Blotted

The clouds blotted
the color from the sky
leaving cool grey
to whisper its song
My melancholy sang along
and peered to find the sun

The path was strewn
with trash and disregard
and I stepped over it
too tired to fight
the battle of apathy
the arrogrance of self absorption

Birds remained hidden
and clustered in trees
ignoring their hunger
and opting for safety
Quietly chirping tomorrow will be better
fluttering wings agree

I lock the door
against the day
forget my purpose in tumbling from bed
pull the ratty sweater around me
Nod my head to inner thoughts
Quiet my dreams for another day.

copyright 2008

8 thoughts on “Blotted

  1. This is hauntingly good. “The path was strewn with trash and disregard,” and “ignoring their hunger and opting for safety” really got me.

    oooh, I like that hauntingly good – it actually is a good description of that day.
    Annie

    Like

  2. Beautiful Annie.
    “leaving cool grey
    to whisper its song
    My melancholy sang along
    and peered to find the sun”
    You never cease to amaze me….

    Aw, Bella, you’re too sweet to me. Amazing how weather can inspire, isn’t it?
    Annie

    Like

  3. Oh Annie, you should do this more; it’s wonderful. “My melancholy sang along and peered to find the sun” is a poem unto itself – beautiful.

    Hi Simonne,
    Actually, truth be told, I do it a lot. If you want to know where, email me. I don’t know about that one line being its own poem, but could be a good first line for a story perhaps?
    xo
    Annie

    Like

  4. Beautiful poetry. But it is hard for me to understand the last line for it is hard for me to quiet my dreams. They have a tendecy to be quite loud.

    Yes, my friend, I can easily imagine how very chatty your dreams might be. 😉
    Annie

    Like

  5. I am not always good at figuring out meanings in poetry. But this made me think of coming home on a dreary bad day and that cuddly feeling you get when you finally get in bed. It kind of relaxed me. Beautifully written.

    I am gonna put you on my links if ya don’t mind:)

    Hi Jez,
    I too, often struggle with the poet’s message – but it seems you read my mind on this one.

    I’m honored that you would add me to your links. I’ll happily return the favor.
    Annie

    Like

  6. I like quiet. I almost prefer it.
    Damn good job, Annie.

    Yup, Red…quiet is good. Though today the sun is out and I always feel cheerier then.
    Annie

    Like

  7. Wow, this is beautiful..now my thoughts go to the old Sat Night Live with the Deep Thoughts section..
    You are so talented.

    LOL Ange, deep thoughts and Saturday Night Live seem to be at odds with one another.
    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

