things i don't ever…

I know a lot of people like lists – I sure do. From grocery lists to wish lists, I’m a list kind of girl.

I also know you are never supposed to focus on what you don’t want. Big taboo in this Universe – the theory being that what you wish not (for) is precisely what you get.

However, I think that there may be one or two exceptions to this rule. The things I don’t ever want to…

1. Forget who my friends are. No matter the highs or lows of my life, my friends are not disposable.

2. Believe my own press. Compliments are nice and raves even nicer but one can go out of fashion as quickly as fish can start to stink in the hot afternoon sun – so staying humble is advisable.

3. To ‘trade up’ to get ahead. What is worth trading your blessings for? A new condo, your name in lights, a movie deal, higher blog stats?? No, no, not worth it, believe me.

4. To forget any kindness bestowed upon me, for those are the gifts that last and have no expiration date.

5. Think that others don’t matter. Of course they do, they are the rest of the world, aren’t they?

6. Get too big for my britches. Luckily I have a few friends who will inform me of this when it happens.

7. Lose my naivete’ or gullibility (is that a word? it is now.) I’d rather be tricked a thousand times than to stop believing in people.

8. Fail to see the basic goodness in others. It is always there, sometimes you just really have to look closer.

9. Sweat the small stuff.

10. Everything is the small stuff.

So those are my things, I don’t ever – how about you?

11 thoughts on “things i don't ever…

  1. I don’t ever want to give up my values, and especially because others think that I should.

    Absolutely, Gem, I agree. And it is odd, don’t you think that there are others who think you should?
    Annie

    Like

  2. I so love #7 Annie 🙂
    I don’t ever want to stop believing that chocolate isn’t good for me.

    Hey Sweetie,
    Yup number 7 is most important to me because I think otherwise, you lose your love of life and people – and there isn’t much left after that, is there? And of course chocolate is good for you. 😉

    And btw, did you like your award? Look a couple of posts below this one.

    Annie
    xo

    Like

  3. What a great list of “I nevers!” It’s funny that I can think of tons of things that I would like to say “I never” but those are things I wish I could say and not really necessarily true. I will have to think on this one. In other news, this would be a great meme. 🙂

    Hey Teens! Great to see you back in the neighborhood, I’ve missed you.

    LOL – you really are the Queen of Memes, ain’tcha? 😉
    Annie

    Like

  4. Great list! #7 was a bit convicting for me, since I don’t trust many people at all anymore. But maybe I will change back someday! 🙂

    Hey Dube!
    I understand, but maybe you could go at it gradually. Say one day a week just decide you’re going to believe people. That way if they turn out to be liars you can kick their butts the next day. 😉
    WC

    Like

  5. Great list! Here’s one near and dear to my heart:

    I don’t ever want to succumb to the “supposed tos” and “oughts” and “shoulds” and “would haves” and “could haves” that pummel us everyday from every venue…

    Hi Lisa and welcome to my little dive. Get addition to the list. I love that!
    WC

    Like

  6. What a good list. i mean good, not like a good cup of coffee good but correct, high, right.

    i think the wish granters will make sure you get all that you want. 😉

    Aw Chica,
    You just say the nicest things – is it any wonder I am such a total fan? But yeah, a good cup of coffee…hope I never not have that too. 😉

    And the wish granters I think will be generous with you too.

    hugs,
    Annie

    Like

  7. I never want to feel “grown-up” I’m 31 and have two kids but still feel like a kid myself.

    I always ask my husband, “When are we supposed to feel old and grown-up?”

    The truth is, I hope we never do! 🙂

    Hey Ramblin’
    I can totally relate. We need to keep part of our childhood with us at all times. Besides, what’s the point of growing up – you just get grouchy and constipated when you do. 😉
    Annie

    Like

  8. Ah! You are going to make me think today. Okay, I don’t ever
    1. Abuse my body. It has done amazing things in my life (produced children, run races, created gardens) and it deserves to be treated well.
    2. Accept being treated disrespectfully. Been there, done that, bought the t-shirt, ain’t going back.
    3. Eat corn. Sorry, it’s the one food I can’t choke down.
    4. Go a single day without telling the Urbane Lion how much I love him. Gushy, I know, but I’ve waited my entire adult life for this man, and I am going to make sure he knows he is well loved.
    5. Paint my nails. Given up on that. I’m so not that kind of girly-girl.
    6. Tell someone else how to run their life. Advise, yes, if asked, but never tell. There’s no such thing as walking a mile in someone else’s shoes. You can try to imagine what it’s like, but you can’t really do it.
    7. Take myself too seriously. I truly am a goof! And a clutz!
    8. Pretend to be anyone other than whom I am. Take me or leave me, I happen to like me very much.
    9. Stop worrying about my kids. Would like to, and I rarely have cause to worry, but it seems to be a built in mother thing.
    10. want to stop enjoying the stimulation of reading and responding to thought provoking blogs such as this.

    Well dear lady, I’m so glad I made you think in that case. That was a terrific list (except for the corn – love it, can’t get enough of it – but I’ll swap you for okra -eeeooowww). And how lucky are you to have the urbane lion love of your life? I love hearing those things. It’s bootiful. 🙂
    Annie

    Like

  9. Oooh, I like the list! Well done!

    I don’t ever want to forget where I came from and all those who helped me be who I am today.

    Mrs. V

    A classic point, Mrs. V, and oh so true. 🙂
    Annie

    Like

  10. ROTFL!! I like that “one day at a time” idea and kicking their butt the next day. You know, I think I could handle that strategy! 😛

    LOL – hey, whatever works, right? 😆
    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

