The Bastids…

This has been quite the week already – my friend, another friend’s family member, still waiting to be paid for a job I did a month ago…gas is a thousand dollars a gallon…blah blah…

So, what could make it even better? No internet. Yup…good ol’ Verizon went belly up about 2pm today. So, I sat and checked it all day long. Called Roomie at work to see if it was the network thingie he set up. Didn’t seem to be. When he got home, all his super-duper equipment proved that it was the provider.

The bastids – they spend a bagillion dollars to get you wanting this stuff, making it an integral part of every aspect of your life and then they pull the plug, just because of some silly old 60 mile an hour winds. Jeez what a bunch of pansies!

I don’t know about you, but I actually get a twitch when I can’t get internet access. And they say cigarettes are bad. I wonder if they’ve done any studies on second hand web surfing. Or thrice-removed cyber tripping? You’d think they’d find some interesting things. I can’t stand it when I’m cut off, I’m like a drunk jonesing for their next bottle of Muscatel. It’s frightening really. I was so mad I only gave the dog dry dog food tonight, no table scraps or anything. Of course, it wasn’t her fault but I don’t know who to blame and she was convenient. Not to worry, she got her doggie cookies though.

The worst part is that I was waiting for updates on my friend and couldn’t get them until about an hour ago. I guess I should quit griping since it’s back now and the update was good.

Still, I rather enjoy calling the faceless, nameless cyber ghosts who provide my internet connection bastids. It makes me feel better somehow. Bastids, bastids, bastids. Try it, you might like it.

WC

PS: And no, the picture has nothing to do with the post, but it seemed cheery. 😯

17 thoughts on “The Bastids…

  1. gah! I had a comment all typed out and I hit some rogue button and it vanished! GRrrr! I got a kick out of this post Annie. The second hand web surfing seems plausible! Only YOU could have thought up that…. I’m amazed at your sense of humor! LOVE IT!

    It’s the WordPress Gods, they are funny sometimes and hungry. πŸ˜‰

    Yeah, I’m sure in a few years they’ll be all kinds of studies on the effects of second hand web browsing. They will probably outlaw outdoor cafes with wi-fi and discover it causes lower SAT scores and bad driving habits. πŸ˜‰
    A

    Like

  2. Yes, nice cheery pic! Good way to find balance, huh?

    AND, doncha hate it when you CALL about an IUI (internet unavailibity issue) and get that msg that says “if you are in Massachusetts/western PA/Atlanta, we are aware of your issue, pls call again in 3 hours”.

    You know, C, I never have called and been given an update on Mass., PA or Atlanta. I wonder what’s up with that? I mean, now I feel a little cheated. πŸ˜‰
    A

    Like

  3. I’m glad your friend is doing better.

    Are you still using Verizon? I was too busy watching Idol to listen for any actual NEWS.

    Thanks, honey. I watched idol too and was I surprised and delighted when the right David won. They finally got it right.
    Annie

    Like

  4. ROFLMAO Annie living where yo do there mst be a bazillion wifi spots I assme you own a laptop that is wifi capable…go to Starbucks’ drink yourself some coffee with cream boogers and while away the hours… 8)

    Good point, Ger – but here’s the thing – my laptop is not set up for wi-fi. We tried that and I guess it needs a card or a number or a lower body weight or something. Damn!
    A

    Like

  5. Hi WC,

    Count your blessings. Our electricity goes out at least once a month, sometimes for hours. If you think not being able to access the Internet is a bitch, try spending an evening attempting to read by candle light while either huddled next to the fireplace for warmth or sprawled out naked on the couch in a desperate attempt to stay cool, depending on the time of year. By the way, the naked on the couch thing is the worst, due to the inquisitive nature of our dogs.

    the Grit

    Hey Grit,
    You’re so right, dogs are the nosiest nancies in the universe. Maybe you need to put them out on the porch. πŸ˜‰
    A

