Scarcity

I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately. In our crazy, whacked-out world it is so easy to look around and see what is lacking – social graces, caring, humanity, friendliness, affordable gas, tomatoes that have flavor, the dating pool. You name it – one can always find a scarcity in any category. And sequeing into envy and jealousy is really not anything more than the next natural step. “Hey, why do they have all the luck? He has so much why can’t I get any? What’s the matter with me? I’m a good person, I deserve things too.”

I’m more than guilty of the above and then some. In my life, I have probably spent what has amounted to years in lamenting my fate, my lack, my scarcity. Is it any wonder than I’ve never really had anything? Nope, that’s a no brainer too.

A couple of years back, I started a quest to discover how other people seem to bypass the whole scarcity thing and seem to reap nothing but abundance. I even had some up close and personal examples in my life. Friends, former co-workers, even former lovers who seemed to have learned the secret of the universe of abundance. I studied them – what made them different from me?

At first, I thought it was ego – or self confidence or even naivete’. It seemed that in the face of the obvious they went about their business anyway. They chose what they did and how they did it and managed to not just eke out a life but create an enviable one. I studied them some more. Never really being able to put my finger on just what ‘it’ was about them. Heck, I even tried to emulate them – which was laughable because I really didn’t know what they were doing so trying to pretend to be them was beyond my payscale, so to speak.

Since I left the 9 to 5 workaday world, I’ve had some interesting experiences, some good, some not so good. But overall, I found I’ve been happy. Ironic as it may seem, being without a ‘job’ has not resulted in scarcity for me. Well, perhaps a temporary cash-flow problem but that’s easy enough to get around, much moreso than I’d ever imagined. I found I just decided to believe in myself and my goals and somehow, whatever I’ve needed so far, has come to me in ways obvious and surprising.

I’ve also discovered that there really isn’t any scarcity in the world. Sure, there are those whose interests are served to make people believe that there are and even go so far as to manipulate things so that one could ‘prove’ that there are – but anyone with half a brain has only to look around them and see that there is abundance everywhere.

For example, do you see any shortage of sky or grass or flowers or birds? Any shortage of air? Ideas? Goals? Dreams? I don’t. A few weeks ago, I noticed on my morning walks that there were a lot of cans and bottles just lying around on the ground. And I would think to myself, ‘jeez, some people are pigs.’ Then I decided to look at it differently. I started carrying a plastic bag with me and whenever I see a bottle or can now, I pick it up and put it in the bag and think to myself, ‘Oh look, someone left me a gift.’ Then I take it home and throw it in my trunk. In a very short time, I’ve managed to half fill my trunk with recyclables. It took no effort on my part beyond carrying a bag and bending over to pick something up – and for that I will be rewarded with money. Once the trunk is full, I’ll drive it all down to the recycling center for some pocket change. Will it make me rich? No, I don’t think so – but I do something good and the universe rewards me by paying me. I think that’s a real win-win situation.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not always successful in seeing the abundance instead of the scarcity and sometimes I get worried and upset. But much less than ever before. And I truly believe if one ever wants to truly have abundance they have to be able to see it, not just in the future but in the now. In the right now, this very minute. They have to be able to look around and see all the wonderful things in their lives – see how much they really have and value it and be grateful for it. That, my friends, I think is the real secret to solving scarcity – seeing the abundance.

What do you think?

WC

19 thoughts on “Scarcity

  1. Turns out there are A LOT of hours in a day when you’re up every two hours. Does that count as finding abundance?

    πŸ˜€

    Yes, Ma’am. πŸ™‚ Life with a new baby -now that’s what I call abundance.
    Annie

    Like

  2. Every couple weeks, I notice certain resources in my life growing scarce, but luckily there is always an easy solution: wear sandals and buy more underwear. If only it were that easy when I am feeling low on motivation, wit, or dreams.

