I Want – Theme Fridays

I want to feel safe in a world gone prefectly mad. I want people to recognize that we are all here together and it could be an amazing adventure if we let it. I want people to be kinder to each other, to pass on the opportunity to have the upper hand and not have to always be right.

I want music, poetry and art to be created from the heart again, without a thought given to the demographics. I want children to go to sleep on full stomachs in warm, clean beds. I want to quit being manipulated by groups with vested interests, especially the ones who tout their ‘good causes.’ I want people who play games to move to their own island and leave the rest of us alone. I want people to value themselves and others more. I want natural disasters to just be the result of weather with no political affiliations.

I want chocolate for breakfast and for men to see all women as the lovely creatures they are and to cherish them. I want women to stop wanting to be men and to give the balls back to their rightful owners.

I want technology to stop – and take a breath – so that we can. I want teenagers to find meaning in books and art and personal relationships instead of their cell phones. I want old people to be respected and revered for their wisdom and experience. I want humor to be funny without being mean.

I want leaders who lead because they have the best interest of their citizens at heart instead of just the ability to talk a good game. I want children to have parents who love them and keep them safe but also teach them the lessons of life. I want every human being on this earth to feel happiness and joy and to put that above things and power.

I want people to say what they mean and mean what they say. I want anyone who can talk out of both sides of their mouth to go work for the circus, not my government. I want to fight the good fight when I have to but I don’t ever want to have to.

I want us all to realize that we are sentient beings and that the way to change things is by changing ourselves – that the answers are not ‘out there’ but rather ‘in here.’

And Christine wants and Jess wants

13 thoughts on “I Want – Theme Fridays

  1. “..for men to see all women as the lovely creatures they are and to cherish them. I want women to stop wanting to be men and to give the balls back to their rightful owners.”

    I adore these lines. I agree so completely…I wish women would see their value, and realize that they deserve to be treated as such.

    Your writing is so honest, Annie. I really like this piece.

    Hey Jess,
    I wondered what people would think of those two lines – I thought to remove them but then it’s how I honestly feel and it would have been dishonest to take them out. Obviously, we share the same opinion on it. I’m glad.

    Thanks darling.

    Love
    Annie

    Like

  2. And I, my dear friend, want to live in this world you speak of….
    🙂
    great Friday post.
    hugs,
    kim

    Hey my girl!
    How are you this fine early morning? I’d like us all to live there – it would be grand, it would be great, wouldn’t it?

    Love & hugs,
    Annie

    Like

  3. Well thought out and beautifully written, Annie. It was interesting to see all three takes this time – I think they were each different but also very similar, you know? “I want women to stop wanting to be men and to give the balls back to their rightful owners” – Such a great point here. If women could feel content that men were taking our best interests into consideration, we wouldn’t have to grow our own sets. There are some really awesome guys out there though. I know cuz I have one! Lucky me! 🙂

    Yes, you are lucky, Teens. Never doubt that. I actually hated this piece at first but it grew on me. I’m glad I decided to go with it.
    Hugs,
    Annie

    Like

  4. Since I do cherish all women for the lovely creatures that they are, I suppose that you want me. 😉

    Great post darlin’.

    Yes, dear, I’ve wanted you my entire life. Now what do we do? 😉
    Annie

    Like

  5. Just THE thing to read on a late Friday afternoon.

    As Evyl said: great post.

    Thanks, Spaz. Looks like you’ve had some interesting adventures of your own lately. Glad you had such a good time and went for it. Now…when are you coming to L.A….exactly? 😉
    Annie

    Like

  6. Hey Annie,

    This would truly be a Heaven on earth if it were truly that way..would it not?

    This is beautifully written. It quickly gets to the point where everyone can easily understand the longing no matter their reading abilities, while at the same time it almost seems lyrical. Yep, I hear a song coming on.

    Have to admit, I almost spewed my coffee when you said “I want women to stop wanting to be men and to give the balls back to their rightful owners.” Whoo hoo but all so true!

    I would love chocolate for breakfast but most especially for us all to see that the only change really begins in me. So your last line was right on with my feelings..You go girl!

    Your #1 fan

    Aw Ange,
    You humble me with your ‘atta girls’ thank you. It would be a wonderful place wouldn’t it? And yep, it starts with each of us, I really believe it’s true. Seems the ‘balls’ line got a lot of people’s attention – lol – I expected to get smacked around a little on that one and I was happily surprised not to have been.

    So good to see you bopping around again, my friend.

    Love
    Annie

    Like

  7. And this is why I love you.

    Loving you Di.

    PS. This is my shortest commet ever in my blogging life but says it all. X

    Thanks, honey. Sometimes a few words say it all, eh?

    Love
    Annie

    Like

  8. Re: and for men to see all women as the lovely creatures they are and to cherish them. I want women to stop wanting to be men and to give the balls back to their rightful owners. – nice! Potentially controversial, but nice. I whole heartedly agree. I love exuding female energy and I love the Lion exuding male energy. Not to be confused with being subservient on the woman’s part, or macho on the man’s part. I just mean the perfect equal balance of male and female energy. Good for you, Annie!

    Absolutely Panther, perfect balance – it’s all what we’re seeking I think. Attaining it is another matter perhaps but I think the desire is there.
    Annie

    Like

  9. I love what Urban Panther said and what A-mum said about wants and needs.

    Wants & Needs Umm !!!

    I don’t know if this sounds arragant or not but I don’t want anything other than what I’ve got on a personal level. Oh yer ! I want to fall in love with a man – Smiling, How could I forget that.

    Yes ! I want to be a woman to a man – do I need that ? I think I do Yes ! In fact thinking about it I need and want everything which in my case always amounts to nothing – it really does. I’m happy.

    Thanks for this lovely post annie

    I’d like to make some worldy changes around addiction and recovery, around poverty war and abuse – I would.

    I love these words Annie

    I want every human being on this earth to feel happiness and joy and to put that above things and power.

    And these words

    I want to quit being manipulated by groups with vested interests, especially the ones who tout their ‘good causes.

    I know that I NEED and WANT love and I NEED and WANT to give love – in all its forms.

    Di X

    And you do, sweetie, you really do. We all love you. Don’t you know that?
    Love
    Annie

    Like

  10. I want all that too. Let me know if you find it.

    Maybe if we all take one step at a time in the direction that we want others will follow us and change will happen. Is that possible or just idealistic???? I like to think that with some things it is possible.

    You know, Gem, we often seem of a like mind. I don’t think that is idealistic at all. I think it’s completely and utterly possible. I wish others did – then we’d probably see some real miracles.
    Annie

    Like

  11. Those are all wonderful things to want, and I agree with you.

    Hey Mrs. V!
    Started school yet? Exhausted? Yes, they are lovely things and I’m hoping we all get them some day.
    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

