The Bondage of Stuff

(I dedicate this to my friend Ange, who was the inspiration. WC)

Okay man,
I’ve had enough
I’m gettin’ over
my bondage of stuff

Not takin’ things
off the cuff
Gotta throw away
what’s in my duff

If you get in my way
I could get gruff
So shut your mouth
don’t gimme no guff

Gonna blow this down
gonna have to huff
gotta turn it around
gonna have to puff

And when I’m thru
it might be rough
Cuz Lord knows
I’ll miss my stuff

But I’m keepin’ my prayer
of hangin’ tough
Cuz I just can’t live
in the Bondage of Stuff.

copyright 2008

12 thoughts on “The Bondage of Stuff

  1. Goodness, that is a lot of stuff. A lot of unorganized stuff. You can definitely get away with a lot less stuff when it is organized. **shuts her mouth and looks at her own huge mess of unorganized stuff** I like your poem though, I do think too much stuff is definitely like being tied down and it adds unnecessary clutter to life. That’s why I am on an endless campaign in my own house to get rid of lots of stuff.

    LOL Teens, I guess we’re all trying to get over our bondage of stuff. πŸ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  2. Please tell me that’s not your picture and you found it on the net. PLEEEEZZZ!

    LOL – well, of course it’s a pic I found on the Internet. Do you think I’d actually show something like this if it were real? Yikes! πŸ˜†
    A

    Like

  3. Annie, you gotta tell the truth..ya took this pic at my house…uh..when were ya there?
    I know you got one of those hifalutin web cams that actually see in here? LOL!

    Loved the poem, ya got it girl..bondage of stuff..now where did you say there was a neat sale going on where I could get me some more shoes?

    Hugs
    Hey Ange, seriously, I wouldn’t dare have a web cam, lest someone else could see my place. LOL. Oooh, shoe shopping! Yup, I’m in. πŸ˜†
    Annie

    Like

  4. It is amazing how much stuff we accumulate and most of it forgotten and not used or looked at in ages. It is truly freeing to let go of both the physical and non-physical stuff in our life.

    Hey Mark,
    I think the spiritual and mental stuff we accumulate manifests itself in the physical stuff, if that makes any sense. I may be why we experience such relief when we let go of the material stuff, eh?
    Annie

    Like

  5. i love the title.
    Great rhyme that doesn’t feel forced.
    Funny as hell.

    i think this is great work here.

    The photo is making me quiver.
    i’d totally rock my OCD on that!

    LOL ChIcA – I can just picture you breaking into a cold sweat if you saw something like that. πŸ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  6. Ahh, methinks my mother might need to see this!
    Annie – in response to your question – I’m great! It was good to have a break; I got so much writing done I can’t quite believe it! It’s nice to be back in your loungeroom though πŸ™‚

    Oh-oh, is mummy a packrat? πŸ™‚
    I’m so glad to see you back in the loungeroom too, honey, but also really happy that you got so much writing done. Maybe I should lock myself in a cave and see if I can do that. It’s a thought. πŸ™‚
    Annie

    Like

  7. Photo didn’t even startle me, that’s how my basement looked, when I didn’t know what to do with something, I would just take it down there. My sister was visiting from NYC last year and said, “Oh hell no. WE are going to clean” – – she really helped me. We threw away the junk, and moved everything else out to the garage. Um, it’s still in there. Was suppose to have a “garage sale” last year but didn’t and had to park both cars out all winter. Nice.

    Love the poem, just awesome. It feels so good to get rid of the stuff that’s owning us. Now, I just gotta have this garage sale soon…. so we can get the cars back in the garage πŸ˜‰ Heee-heeee-hee!

    Oh Bella, you cwack me up. Poor cars, having to be cold all winter. Hey see if your kids will help you do the garage sale, you could get a cool family thing with the proceeds? Maybe a movie and family dinner or art supplies and you could turn a corner of the new clean garage into an art center? It’s something to think about, anyway???
    Annie

    Like

  8. Looking at the picture gives me the willies.
    Loved the poem though .. funny and clever, as always.

    Hey Red!
    Yeah, that sucker is so big, you’d practically have to name it, eh? πŸ˜†
    WC

    Like

  9. Looking at the picture gave me a lighter perspective of my room… “Hmmmm, it’s not as cluttered as I think it is”. I have to hand it to you WC, the poem is very witty and oh so true. I am still trying to get rid of some stuff…

    Hey Z!
    Cool, so in comparison your space ain’t so bad. See, win-win. πŸ˜‰
    WC

    Like

  10. Oh thank goodness it’s not yours. The batmobile is in the shop and I’d have to walk to get there. *phew*

    So you’re the one who has the Batmobile??? You lucky superhero, you. πŸ˜‰
    A

    Like

  11. Yikes. I thought for a second you’d been in my place!

    LOL – you kno a lot of people have said the very same thing – guess we’re not all a bunch of suzy ocd’s out there, eh? πŸ˜†
    WC

    Like

What do you think?