    Hey QM,
    You know I’ve used that sandal, new underwear solution a few times myself. Don’t know if this will help but whenever I feel low on motivation, wit and dreams I walk. I walk until I feel better. It’s nice because I have lots of nature trails, mountains and parks around but sometimes I just walk on the plain ol’ streets too. Not sure why walking does it for me – maybe it gives me space or something but it works most of the time. Note: should you decide to try this method, make sure you bring a tape recorder or notepad and pen with you – you sometimes get the most brilliant ideas when you walk. πŸ™‚
    WC

    Like

  3. I wonder how much it also has to do with how we are raised? I grew up in a family of 12 (children) and we didn’t have an abundance of material things but we had enough to get by and such a sense of “family”. That is how I grew up. You can own all the material crap in the world but it’s not going to love you back. You are definitely on to something here. As I grow, and get a little wiser everyday, I realize that life is what we make out of it. I love the saying, “If life hands you lemons, make lemonade!” Great post. Very true.

    Hey Bella,
    I was raised in a big family without much too. And money was dear – which may not have been the best way to look at it. I think I’ve been doing it all wrong all these years and now maybe I’ve got it right. We’ll see.

    Hugs,
    Annie

    Like

  4. “And I truly believe if one ever wants to truly have abundance they have to be able to see it, not just in the future but in the now. In the right now, this very minute. They have to be able to look around and see all the wonderful things in their lives – see how much they really have and value it and be grateful for it. That, my friends, I think is the real secret to solving scarcity – seeing the abundance.”

    Think you are really wise..think I need to practice this more..Generally I have always been considered to be optimistic..blah blah..I think we or I need to discipline myself on the above and walking I certainly need to do..

    You always seem to get to the heart of the matter Annie..is that in a song? πŸ™‚

    Hugs

    Aw, Ange,
    You’re such a sweetheart. I don’t know if that’s in a song but it oughta be. πŸ™‚
    Annie

    Like

  5. We all have our days in the dumps and feeling sorry for ourselves. But I think you’ve hit the nail on the head. Attitude has so much to do with things. Like attracting like and all that. Keep your positive attitude and you will keep attracting good things, Annie. I was in a positive mood when I found you!!!!! So I know it works!!! If you look for good, you will find it. If you look for abundance, you will find it. πŸ™‚

    Hey Teens,
    You know, it really does seem to be true. Who knew? After all this time, it was as simple as that?
    Annie

    Like

  6. I think that is totally cool that you look at bottles left by others as a gift from the universe. It’s all in how you see it.

    I know. Funny, huh? I never did before, but then, I thought if I picked up all these bottles it would clean things up a bit and I will get the recycling money. It may not be much but really when you think about it, it’s free money for very little effort.
    Annie

    Like

  7. What do I think? I think that you were put here to give us gifts of your soul, your writings, and for that, I am grateful. This post has made me put my thinking cap on, and I love that about coming to your joint.
    I, too, will carry a bag when I’m out on my daily walks because there are “pigs” in my neighborhood as well.

    Hey Red,
    Yay! Maybe we’ll start a walking/recycling trend. It’s really so little effort to pick them up and turn them in once you have a few – plus a little pocket money for your trouble. Sounds like a win-win, huh?

    I am grateful that you and anyone else comes here to read my ‘gifts’ whatever they may be.

    Hugs,
    Annie

    Like

  8. I was just talking with my brother about this today! So much of life is about your perspective. If you work a it you can find the positive in almost anything, finding the positive in stuff makes you feel happier and more fulfilled.. It is your point of view, if you can see things how you want them to be then they will eventually become exactly what you want… Great post!

    Hey T,
    I guess it’s something in the air or maybe the water lately? πŸ˜‰ But yeah, perspective really counts for a lot, doesn’t it?
    A

    Like

  9. I think you are a very smart woman getting smarter by the day! πŸ™‚
    And notice that the bottle picking upper didn’t just bring you money for the refunds! No. you got free exercise without the gym membership.
    Also the benefits are more than just doing good, you inspired anybody else who saw you do so to either a) pick up their own mess bor b) don’t be too stuck up to pick up someone else’s mess. That kinda stuff gives you plenty of secret admirers “that’s the right thing to do, wish I’d do that”.

    Plus it gave you blogger food and by writing you’ve now inspired not only those who commented but also those who just read.

    See, this abundance thing knows no limits.

