Miracles Do Happen!


Some of you may know that this past May, a very close friend of mine was in a really bad car accident. So bad in fact, that I wasn’t sure she was going to live. To say this turned my world upside down puts it mildly, the last time I was this grief stricken was the day my father died, if that puts it in perspective. Kelly is one of those really special people who lights up a room whenever she enters. She is kind, caring, funny and will do anything for anybody.

Not long after the accident, I flew to Seattle to help in whatever way I could and to join the literally hundreds of other people who knew and loved Kelly in a massive prayer chain to bring her through this catastrophe and give her back to us. It was a very rough week for me and I was in no way prepared to see what had happened to her and to realize how very little I could do for her. Much of the time I spent just trying not to cry and to keep her gorgeous girls occupied. Really, it was in God’s hands and all we could do was pray and send her our love and hope for the best. There wasn’t much sleeping or laughing going on but there was a lot of love and a sort of instant kindredness among all us. Lots of hugs and tears and smiles and hand squeezes. We all wanted the same thing – for our Kelly to get well and weather the storm.

The day I returned to L.A. from Seattle I discovered Kelly said her first words. And fittingly they were to her mother, Charlene. She said, ‘thank you’ when she saw Charlene straightening up her hospital room. Somewhat startled Charlene went to Kelly’s bedside and and looked closely at her daughter and said, “Do you know who I am?”

Kelly said, “yes.”

Charlene asked. “Who am I?”

Kelly said, “Mom.”

And that was the beginning of the miracle. Not only had she lived through a 60 mph impact into her standing still car, she spoke and she remembered her mother. Over the ensuing weeks, I read her brother’s email updates on her progress and it was amazing, lesser men would have died. But Kelly with the spirit of a team of Clydesdales pushed through to each next level with flying colors. Still, I have to admit, I was worried and wondered how much of her memory she had lost. If she had sustained any serious or long term brain damage. If she would be Kelly again. I knew while I was there she didn’t know me. In fact, I’m not sure she has any memory of that week at all. I worried (selfishly) that maybe she would never remember me and we would have to find our way to friendship in a new chapter.

I worried too about her young daughters, her brothers, her parents, her husband – if they too would get their Kelly back.

Today, my prayers were answered. I called her mother to get an update and to see where I could send cards and such to Kelly (since she’s been constantly been transferring to new facilities) and Charlene told me that Kelly now has a cell phone that she is talking to friends on. Charlene gave me the number and of course I called it immediately. Unfortunately, I got the voice mail and left a message.

For hours afterwards, every time the phone rang, I jumped and grabbed it, hoping to hear her voice. When I finally gave up the hope that I’d hear from her, she called. When she said my name I started to cry from pure joy. It was my Kelly. It was really her. The relief and gratitude I felt I simply can’t describe. We talked on the phone for nearly an hour and it was just as though nothing had happened. I have my friend back. I didn’t lose her after all. And I’m so glad because I just couldn’t have imagined life without her.

So thank you, a million times to all of you who prayed for her, hoped for her and her family. Who sent out your love to a stranger, only because I asked you to. Your prayers have worked and have helped to create this wonderful miracle.

26 thoughts on “Miracles Do Happen!

  1. Words can’t describe how happy I am for you, and I’m in awe how powerful humanity and prayer can be.

    Your lines bring home the tail end of the wave of emotions you’ve been going through, strong enough to sweep me off my feet for a moment. Now as I am sitting on the shore, drenched but happy, I send a hug sailing your way.

    (PS. You’re one of those Clydesdales).

    Hey Spaz,
    I’m still spinning from the relief and joy of it. Just to hear her voice again and to hear the recognition in her voice is what I’ve been praying for. She was just so her, you know? Laughing and joking and complaining about all the terrible food and, you know… Anyway…things sure seem brighter today, I can tell you that. They really do.

