Don't Swoon For Me Argentina

You know, of late, I’ve noticed a disturbing sexist pattern of behavior in some readers of blogs I visit. Swooning, crying and apparently, in some cases, fainting. Pass the smelling salts, will you? Said swooning and likewise super girlie behavior can usually be found on the blogs of men. Hence the sexist aspect of this widespread epidemic. And frankly, this has me a little flooped out.

I mean, what am I, chopped liver? Yes, it’s true, I’m jealous and feel more than a little left out. There is nothing more disheartening than visiting one of my buddies blogs only to see an inordinate amount of female commenters, swooning, moaning and fanning themselves. It’s just not fair.

I don’t get any boy readers over here, clutching their hankies and dabbing at their tears (while silently vowing their undying love for me) reading my posts. No, usually it’s “Great post, WC” a smack upside the head and they’re off. What’s up with that? Seriously, why is it the guys get all the good lovin’ in the blog world? Have you ever wondered about that, ladies? Haven’t you ever sat back and thought, “Gee, I wish somebody would come and whimper over some of my good stuff!” (Not to mention a couple of tear stained emails.) And then stamp your foot in dismay, whilst smoothing out your pinafore?

Barring nude and alluring photos of ourselves on every blog post, how are we supposed to get some of that good lovin’ like the guys get – and in copious amounts, I might add? Does having some ‘junk’ in the box (as it were) automatically transcend the reader into a quivering mass of emotional jelly? Can pheramones actually exude through a computer monitor? Does three day stubble make all the difference? Cuz I can do that, just not on my face.

Or is it simply the nature of men and women? That despite all of our evolutionary advances, high tech, equal rights, women’s rights, the new age, global warming and the Constitution, girls are still girls and boys are still boys and ne’er the twain shall meet? As simple as girls cry and emote and men scratch themselves in public and grunt their approval? Can men only safely express their emotions during the SuperBowl and gut-wrenching sex? Or are they just holding out on us? Lapping up the love but not so much as giving out a batting eyelash?

Seriously, what’s a girl blogger gotta do to get some of that lovely, weepy, swoony bloggie love? And oh yeah, I demand a recount. πŸ˜‰

21 thoughts on “Don't Swoon For Me Argentina

  1. i recently read an article about how blogs by women tend to be about food, their sex lives and family life- and there’s nothing bad about that- but that we readers look to male bloggers for politics, sociological and philosophical perspectives.

    Also, if you’re not young and hot and posted all over your own blog, forget it- not always- but most of the time. And those few times we get man-love, it will most probably be subdued because when a man respects you, he will not automatically hand you his penis- verbally speaking- and all that that implies. Instead he will say good job and move on to where his figurative adoration will be accepted. And there’s nothing wrong with that.

    Plus there are the men that actually love and respect their wives and don’t want to come across as flirtatious with other women online.

    i have to say that i am uncomfortable with male adoration. Believe or not, i had me some not too long ago somewhere else and it caused problems and felt wrong and uncomfortable. Of course, my mostly female readership- with their kindness and support and friendship- also make me feel embarrassed and weird because that’s my personality.

    Even though i gush on others’ blogs. :~

    Hey Chica,
    I’d like to see this article, because I have to wonder how many blogs the writer has read. Or maybe I”m not in the swing of things – but most of the women’s blogs I read are down and dirty about life, philosophy, deep stuff (like you, for example) and some of the best poliblogs I visit are authored by women.

    LOL – a verbal handover of a man’s penis to me, makes me laugh.

    As to the uncomfortable with male adoration – sounds like maybe you had a little bit of a stalker-ish situation – yeah that can be very strange and uncomfortable. I’ve experienced that as well – it is odd and there never seems to be a good solution for it.

    Yes, you are one humble writer but we can’t help but love your words and the unique way in which you string them together (can you hear me whipping out my hankie?) because, well, sorry dear, but they are just beautiful and magical.

    Annie

    Like

  2. β€œGreat post, WC” a smack upside the head and they’re off. Hmmmm great post WC and hows about a smack across the (_!_) to show you some real love if that’s what it takes πŸ˜‰

    Wow Ger, I suddenly feel like I”m on a football team. πŸ˜†
    Annie

    Like

  3. This is a good post A! My take on this is that there are more female bloggers then men and men tend to prefer the sound of their own voices then listening to others πŸ˜‰

    LMAO, Simonne. Wow, now that is one hysterical statement. You may have quite the point there, young lady. πŸ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  4. I think A-mum has a good point about men being just as emotional, but perhaps not expressing it as much.