    Wow, Spaz, ever heard of Kevin Bacon’s 3 degrees of separation theory? You’re onto to something there. Who knew picking up a bottle could amount to so much? πŸ™‚

    Annie

    PS: I’m waiting for an email from you. hint hint

    Like

  10. What a fabulous post for me to come and read on this very sleep deprived day. πŸ™‚

    There are so many books written on this very subject of how we attract what we see, what we focus on, and what we give out. I’m glad to know that life is turning your way and that you have been finding peace and happiness.

    I’ve been missing you and our e-mails lately. Remember those, waaaaayyy back when? lol

    Take care,
    Jennifer

    Aw, you know I was thinking the very same thing about you. We haven’t had our little email chats in the longest time. But you’ve been such a busy bee with Super Babe and all the other little munchkins, I just figured there would be time later. But, I’m always here, never worry about that.
    Hugs,
    Annie

    Like

  11. Hi WC,

    Ironically, the ability to see scarcity and figure out how to make a profit on it is one of the secrets to “success.” The others are not having the distraction of personal relationships, and the ability to choose what is good for you over what you know is right. Along this line, those who want my home grown tomatoes, big fat juicy tasty tomatoes, without being willing to pay the exorbitant price, will have to pry them from my cold dead hands! Oh, we take our tomatoes almost as seriously as our BBQ in these parts.

    the Grit

    Hey Grit!
    Mmmm homegrown tomatoes, now you’re talking my language. As we speak I have 20 tomato plants newly plunked into the garden and it promises to be a balmy, lovely spring, so I know in the not too distant future, I’ll be having me some big fat juicy tasty tomaters myself. I really favor the Early Girls but I’m also trying some heirloom varieties this year and of course, gotta have some Sweet Cherry 100’s or the summer is a bust. How’s about you?
    WC

    Like

  12. I find that if I repeat the daily affirmation “I am abundant” (a phrase I learned in a self-reflection class many years ago) that things DO seem to manifest in my life. Maybe it’s just a way of re-training your brain to think about things in a different light…but it works!

    Hey 2LD!
    It may be – but you know, if you read the biography of any successful person the one consistent thing seems to be that they simple believed in their vision – whatever it was and nothing daunted them.
    WC

    Like

  13. Hi WC,

    Haven’t got mine in the ground yet as it’s still a bit early around here, and also because I’m a bit slow. Although, in the ground may not be the correct term as I’m going to experiment with growing in pots hung from the side of the barn. With a little luck, that’ll be easier on my back and will help keep the weeds out. We, by the way, have some truly terrible weeds that I suspect escaped from a horror show.

    I always plant at least one early girl and a couple of the hot weather variates. I always have good luck with Roma types, so I’ll have a pot or three of those as well. If things go OK this year, the barn is going to look really strange from now on πŸ™‚

    the Grit

    Hey Grit,
    Wow, I love your idea of the tomato barn. Perhaps it will catch on and you’ll be able to franchise the idea. Along with the Food Barn, the Antique Barn and the Yarn Barn, it should be a hit. Weeds are a bother and I used to go to the trouble of laying down dark plastic and cut holes in it but it’s too much bother. Maybe we can do a fed ex swap of tomaters this summer? πŸ™‚
    WC

    Like

  14. Hi WC,

    I tried the black plastic to no avail. Some of our weeds grew through it and others sent runners under the plastic to the planting holes. In addition to being invasive, an abnormal number of them come equipped with thorns or stickers.

    If I actually get any to grow, I email you about trading.

    the Grit

    Dang Grit,
    Sounds like you have some evil alien spore pod weeds out there. You may have to just beat them down with a stick or sumpton. πŸ˜‰ Sure, let’s do a swap if the barn thing works out. As the weather is starting to turn toward summer, my plants are starting to grow in leaps and bounds. Yummy!
    WC

    Like

  15. I’m glad you exist Annie. Can you tell you are making me sit quietly and think deeply tonight? I’m just glad you exist.

    Well, the feeling is mutual. I wonder what the world would do without your words. If I make you think, I’m glad – because it seems to be something you like to do.
    Annie

    Like

  16. Hi WC,

    Some of our weeds are so tough that RoundUp just makes them grow faster. My theory of their origin is that they escaped from a secret Government biological warfare laboratory.

    the Grit

    Hey Grit,
    Now, that makes sense. πŸ˜†
    WC

    Like

What do you think?

