guess we won’t know until the test drives. πŸ˜‰
    WC

    Like

  9. Gas heaven yes, but “smashed like a bug” does come to mind. I guess it’s the same threat with motorcycles. Did you know the most common reason for motorcycle accidents is because passenger car drivers just don’t see them? The biker zooms up so quickly by comparison that most drivers are oblivious until it’s too late. I would have to think the Aptera would be a lot more visible, though apparently just as fast. Sure looks cool, quite futuristic, but then the “future” has arrived. Like you say with the “Jetsons,” the future was depicted a lot more like the Aptera looks than our present environment. I had always truly believed that when we hit 2001, we’d be heavy into space travel and living in the space age. Here we find ourselves in the Information Age instead, which is great–don’t get me wrong. But the Aptera sparks some hope for the space age, eh?

    ~ PG

    LOL PG – smashed like a bug indeed. Yes, I’ve read that motorcycle accidents are caused because of vision issues – although, as you said, this thing couldn’t be missed. It’s the Halloween suit of cars. πŸ˜‰

    It’s true too that we aren’t into heavy personal space travel yet, unless you count the space travel many of us do in our minds – there are plenty of space cases around, as I can readily attest to. πŸ˜‰
    A

    Like

  10. Hi WC & pg,

    For me, it’s not a problem with seeing motorcycles, but one of not recognizing what they are quickly enough. There’s just not enough of them around here to form the instant watch-out response I have to even a brief glimpse of a car. Combine that with the way some riders like to weave in and out of traffic and …

    the Grit

    Truth be told, Grit, I think we all need to be more alert on the road, even when it seems we have it to ourselves, eh?
    WC

    Like

  11. I reckon they need to find something that can run on hydrodgen or split the H2 off from the O… oh no hang on that’s nuclear fission. Whatever, it’s well cool.

    Cheers

    BC

    LOL – can you just see us with nuclear fission cars? Can you imagine the uproar?
    WC

    Like

  12. Even a meager 100 mpg would be something to shoot for, inasmuch as darn few of our personal vehicles today can manage even half that. (I’m still in awe over having done a 4300-mile road trip in my own car, which is on the large side, on less than $500 worth of gas – but that’s still below 30 mpg.)

    Hmmm…now I wonder what kind of car you drive, because I did the same not that long ago and I don’t drive a hybrid or anything. Still, as you say, that’s hardly 100 mpg, is it? πŸ˜‰
    WC

    Like

  13. Not even close.

    I drive an Infiniti I30, vintage 2000. Trip average was 28.7 mpg, with a couple of tanks over 30 Still, for a largish sedan with a big honking V6 and the A/C cranked up, that’s not too shabby. (On the downside: 91 octane, or else.)

    Wow, that was good mileage. I had a stripped down Chevy Cavalier – little 4 cylinder compact. But she could scoot.
    Wc

    Like

  14. I stumbled upon this gem quite a few weeks ago. I was thinking about reserving one, but I changed my mind. I’ve decided that I want my first car to be a bit less eco-douche.

    DT! I was just thinking about you. Haven’t seen your smiling face for a while. Eco-douche, eh? It is a little weird looking, isn’t it?
    A

    Like

  15. Edit: additionally, I won’t get one because I don’t live in California.

    Well, if you really wanted one, you could just move to California until you got one and then leave again. πŸ™‚
    A

    Like

  16. I had a rental Cavalier for about two weeks, and it wasn’t quite the penalty box it was made out to be. The three-speed automatic insured both speed and gas mileage would be mediocre, but it tracked better than some bigger Chevys of its time (middle 1990s) and room for two was more than adequate.

    I loved my little Chevy. Took me cross country twice and I think I had the dang thing for 12 years. Not fancy, but it worked for me.
    Wc

    Like

  17. I love to see a new innovative vehicles coming out and I would love to have one of these. Currently, I have a 1999 Volkswagen new beetle diesel that I purchased new in 1998 for under 20,000 dollars. It holds four passengers comfortably and I get over 1000 miles a tank almost every time I drive it. I am currently getting between 56 and 62 miles to the gallon every tank. I can carry a lot of luggage in it and I have a ball hitch so I can tow a trailer and haul my bikes. I’ve about 150,000 miles on it right now and the new clean diesels coming out next year are supposed to be even better than the one that I have.

    My wife as a 2002 Jetta TDI that has 125,000 miles on it and my stepdaughter has a 1999.5 Jetta TDI that has over 200,000 miles on it. Both of their Jettas get the same kind of MPG as mine new beetle but I think a much more practical. The seating in the back seat has more headroom and the luggage capacity is much better.

    But with the kind of fuel economy I’m getting right now I don’t see why Volkswagen couldn’t do a lot better with just a little more work and have a much more practical car than the one that is shown in this posting.

    Check out my blog for other higher mileage vehicle posts including the new high MPG Volkswagen concept cars. The 2002 two seater that 285 MPG in several tests.

    JCE

    Wow JCE, sounds like you know your stuff when it comes to vehicles. I suppose eventually we’ll all be flying around in these contraptions like it’s nothing, eh?
    WC

    Like

What do you think?