    Love
    Annie

    Like

  2. Oh Annie, I’m so so pleased for you, and of course for Kelly’s family. How wonderful.
    Sxx

    I know you are, dear girl, and I thank you so much for your prayers and concern. You can’t know how much they mean to me.
    Love
    Annie

    Like

  3. tears rolling down my face over here … i am so very happy for you and for her and for her family and friends … how wonderful. thank you for sharing this amazing news πŸ™‚ hugs! xo

    Hey D!
    I just keep reliving the moment, you know? I still can’t quite believe it. And what’s so odd is that I really thought I was handling it all pretty well and that it wasn’t dogging me as much as it did initially. Then when I heard her voice the relief really was like having a boudler taken off my shoulders and the room got brighter and just…well, everything, you know? Thanks for your empathy I can feel it.

    Hugs,
    Annie

    Like

  4. That’s amazing! What a blessing and a relief. I’ve been thinking about Kelly since you first wrote about her car accident. Honestly, I was too scared to comment on any of your posts about her. Now I’m so happy for you and for her and for her family! I didn’t expect such good news.

    Aw thanks, Windy. Why were you scared to comment? I don’t want you to ever feel that way about my blog – you feel free to say whatever you want, okay?

    And I didn’t expect such good news either – but I sure am glad it came. Still can’t believe it – it’s so great. πŸ™‚
    Annie

    Like

  5. Thank God in heaven! He is good!

    i have continued to pray for Kelly since you posted about her accident. i am so happy for her! Her family! And you, Chica. i know you have been suffering in grief since it happened.

    Blessing to Kelly, and you my friend.

    ~c

    I know, Chica, I’ve been thanking God every hour on the hour. I know you’ve had her in your prayers and I thank you for that. Today I sent her a card and something that has special meaning for both of us from the ‘old days’, which her mom will bring to the hospital for Kelly when it arrives. Just to know I can call her and talk to her is so amazing, I was really worried I’d never be able to talk to her again. Phew! πŸ™‚
    Annie

    Like

  6. Wow! That’s pretty much all I can say, because that was such an incredibly emotional story. I believe in the power of the mind, and prayer and love, and this reinforces my belief. Thank you so much for sharing this.

    Thanks, Panther! The power of the mind, love and prayer really is a miracle. This is really a miracle. She told me that the thing that ‘kept’ her here were her kids. That she just wasn’t going to leave them, no way, no how. And I really knew that. I really got it, as soon as I heard the news, I could feel her telling me to take care of her kids. When I was there, I used to go out on the deck and ‘talk’ to her – in my mind. I just got it was all about her kids. So, I guess I became Mr. Mom while I was there, cooking breakfast, giving them hugs and just all that stuff. I just kept telling them that I loved them and it was all going to be okay and I’m sure glad life didn’t make a liar out of me. I could just blather on and on about this, can you tell? πŸ™‚
    Annie

    Like

  7. Awww!!!

    Hugs for,

    (((((((Kelly, Annie & family)))))))).

    I feel Kelly’s spirit and the love she has in her life from her fantastic friends and family. What a beautiful picture of Kelly and the girls. The power of prayer and love.

    Yes !!

    Miracles DO happen. I never knew about this Annie. You warmed my heart to hear you flew to Seattle to be close – I would have done that to. Tears came to my eyes as you said. You may have to find a way your friendship in a new chapter.

    I thank God Kelly made it for her, her family and her frieds, for everyone that loves her. She sounds real special and thanks Annie for sharing your love for your friend.

    I’m sure she loves you very much. Here’s hoping for a smooth recovery.

    Smiles,love, prayers & miracles
    Di X

    Thanks, Di – you’re right she is so special and yes, isn’t she and her girls pretty ones?

    When I saw her in the hospital I knew she didn’t know me and she looked afraid, and I just kept telling, It’s me, Annie, you know me – we’re friends. I love you. Don’t be afraid. It’s okay. I think maybe I was saying it as much for me as for her cuz I guess we were both afraid. Anyway, thank you God and thank you everyone for your prayers and positive thoughts. So much.
    Annie

    Like

  8. That is wonderful, wonderful news! I’m so happy for Kelly, her family, friends, and you. Miracles DO happen – we just have to believe.