    For me, if people continue to visit and read and comment, that’s enough lovin for me.

    Jennifer

    That’s because you’re a sweet, caring person. Me, on the other hand….. πŸ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  5. Funny, when I first started blogging I didn’t have any male readers, and that was fine. I loved my girl-blog-love. But, once I started getting comments from male readers it was a big ego boost for me. I’m such an attention hound…and now it’s as if I can’t get enough of the male-blog-love. Dammit.

    LOL, 2LD – there you go.
    A

    Like

  6. i read it here.

    i like what Anonymum said, but would like to add that i think that what causes an emotional reaction in us ladies may not move a man in the same way. i’ve seen men cry or embrace over a sports event while the women nearby rolled their eyes. i was one of them.

    i agree with you, Chica. It’s easy to generalize- “Women do this. Men do that.”- but that negates the indiviual. The women on my blogroll are there because they’ve each reached me on different levels, and i don’t think any of them are silly or dramatic or emotional- unless they’re feeling emotional and are willing to share that. The article doesn’t say that either. It just tries to point out that the focus of male & female blogs tend to be different.

    And hey, i enjoy reading about food! πŸ™‚ Also, the most creative writing i’ve read on the web is authored by womyn! πŸ˜‰

    -Like the awesome women on my blogroll.
    -Like you!

    I just checked the article – for some reason, I couldn’t just click on the link, had to do cut and paste for some reason, will have to check on why.

    From what I could see it was an informal study done in 2004 from ‘blogger’ blogs – as opposed to wordpress or an aggregate of all blog platforms out there. The interesting thing of note to me was that they essentially say that women by and large write more emotional type stuff – therefore at least in my twisted logic it should mean that we would inspire more emotional responses. Doesn’t that make sense? LOL.

    But yeah Chica, I think you’re right, we girls are more willing to share our emotional reactions more than the guys are. And really, that’s okay too.

    Annie

    Like

  7. i have to admit, i love the man-love too. its quite an ego boost to me to have a guy tell me i’m funny or witty or sexy. whatever. i’ll take it!

    Ain’t that the truth. πŸ™‚
    Annie

    Like

  8. Cuz I can do that, just not on my face. ROFL!

    I hadn’t even thought about my readers until I read this; it does seem most of my commenters are female. Do you suppose it’s just that women tend to blog (verbalize) more, and that means there are more women online to read blogs? I don’t have enough readers to be picky about it; I crave comments and adoration from any source!

    Hey 30,
    LOL – I thought that one would slip by. πŸ˜‰

    I don’t know if women blog more or their approach is just more homey and it seems that way??? Hard to tell. I understand about the craving for comments and adoration from any source, believe me. Same here.
    Annie

    Like

  9. Great post WC { pat, pat } and I’m off…

    Seriously though, a woman may say she wants to see her man cry, but as soon as it happens, she thinks to herself, “What am I doing with this wimp?” πŸ˜‰

    – JOS

    LOL JOS, you may be right. However, I didn’t say I wanted to see my man cry – just the men who visit my website. πŸ˜†
    Annie

    Like

  10. Great post, WC. [ducking]

    I try not to get too effusive; if I find myself in a mode where drool is imminent, I prefer to convey it by email, where only two people will see the depths of my degradation – unless, of course, she cuts and pastes it into a blog post.

    I admit up front that I wear my heart on my sleeve. The trick is to keep from wiping my nose on it.

    LOL CG,
    It is tough when you get boogers on your heart, isn’t it? Getting that stuff out is a bitch. Though I do think it’s nice that you would email someone to tell them of your swooniness. That’s pretty cool in fact.
    WC

    Like

  11. Good post Annie. πŸ˜€

    It’s been a loooong time since someone of the opposite sex swooned over me. (In real life or on a blog, LOL.) Don’t know if I’d know how to handle that. πŸ˜€

    LOL, Mrs. V – I have a feeling you’d be able to adapt. πŸ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  12. Annie, I was ROFL at some of this, loved the stubble part..heck I thought it was funny..then I read the comments and thought..well, Sh*t, no wonder I can’t write..Can’t even think deeply!LOL!

