Play Ball!

So my little sister, Kathy was in town over the weekend. She comes out once a year to see friends, she once lived out here and then ultimately decided to go back to Michigan and make her permanent home there. Anyway, usually when she comes out we meet have a long lunch and then that’s it. This time out however, I suggested we try doing something more fun than a house salad and iced tea at the Black Cow.

She was receptive to the idea and we decided we’d take in a ballgame. She took care of getting the tickets and scaring up other chums to join us and all was cool. A few days later I got an email from her husband asking me to call her because of course she didn’t have my phone number with her. So, I took down the number and made the call. Now, you have to understand that Kath lives in the Detroit area and I always forget how much more direct they are out there, it’s been so long since I lived there and I’ve lived in California for pretty much all of my adult life – you know land of the nuts and twigs where everything is just nice and easy? Anyway, I call her cell and get her message which goes like this -“This is Kathy, you got my cell phone, leave a message. Good bye.” If I were to explain the tone though the message would have been more like: “this is Kathy, you wanna make something out that? So, you wanna leave a message, huh? Well go ahead, I dare ya!” I swear I was laughing so hard I could hardly leave the message. But that’s my sis, God love her, she is nothing if not direct.

So, she gets in town we have a nice breffy on Saturday morning – she asks if I want to join her at the LaBrea Tar Pits, which I decline because I have work to do and we part company. Sunday, is game day and her friend Dar comes by my house (since she lives nearby) so Kath can just swing by and pick us both up because still after four years it is a mystery to her how to get around my little burg – not sure why since there is only one main road and is quite a small little place but it just causes her problems. So Dar comes over we have coffee and some toast and chat away, waiting for Kath. The game is at one and it’s nearly noon so we’re wondering. Sure enough the phone rings and “I’m lost, pick up the phone, where are you – hello, hello, helloooooo?” Okay, pick up the phone, yes turn around, hang a right at the Starbuck’s – okay see you in a minute.”

All right then finally she’s there, we all pile into the car and we’re off. As we’re driving toward the 5 she says, โ€˜now how do you get to Dodger Stadium again? Should we be on the 5 or the 2?’ She says this to a car full of women who of course have no fricking idea where we are going. We resolve in the end to stay on the 5 because the 5 leads to all things in Southern California and we figure we’ll see the signs for the stadium. Well as soon as we start to see them then traffic comes to a halt and it takes about 35 minutes to just get off the off ramp to the stadium and another 10 to get the half mile to the stadium, people racing up the turn lane and cutting in front which pisses her off more.

At last we reach the stadium, park in the lower 40 and start the half mile hike to the stadium – when we’re just to the gates she remembers she’s forgotten her camera and wants to go back but oh no, we won’t let her. Then through the three bag checks and ticket showing, blah blah. Okay, so here’s the thing we entered at the exact opposite of where we should have, so we walk the entire length of the stadium only to discover we are on the 7th level, up the escalators, into the cramped elevator and at last we find our section, then down to almost the bottom where we find our seats smack dab in the middle of the row. Which is fine for us – not so much for the people who have to stand up during our constant comings and goings.

So I sit down and I say to Dar and Chris at the end of the first inning – โ€˜okay, well we aren’t going to get any real action til the 7th inning and then it will be neck in neck and then we’ll go into extra innings.’ This is a thing I do – predict ball games. Don’t know why but it just comes into my head and I say it. As the game progressed and my prediction became truer and truer, my seat mates kept glaring at me and saying, โ€˜God, can’t you let them score already?” I assured them I only predicted I didn’t have the power to intercede. It was good though because that gave us plenty of time to go and buy stuff and visit the bathroom and smoke a couple of cigarettes. I had my hotdog and beer for a mere $15 dollars. Yup, beer was 12 ounces and cost $8 – hey somebody has to pay those salaries right? So we sat in the sweltering sun – watched inning after innning with no runs, over and over. It did start to get a little interesting but by the bottom of the 9th Kathy says, if they don’t score by the end of this inning you want to go? Of course we did, we are girls after all and none of us really had a horse in the race -so yeah, we were game for leaving. Sure enough no runs so up we got, promising the people on the aisle it was our last departure from the seats and we started for the exits. Of course the other three had to hit the ladies room first – go figure. Then just as we got to the car we heard the crowd going ape shit, which probably meant that somebody scored and since the Dodgers were playing their arch rivals the Giants I’m assuming it was the Dodgers who scored. Ironically, we didn’t bother to turn the radio on when we got in the car to see who scored or if anyone scored, the ball game now just being a thing of the past and air conditioning and finding a frozen margarita far more parmount in our minds.