    Yup, we do. I may have to give up my christmas this year – this was quite the big pay out. πŸ™‚
    Annnie

    Like

  9. Annie I am so pleased to hear that Kelly is on the road to recovery. And when I got to the part about knowing her Mum, that brought a tear to my eye.

    Miracles can happen, we just need to believe. And I bet she has a fighting spirit too.

    Hugs to you, I can hear the relief in your words πŸ™‚ And the happiness too.

    Hey Gem!
    I cried too when Charlene told me Kelly recognized her.

    Yes, she has such a fighting spirit you might she was an Aussie or something. πŸ˜‰

    Yes, much relief and happiness. Thanks!
    Hugs
    Annie

    Like

  10. Wow! Talking to her must have been incredible. What a wonderful miracle. πŸ™‚

    Hey Dube,
    It was incredible – joy and relief and giddiness – all the good stuff. I have my friend back and I feel so lucky.
    Annie

    Like

  11. What wonderful and amazing news! I’m so happy for you and for Kelly. What a blessing that phone call was for you. May her recovery continue to be full of miracles.

    It is a blessing, Mrs. V, and I am thanking God for it. He paid up big time, on this one.
    Annie

    Like

  12. I can’t begin to tell you how happy that I am for you and your friend.

    You don’t have to, I know how happy you are for me. Cuz I know your heart, you big galoot. πŸ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  13. OH !!

    I’ve come back to this Annie !! I felt compeled to come and give a little bit more love and support for Kelly. I can’t imagine what it must have been like for you and all that love this beautiful womam.

    I had tears when you were saying in the hospital ‘It’s Annie – don’t be afraid ‘ Aww!! As you may have gathered I have a such a strong compassion to care for people when in need.What ever that need may be.

    The power of prayer, the power of a God, the power of the people that loved her in a prayer ring – what ever that is – never experienced that and the power like you said of millions of people, who don’t even know her but loved her and prayer for her because you asked them to. aww!!

    Obviously Kelly is a real special person and God wanted her here, for her friends for her family and for the power of her love.

    I’m loving Kelly so much here – sorry for rambeling, I loved it when you said you spoke to her in the hospital and it was for you to.

    KELLY, You little special treasure, I’m loving you and rooting for you coz your friend Annie asked me to.

    Smiles,love,care and a comftable recovery to you sweetheart.

    (((((((( Kelly & Annie )))))))

    I can’t imagine what you phone call with her was like. I would imagine it to be like heaven.

    Di X

    Oh Di, you’re such an intuitive person. You really can see through to people’s hearts, can’t you? I love tht about you. Thank you for your love and caring and understanding how much this means to me.

    Love
    Annie

    Like

  14. I am behind on reading blogs and this is the last one I am reading tonight. It’s almost 3:00AM. I guess I ended up saving the best for last. I couldn’t sleep. Maybe now I will, knowing that there is a wonderful person out there who’s alive because her time here isn’t over. I am so happy for her, her family and her friends and if course for you because you have your friend back.

    You said it, Joanie, her time isn’t over. Thank God!!!!!! Thanks sweetie. Thanks.
    Annie

    Like

  15. Annie, this is wonderful news! I am so happy for you and for Kelly and her family. Bless you all!

    Oh thanks, Sandra. It is such happy news, isn’t it? Whenever anyone comes back from a terrible event – even happier when it touches you personally.
    Annie

    Like

  16. The. Best. News. Ever! Thoughts and prayers will continue for her physical recovery. **joins you in a little jumping up and down for joy**

    Aw thanks, Teens – whoo that was fun – but I feel a little giddy and dizzy now. πŸ˜† It really is the best news ever, isn’t it? Best news of my life. To be sure. πŸ™‚
    Annie

    Like

  17. I have always believed that all prayers are answered, one way or another – and “Yes” is always on the list of possible answers.

    This is wonderful news indeed.

