Writerly Things

I just had one of those really stupid realizations, you know the kind I mean? Where you literally slap yourself in the head because it was so obvious, like why did it take two years? Yup – that’s the kind.

Although, I spend a lot of time yakking about writing and my writing dreams and how I want to publish and get an agent and be rich and famous and all that crap – I’ve never really done a post about writing itself. Okay, relax, this isn’t going to be an online workshop on story form or anything like that.

However, it did dawn on me that though not all bloggers are writers, many of them are and I thought I’d do a quick little post about some pretty groovy writer resources I’ve come across in recent times. So, those of you out there who are writers and want some good links – continue reading. Those of you looking for fart jokes …. I’ll see what I can do.

Currently, my number one, favorite writing link is C. Hope Clark’s Funds For Writers. She offers many things but also sends out a weekly enewsletter that is chockful of tips, articles and markets. I love this enewsletter and anxiously await it each week and comb everything possible I can from it.

Next up is Beth Erickson’s Mindset Moments – it’s a free little thing you can sign up for and you get daily little writerly inspirations. She also offers a good enewsletter that has markets and articles as well. Definitely worth the read.

Worldwide Freelance also offers an enewsletter, which is not nearly as good as Hope’s and Beth’s but often has good articles and nonfiction markets. Additionally, they have an onsite database for markets as well. Plus when you sign up for their newsletter you get a nice little free ebook on well paying markets. Definitely worth a look.

Writer’s Gazette is put out by Krista Barrett, who is an accomplished and published writer and also provides a free enewsletter with markets and articles. Sometimes it’s a little short but she is an enthusiastic person and clearly likes to help out her fellow writers.

Absolute Write is another who offers a free enewsletter and has articles and markets, plus they have other venues and resources that may be just what you are looking for.

Aspiring crime/mystery writers may like Crimes and Clues which offers lots of facts, tips and tricks on the crime trade. Great resource.

If you’re looking for an agent, you can try Agent Query. This was the first place I looked and though I didn’t find anyone they still have a very impressive database and it’s worth a look.

And of course, the list would not be complete without the standardbearer of the industry, Writer’s Digest is its own institution and has everything from books, writing prompts, news, and markets.

And finally, a great article on how to set your freelance fees.

I guess that just about does it. Have fun.

WC

Oh yeah, and here’s that fart joke:

10 thoughts on “Writerly Things

  1. This is great Annie, thanks. I’m assuming the enewsletters are mostly for an American market, but I signed up for the first two anyway to have a look. I receive a few Australian zines and newsletters, but it’s always good to have some new ones recommended ๐Ÿ™‚
    Oh, and thanks for the fart joke – it’s a good’n!
    Sx

    Hey Simonne,
    Actually no, there are markets for all over the place. I’m glad you decided to sign up for a couple of them – I think you’ll be pleased.

    Yeah, hard to go wrong with a fart joke, eh? ๐Ÿ˜†
    Annie xo

    Like

  2. Annie,

    Thanks for mentioning FundsforWriters and me in your blog! Thanks so very much. Your words made me blush and started my day off so nicely!

    Hope Clark
    FundsforWriters.com

    Well Hope, I’m utterly stunned that you dropped by and thank you so much for doing so. I was delighted to mention your site – it really has done so much for me – a light in the storm, truly. So, thank you.

    Annie

    Like

  3. Funny, Annie, as i was going to do a post on how not to be a writer- because i am so proficient in the areas of self sabotage, laziness and procrastintaion- which, like masturbation, feels good at the time, but in the end i’m only screwing myself- that i’d thought to share my expertise with the world.

    But i think your post is much better. Thanks for the links. i’m particularly interested in Funds and will check it out. i love the links on Writer’s Digest.

    Also- and i think i’ve mentioned this before- farts are funny.

    Well thank God, chiCaChIca! I was about to send a search team out to Talent to make sure you hadn’t ended up in some ravine whilst hiking.

    I do think you should do the how not to be a writer post because you know, we all have those things that we do that aren’t writerly and need reminding. But the thing is about you, my friend, is that no matter what you do, you are writerly in just your being. Your words so beautiful and true. I wish you could see what i do in your words.

    Do check out funds and yawza, WD links rock. And farts will always be funny. A good drop back position when you’re in a pinch. ๐Ÿ˜†
    Annie

    Like

  4. This is so cool, Annie, all this information in one place. Thanks.

    Glad you like it Hilary. They really are some good resources, so check them out if you’ve a mind to.
    Annie

    Like

  5. Great tips and links Annie! Thanks.
    And loved that cartoon, too!

    You definitely need to check these links and start subscribing at least to funds and mindset. I mean it. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    A

    Like

  6. tee hee! I’m glad I stuck it out for the joke. But the rest was good too… we all love to hear (read) stuff from someone that is on the other side of the fence. I’m sure that some day all this stuff in my brain will make it to paper…and then even possibly someone elseโ€™s eyes.

    It’s quite possible, CG and it’s always good to be ready, eh?
    WC

    Like

  7. Writers Digest. Now there’s a blast from the past. I subscribed to it and some other writers’ magazine for several years back in the ’70s. Turns out you have to do more than just READ those things!

    Funny thing, 30, is that it never dawned on me that I had to do more than read those mags, too. Now, what is up with that?
    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