    I got a few men who come over..they sure don’t swoon over me, no tears either. They say their little piece..sometimes good, sometimes not so good.Then there is one woman who will always pick on a couple of them trying to be a wise cracker.Then, before you know it, Both me and my post subject has been forgotten cuz they are going at it..so I don’t get any loving either..heck, I’m not remembered. Just can’t get any respect these days.

    Unless you can count the one time one of the guys said to hold our holsters, he loved both of us..what can I say? Take it any way I can get it with this cyber love stuff. I hated to tell him I believed in monogamy.

    Should I put up an x rated photo? It would have to be of someone else cuz some of my parts say at ease instead of attention as they should…know what I mean? Boxing gloves may not be so good eh?

    Good post Annie..I shall try to think more deeply.
    Hugs to ya!

    Oh Ange,
    You crack me up. Yes, I have noticed that the men over at your site do get testy (pun intended) and I’ve also sat on the sidelines during the heated debates. Don’t you hate it when that happens? There they are brawling in the aisles, having completely forgotten what the post is about or that there even is a post. πŸ˜†

    Hang in there, girly – you’re doing good – with or without the drool. πŸ˜‰
    Hugs,
    Annie

    Like

  13. Sending you some good loving Annie. Here’s some kisse’s and here’s some hugs to.

    X X X X Annie X X X X.

    I think your the best blogger ever. The most funniest, the most charming,by far the most sexiest, the most caring, the most loving and the most compassionate. The most informative to -and your the best writer in the whole wide world.

    Hehe!!

    I only ever come to this blog. I found it through my friend’s Rubys. I seem to get all I need from here. I’m not a stalker – honest, but I have to say. I do have that potential.

    I’m very much of ‘Stick with what I know and where I feel safe’ I do venture out from time to time.

    Hey!!

    Maybe I go and check a few men out. Put me fairy wings on a see what happens.

    WHOO HOO!!

    Do you think them Men bloggers are ready for me Annie – Smiling.

    Always loving a Charming Chic.
    Di XX

    See everybody, this is what I”m talking about. Di, understands, now don’t you dearie? I don’t know if the fellas are ready for you Di, but I say, go for it. It can’t hurt and maybe you’ll find a fellow who has a thing for faerie wings.

    Love ya,
    Annie

    Like

  14. It is tough when you get boogers on your heart, isn’t it?

    Haha!

    Touches me and means so much to me. Laughing so much here.

    SEE!!

    Thats all I need today. For one – I can’t take all this information in of too many blogs and bloggers. And for two – I don’t have a memery so it’s pointless.

    There’s a quote I like. Which is; Please don’t quote me on this cause it’s a bit wrong.

    ‘People may forget what you said or what you did, but people never forget how you made them’ feel.

    Aww!!!! have a great day Annie & Friends.
    XX

    Thanks, Di – that means a lot. I’m so glad that my humble blog brightens your day. That’s the whole idea, isn’t it?

    Hugs,
    Annie

    Like

  15. I’m sorry, WC. As much as I would love to cry over your posts, I can’t, as I witnessed a murder as a child and now I am desensitized and incapable of expressing emotions.

    Oh, you’re just trying to trick me, so I’ll swoon over you. You, rascal. πŸ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  16. Pingback: dustbury.com
  17. I dunno, Annie. A bald noggin makes me swoon … and several folks I visit are hairless. Perhaps you should invest in Bic? πŸ˜‰

    This is not something I’ve really noticed.

    Gee, Red, I had no idea you could tell who was bald on the internet. Do you have a special web cam thingie for that? πŸ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  18. LMAO!

    I LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT! I got nothing to add except I 2nd/4rd/10th the stubble comment.

    Perhaps if I had read this post before responding to your questions I could have come up with some better responses. Yeah, right, who am I kidding? I still would have fired it off in a 1:30am email with the laundry and dishwasher going!

    Daisy

    LOL Daisy! I thought you might get a kick out of this. I had a great time writing it. Though, I was surprised it didn’t get that many laughs first time out. Maybe it will now.

    And I loved your answers – I loved everybody’s answers – they were great. Real, honest, down to earth, can’t ask for more than that. πŸ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