    Thanks, CG – and gee golly am I glad the answer was yes. A resounding yes! I’m so thrilled and happy. LOL – she is already talking about how we’re all going to Disneyland in March. What a pisser, that girl is, eh? πŸ™‚
    Annie

    Like

  18. Just another hug for,

    (((((Kelly and Annie)))))

    Annie.. I quess I’ve experienced the power of prayer, my membership to the fellowship of NA, I kinda know how groups work and the power of the group. I’m intrested to know what you mean here when you say ;

    ‘Not long after the accident, I flew to Seattle to help in whatever way I could and to join the literally hundreds of other people who knew and loved Kelly in a massive prayer chain to bring her through this catastrophe and give her back to us.’

    If you’ve got time sometime could you please explain to me what you mean by ‘prayer chain’. I feel so touched by this.

    I quess we are in a prayer cahin now arn’t we, thinking about her, sending her our love, feeling her and willing her life. Yes ! Annie, I do feel things and get so touched by situations like this and the love that people have for their friends.We don’t want our friends to die do we.

    Your a special friend. I bet Kelly can’t wait to see you, give you one of her big smiles.

    From the heart

    (((((Kelly & Annie)))))

    Di.

    Hey Di,
    Well, as near as I can figure out a prayer chain is just a lot of people praying for the same thing or person. I think they use the term chain because despite distance and location, each person kind of links to another by asking their friends to also pray. In Kelly’s case she is part of a large network of home schooling moms, girlscout moms and various other groups. There really are literally hundreds of people in her own circle who are praying, pitching in, visiting, helping with the children. It’s so uplifting to see such a sense of community in this day and age. Makes you realize, people really do care about one another.

    Love
    Annie

    Like

  19. Aww!!!

    I kinda figured she was truly special. I felt it. We all are – but some just seem to ooze specialness don’t they in a way thats clearly visable and felt( Yes ! through the computer ) You can see her love in her girls eyes and smiles. You can just feel it.

    A member of all those groups eh ! I can imagine the impact she has in her circle. What a woman. Another amazing woman – smiling. I’m going to love this woman through this circle right here right now.

    Wow!! Thank God and the power of the prayer to Him in what ever way her loved ones and strangers of loved ones prayer for her. Aww! the community spirit and the love. How amazing is that.

    I hope you know that she’ll be back with even more LOVE,STRENGTH,CARE,AND HOPE.Back with a vengance. Hehe!! Will you be ready for her. ?

    Annie – I never knew you had all this pain and worry. I never knew about your friend Kelly. I’m glad I do now – I can pray for her and send her love and I can pray for you to and send you love.

    (((((((((( The Chain ))))))))))).

    Thanks for the explanation.

    Hey Di,
    You’re right about that – she will be back with even more determination and strength. This girl is one strong woman, make no mistake. I know that your prayers have helped her and continue to do so, everyone of you who even had a kind thought about her for just a moment has helped her. She is overwhelmed and so grateful to everyone who has done anything from prayers to chicken soup to help her or her family and humbled by all of it. But that’s my Kelly, so real and true, it hurts.

    I’m sorry Di, I thought you knew about this and it’s not that I was trying to keep it from anyone, just that we all have things that hurt us deeply – my pain is no more special than anyone else’s and honestly I’d rather make people laugh than cry, you know?

    Love
    Annie

    Like

  20. I mean that I was intimidated by the severity of her accident and I didn’t know what to say in a comment. I’m really glad that she is still herself, just like you had hoped, and that she will be there for her girls.

    Hey Windy,
    I see what you mean – yes, the whole situation was/is intimidating in that way. And too, what can you say? I’m glad too that she’s coming back to herself, it is an enormous relief. I’ll tell her all my bloggy buds say, ‘hi’ πŸ™‚
    Annie

    Like

  21. So wonderful to hear that Kelly pulled through and is back from the clutches of death. It just had to be–Kelly’s will to survive was so strong and she was surrounded by such loyal friends, like you Annie, praying for her recovery. It’s truly amazing and a miracle to overcome such overwhelming odds. What a tremendous relief this must be for you. I know how much you care.

    Love,

    PG

    Hey You!
    So good to see you hear. Yeah, it’s great isn’t it? I’m so jazzed and relieved and happy about it, I simply don’t know what to do with myself.

    Got your email, sure, no problem. Expect a response later today.

    Love
    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