And that my friends is how four women enjoy a baseball game. Oh and the magaritas were divine. And I still don’t know who won that game. ๐Ÿ˜‰

7 thoughts on “Play Ball!

  1. Oh, I’d have to stay and watch it all. But, sure sounds like you ladies had a great time. Traffic to those places can suck, ESPECIALLY when a-holes come rushing up in the side lane to sneak ahead. That gets me bothered too!

    Hey Bella,
    Well you know if I had a team I was really rooting for I probably would have stayed too – but neither one really did much for me and seriously it was a real snooze fest, all the way through the 9th ending. You have to be a real die-hard to sit and watch grass grow as the innings whiz by, you know? ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  2. Hey Annie!

    Great story and I applaud you girls for sticking it out to the end ๐Ÿ™‚ I love baseball and stadium hotdogs are the best in the world! When I watch games on the tube, I normally flip the channels between the game and something else (news, old movie, another game), which I suppose would be the armchair equivalent to continually getting up-and-down from my seat (except I don’t have people rolling their eyes and swearing at me under their breath).

    Incidentally, if it was this past Sunday’s game, I agree, it was a bit of a snoozer, but the the Giants pulled it out in the 11th (1-0). That’s coming off a Dodger win Saturday (10-7).

    – JOS

    Well hey JOS! How the heck are you? I love baseball too, actually and I”d love to have a team I could root for but since I only get local televison channels the only teams I can follow are here and none of them do much for me. I miss the good ol’ days of baseball when players stuck with a team for their entire careers and going to the park to watch the boys of summer was a fun, cheap form of entertainment and camraderie. That hotdog was super delish though, I will admit. Oh cool, so it was wise of us to leave rather than sit in the broiling sun and watch the Giants eke out their pathetic 1-0 win. LOL, thanks for the score update. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  3. AH! sounds like a blast! I wanna go next time, ‘K?

    ==>”we are girls after all and none of us really had a horse in the race”

    OF COURSE!

    Hey C!
    Any time you are in L.A. you’ve got a date. Ooh and there is really good shopping too. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  4. I would have gone to the game but would have done the same as you–left early for Margaritaville!!
    My sister’s message on her phone is “Leave a message”. That’s it. I’ve been super busy so don’t think I’m neglecting you!! Love you as always!!

    Hugs and Jugs
    Joan

    There’s my girl – all right margaritaville here we come. ๐Ÿ˜‰ It’s so funny what people put on their answering machines, isnt it?

    No worries, I figured you have a lot going on right now. Love you too.

    hugs & jugs,
    Annie

    Like

  5. Aw, the time you gals had together is more important than the game after all and it sounds like you had a good time. Mmmm. Margaritas!

    Hey Teens,
    Yeah, I think so too. The game would have been more fun if there’d been more going on. Apparently the Giants won anyway – grrrrr – so I’m glad I didn’t stay to see that. Magaritas yummy! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  6. I enjoy baseball by not going. LOL. I would’ve started and stayed with the margaritas, but then that’s just me. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Glad you had a good time.

    Oh baseball is great when you’re really rooting for a team. Although I have to admit, it is the only sport I truly understand. I can’t bear to watch football because I can hear the bones crunching and basketball???? How is that fun to watch?
    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