    Like

  6. LOLOL I actually disconnect the Net at home, about 2 weeks ago.

    I know, I know. Call me crazy πŸ˜€

    I’m gobsmacked – you disconnect on purpose? Gracie, what am I going to do with you? πŸ˜†
    Annie

    Like

  7. Wow, you have taken me off of comment moderation. So, I take it that you trust me now. That could be a mistake. πŸ˜‰

    Oh honey, I never had you on comment moderation – WordPress seems to do these things at will and on a whim. Moderation is only for first time commenters – and only because it prevents the obscene spamster comments from publishing. See what I mean?
    Annie

    Like

  8. hah, I understand, Annie.
    Occasionally, it goes out on my end too. Even if Im not wanting to get online at that time, it drives me nuttts! knowing that I can’t if I wanted to.

    Yup, Red – it’s the neener, neener, neener of it all, eh? πŸ˜‰
    A

    Like

  9. I can’t agree with you more on Verizon.
    On their behalf, I’ve had very good service.
    I just wish they had more reps named Bob than Haabib . . .
    ~m

    Yes, more Bob operators would be nice. πŸ˜‰
    A

    Like

  10. Sheesh, are we ALL addicted? I go absolutely bonkers if I lose connections or power. My cable TV went off the other night during my Jon Stewart/Colbert bedtime fix, and I sat on hold for 30 minutes just so I could chew out a live person!

    Thousand dollars a gallon, huh? Neener, neener! It’s only $998 here!

    Oh 30, you’re scaring me. πŸ˜† I do the same thing. Poor help line operators, they must have terrible work stress.

    Wow, only $998 a gallon at your house? You so lucky. πŸ˜‰
    A

    Like

  11. This post was hi-la-ri-ous! Even the dancing penguin that had nothing to do with the post! Let’s hear it for the penguin!!

    My favorite line: “I can’t stand it when I’m cut off, I’m like a drunk jonesing for their next bottle of Muscatel.”

    Did I tell you my car was towed in San Francisco three four nights ago — while self was imbibing sangria in a tapas bar on 16th — wonderful to be able to laugh while reading your blog!

    Well M, I suppose if you are going to get towed it might as well be while you’re a little tipsy – makes it all that much more enjoyable, eh? And oh yeah, Yay! for the penguin. Glad you got a chuckle.
    Annie

    Like

  12. Boy! I’m with you on this one. We’ve had lightening strike and knock out our Internet –not to mention our ISP has server problems that seem endless. Either our high speed connection poops out and I can’t send an email, or we lose connection altogether. This happens fairly routinely, at least once a month. Spotty connections at times have been a way of life. Ugh. Feels like you’ve lost an arm when you can’t get online. The keyboard and browser have become like body extensions, I swear. Of course with an ISP named “Farmers Tel” what can you expect? It’s the downside of living out in the sticks. Hey girl. I talked with Zelda the other day and am really hoping your close friend is doing okay. I sent you an email when I heard about it. Drop me an email when you get a chance.

    PG!
    Wow, so good to see you in the neighborhood again. I had to laugh when I read the name of your provider is Farmers Tel – that just totally cracked me up. And I remember well your adventures with your internet connections – kinda makes me wonder what the heck I”m griping about. πŸ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  13. They pulled an FV on you, eh? Fucking Verizon. Loved the part about your dog. LOL I am a freaking nightmare without my internet. You are so funny Annie. Ali

    I know, honey – we’re all mad addicts when it comes to this stuff. Don’t worry about my dog, she gets plenty – believe me.

    Annie

    Like

  14. PS I hate the triangle avatar. WTF? I didn’t put it there and don’t know how to change it. FWP (Fucking Word Press LOL)

    It’s an automatic WP thing – came with the new update. They generate it based on your url I think – if you don’t have an avatar. The solution is to get an avatar you like I think – but then again, I’m pretty clueless about this stuff myself.
    A 😯

    Like

What do you think?

