Small it Down

Small it down. Don’t take it all in. Shut out the things that scream and flap, they aren’t yours. You don’t have to have it all just because you feel it all. It ain’t all yours, no matter what you think. Most of it isn’t, actually. Most of it is just what is. What you can do nothing about. What climbs into your dreams because you leave the windows open and a never ending supply of catfood on the back porch.

Larger than life is good, but you can choke on it. Better to take the small bites and digest slowly, see if it agrees with you. Other people’s plates always look better, smell better, seem fuller and more appetising. But it’s not yours and you have to give it back sooner than later, so why poise your fork in the first place?

Small it down, thin the herd, find the tags addressed to you. Those are the things that belong in your mailbox, the correspondence you need to answer. Learn to listen better, not bigger. Think quieter, not louder. Speak thougthfully, not endlessly.

Prospect the mine on your own property, find the gold that pulses in those veins – they open for you freely and without much cost. Sell the goods from the stores of your imagination and put the faery wings on the clearance table. Inventory is only good if it’s good, not ample.

Small it down. Make it whisper, so it speaks only to you. Make it flutter slowly and catch every frame. Know it as it knows you. Is you. Small it down.

19 thoughts on “Small it Down

  1. WC: Wonderful writing and good thoughts to begin the day. If I could be so bold, I’ll add:

    Take the time to walk through the forest and dream among the trees. Looking up through the leaves you can see heaven. Listen and you can hear the voice of God whispering in the breeze.

    – JOS

    JOS,
    Of course you can add your thoughts to it – that’s the wonderful thing about writing, it gets others’ creative perceptions out as well. I love your addition, peacefully and profoundly true.
    Annie

    Like

  2. I think I’m going to copy this one if you don’t mind, and put it up next to my computer. They are definitely words to remember and knowing me if I don’t print them out I won’t remember them. “Small It Down” Very Cool!!!

    Joanie,
    I’m honored that you would want to print it out and keep it nearby. I wrote this in a moment of overwhelm and felt better afterwards – maybe it speaks to others too? I hope so.
    Hugs,
    Annie

    Like

  3. I absolutely love this – it is wonderful, especially on days that I may feel overwhelmed. I like Joan’s idea of keeping it by her computer. I’m also gonna stumble this because it may help soothe others who are feeling stressed. You are a true blogger-whisperer, my friend. πŸ™‚

    Gee Teens, you’re going to make me cry. I love that – blog whisperer – great term and I’m honored you would give it to me.
    Hugs,
    Annie

    Like

  4. I love this. “Small it Down” – I never would have thought of saying it as you did; you are brilliant! I think, I too, shall print it off and keep it close to me. Thanks, Annie!

    Hey 2LD,
    Wow, I’m overwhelmed – I didn’t even think anyone would read this post. I don’t know what to say, except thanks, honey.
    Annie

    Like

  5. Oh, I done printed it out . . Thank you for the words, Annie. They will always be remembered.
    Small it down.
    Poifect, my friend.

    I’m speechless, Red, I really am.
    Annie

    Like

  6. beautiful, Annie. beautiful and wise.

    You know…I’m not sure what it is exactly – could be the deaths that have happened around me to folks near my age or just the sense that time is FLYING by – but this principle you wrote on (I call it “simplify”) is something I’ve been living alot lately. My priorities are shifting in good ways. I’m trying to live each day as if it were my last, stuff like that.

    I’m not sure how these illusion of Grandeur get into us sometimes…but in the end, it’s the very simpliest – the very “smallest” of things that seem to mean the most.

    Hugs

    Hello Beautiful Gracie,
    How the heck are you?

    Maybe we’re on the same wavelength lately – find similar things and views happening in my own life. Funny thing is, is that this was really a pep talk I wrote to myself – I didn’t think anybody would even read it. Kind of astounding, actually. It’s my new motto, ‘small it down.’

    Hugs,
    Annie

    Like

  7. LOVE IT!

    Oh wow. I’m speechless. And that’s rare. Yet here I am still typing. DOH. Shut up Daisy! πŸ™‚

    Daisy

    πŸ˜† You can talk…you don’t have to shut up. Thanks, hon.
    Annie

    Like

  8. Hey there blog whisperer, this is truly wonderful.

    “Prospect the mine on your own property, find the gold that pulses in those veins – they open for you freely and without much cost. Sell the goods from the stores of your imagination and put the faery wings on the clearance table. Inventory is only good if it’s good, not ample.”

    LOVE this so much. And I love it when you write like this.

    Sx

    Aw, Simonne…thanks, dear one. I love it when I write like this too. If only I could do it all the time. It was something that was good to get out and look at and I managed to get it out just the way I wanted it – always a win for writer, eh?

    Love
    Annie

    Like

  9. Pingback: Huh? « Idea Jump!
  10. Well thought out and well written. I love it! Thanks for the wonderful message!

    You’re so cute, Mrs. V – you’re like having my own teacher giving me good grades. πŸ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  11. Oh so wise!

    I like the term ‘small it down” and the part about taking little bites the best. I tend to use the term baby steps myself, and now I can use two analogies! πŸ™‚

    Jennifer

    Thanks, hon. It works for me – I hope. πŸ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  12. The phrase “small it down” is excellent.
    It can be applied, and should be really, to facet of our living…

    i felt the quietude of this post.
    Terrific work, Chica. As always. πŸ™‚

    Thanks, Chica
    There was a stillness for moment there – interesting…like I could actually hear my own thoughts for once – just my thoughts. Unique experience.
    Annie

    Like

  13. Oh my gosh! How did I miss this one. Short but chalked full- full of words that sang to my soul Annie.

    Gosh, beautiful! So amazing. Gosh, if we could all do this life would be so grand! Can I print and frame? Lemme know WC. I swear, I’d send it out via email to everyone I know with a link back to you but I’m afraid they find my blog- I like to keep that from anyone I know πŸ˜‰

    Sure you can print and frame. Don’t worry about the email angle. Maybe it’s good just to leave it our little secret. And I’d be the last one who would want to ‘out’ you. πŸ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  14. Went from multiple blogger personality disorder batches to this.

    What a contrast.

    You know how good this is because of who you were when you wrote this. Because of who you are.

    Love it. Love you.

    S.

    S.
    You don’t know how much these words mean to me.
    Love
    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

