Theme Fridays – Park Bench

In my travels as a blogger, I’ve had the pleasure of encountering some great women writers and have thought it would be fun to do a sort of Writer’s Circle (cooperative project ) with them. Recently, during a casual conversation I mentioned this to Jess and Christine and in no time flat, Theme Fridays was born. The idea is simple – pick a theme and each write a piece based around that theme. We hope to make it a regular feature and add other women writers to the circle as time goes on – in fact, any women writers out there who might be interested, please shoot me an email. We hope you enjoy this new adventure into literary fun. Visit Jess’s park bench and visit Christine’s park bench . Oh, and don’t forget to pick up some cotton candy, hot dogs and ice cream while you’re at the park. πŸ˜‰

She sits upon me and waits. Looking up as they pass by and wondering who will stop. Will anyone stop? Does anyone see the lost in her eyes, the shine in her heart, the arms that reach out for the life that passes her by?

I whisper but she does not hear my consolations, commiserations, salutations. I tell her the stories that have come before, so she will know she is not alone in her yearnings – not a solitary soul but one of many.

“I’m not special,” she writes again and again in her journal. The ink soaks the page, deep and black.
“Yes, you are!” I hover over her shoulder, whispering loudly.
“No one will ever see me,” the pen assaults the tender pages and the tears smear the words.
“I see you,” I long to sprout arms that can embrace.
“What’s the use?” The journal and pen fly from her grasp and land at my feet. She stands up and the chill splinters me.
“Come back,” I call to her but she drifts away, into the crowd – a blur of black and white, folding into the other invisibles in the noon day sun.

He bends down and retrieves the journal and pen, then sits upon me. He reads her words and looks about. He takes the pen and writes, “I’m not special…”

13 thoughts on “Theme Fridays – Park Bench

  1. Pingback: The Park Bench «
  2. This is excellent, Chica!
    i love “…the chill splinters me.”
    i like the personification, the wisdom, of the park bench, enjoy the twist at the end, “I’m not special…”

    Oh this was wonderful.
    i can’t wait to do it again.

    ~c

    Thanks Chica –
    It was not easy getting the point of view of a park bench, despite what I thought going in. But challenge is what it’s about, yes?

    I’m glad we’re doing this too. You pick the next theme – so put on your thinking cap.

    Love
    Annie

    Like

  3. Oooh! Like it! I love where the man picks it up, and continues. I can actually keep it going in my head…the story moves on.

    Really? Oh, that’s cool – can you tell me how it ends? πŸ˜‰ This was really fun – I’m digging this.
    Annie

    Like

  4. I’m digging this too! Fridays have just become my favorite day of the week. I can’t wait to see what you ladies come up with next week!

    I really liked the line “the chill splinters me” as well as “folding into the other invisibles”. Excellent work Annie!

    Jennifer

    Yay, Jen likes it too! πŸ˜‰ Believe it or not, this was a challenge. I didn’t think it would be as difficult as it turned out to be – but then, maybe that’s where the good stuff comes from. We’re all pretty excited about this, nice to know that readers are too.

    Thanks, honey.
    Annie

    Like

  5. Awww!!

    ‘I’m not special’. The ink soaks the page deep and black.

    Has any-one got a spare park bench.

    So beautiful. Thanks Annie
    Loving
    Di x

    LOL Di,
    That’s not a half bad idea. I think I could use a spare one myself. Glad you liked it, hon. Thanks.
    Annie

    Like

  6. Ooooh! I love this.
    Can’t wait for the next installment.

    Thank you, kindly, Ms. Red. I can’t wait for the next installment too. πŸ™‚
    Annie

    Like

  7. It’s funny because I was in town today and went to the harbor where they have benches. I almost got out of the car to sit on the bench for a few minutes and enjoy the sea breeze. But I didn’t. Now I wish I had. I have already read c’s take on the park bench and now yours. I will never look at a park bench the same way and tomorrow when I go to the harbor I will sit on the damn bench and think of the two of you. I don’t know Jess but I have to go over there now and read her take on it. I will look forward to these on Fridays. Great idea.

    Joanie,
    That is the sweetest sentiment. Thank you. It’s nice to feel like you could inspire someone, even in a small way. And thanks so much for the link. You’re a doll.
    Annie

    Like

  8. Wow, I will never look at a park bench the same way again.
    Loved it! Just too talented girl! So proud to know ya!

    Hey Ange,
    You know it is interesting to try to embue inanimate objects with life – I’m glad you enjoyed it. Aw…proud of me? 😳 you’re making me blush.
    Annie

    Like

  9. Flash fiction is certainly the new kid on the block, and it is fun isn’t it?! This is really great Annie πŸ™‚

    You know, Simonne, I didn’t think of it as flash fiction – I suppose you could call it that. Or maybe flash fiction is just another name for prose?

    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

