A "Bail-Out" Plan I Could Get Behind

(My friend Jenny sent this in an email – it’s a thought????)

The Federal Reserve is a private company as are those receiving the proposed stolen money on Wall Street. They do not work for us. The Treasury Secretary is from Goldman Sachs. Per USA today, Chris Dodd, Chair of the Senate Banking Committee, has received over $13 million from financial services lobbyists, and a total of over $43 million from all lobbyists. You think he can make a unprejudiced decision?

We all must act now to stop the greatest heist in history!

OKAY YOU ECONOMISTS, AND SMART NUMBER CRUNCHERS WHAT DO YOU THINK OF THIS PROPOSAL!!!

Are you against the $85,000,000,000.00 bailout of AIG? Me too!

Instead, give $85,000,000,000 to Americans in a We Deserve It Dividend. To make the math simple, let’s assume there are 200,000,000 Bona fide U.S. Citizens 18+.

Our population is about 301,000,000 +/- counting every man, woman and child. So 200,000,000 might be a fair stab at adults 18 and up…

So divide 200 million adults 18+ into $85 billon that equals $425,000.00.

The plan is to give $425,000 to every person 18+ as a We Deserve It Dividend.

Of course, it would NOT be tax free.

So let’s assume a tax rate of 30%.

Every individual 18+ has to pay $127,500.00 in taxes.

That sends $25,500,000,000 right back to Uncle Sam.

But it means that every adult 18+ has $297,500.00 in their pocket.

A husband and wife has $595,000.00.

What would you do with $297,500.00 to $595,000.00 in your family?

Pay off your mortgage – housing crisis solved.

Repay college loans – what a great boost to new grads

Put away money for college – it’ll be there

Save in a bank – create money to loan to entrepreneurs.

Buy a new car – creates jobs!!

Invest in the market – capital drives growth

Pay for your parent’s medical insurance – health care improves

Enables Deadbeat Dads to come clean – or else

Remember this is for every adult U S Citizen 18+ including the folks who lost their jobs at Lehman Brothers and every other company that is cutting back. And of course, for those serving in our Armed Forces. If we’re going to re-distribute wealth let’s really do it…instead of trickling out a puny $1000.00 ( “vote buy” ) economic incentive that is being proposed by one of our candidates for President. If we’re going to do an $85 billion bailout, let’s bail out every adult U S Citizen 18+!

As for AIG – liquidate it. Sell off its parts. Let American General go back to being American General. Sell off the real estate. Let the private sector bargain hunters cut it up and clean it up. Here’s the rationale. We deserve it and AIG doesn’t. Sure it’s a crazy idea that can “never work.” But can you imagine the Coast-To-Coast Block Party! How do you spell Economic Boom? I trust my fellow adult Americans to know how to use the $85 Billion -We Deserve It Dividend more than do the geniuses at AIG or in Washington DC. And remember, This plan only really costs $59.5 Billion because $25.5 Billion is returned instantly in taxes to Uncle Sam.

************************************

And just in case, that doesn’t ring your chimes, go here to watch a ridiculous video created by a friend of mine who has way too much time on his hand. 😉

15 thoughts on “A "Bail-Out" Plan I Could Get Behind

  1. Nice writing style. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Chris Moran

    Hi Chris,
    I can’t really take credit for the writing style here, as I didn’t write it. It was sent to me in an email by a friend – I just thought it was an interesting and far too logical solution to the problem. 🙂
    WC

    Like

  2. Sweetheart I don’t really know whats going on. I’ve just heard something about your president and 7000 million trilliaa zillion pounds or soemthing like that and its going to be the end of the world.

    I hope we can keep smiling.
    Love
    Di.

    Hey Di,
    Yes, I’ve heard that too – though how the American taxpayers bailing out the financial industry will end the world, I haven’t the slightest clue. It seems people in other countries have this idea that the money will somehow come out of their pockets, which is completely nuts – how would that happen? I mean seriously when was the last time any country gave foreign aide to the United States? No, no, it is we who keep bailing out other countries, not the other way around.

    Love
    Annie

    Like

  3. WRITER CHICK ~Annie~ for PRESIDENT! Love this, you know how to put it straight- and the video is hilarious!

    Hey Bella!
    Wasn’t that video a scream? I almost pissed myself laughing. 😆
    Annie

    Like

  4. Now THAT’s an interesting plan!

    Of course any bail out isn’t going to do much good long term unless they reform the credit system and stop allowing financial instutions to give credit to people who can’t afford it.

    Hey Bettina,
    Yes, I agree and ironically the Bush Administration has been trying to reform the financial industry for years, but have been consistently blocked by the Dems who control our House and Senate. A lot of people will blame Bush because apparently he is the reason for all evil in the world, according to some, but the fact is that our Congress has more causation in what happens to the economy then any president has. Also too, if you ask any economist about upturns and downturns in the economy, they will tell that downturns pretty consistently happen every 7-9 years. So, this is no surprise to me, actually. A lot of people forget the ‘dotcom bubble’ bursting under Clinton’s watch – in fact, that time period threw me personally into financial disaster and had some pretty long lasting effects. But you see, whenever this stuff happens under a liberal president it somehow isn’t as bad as it is when a conservative president is in office. Go figure.

    Annie

    Like

  5. I askeed Dubya to put your plan in place WC.
    Why do these idiots like the one’s here in MA keep putting bozo’s like Barney(I never met a weiner I didn’t like) Frank in office anyway 😉

    Hey Ger,
    And what did Dubya say? 😉 As to Barney Frank, crap I don’t have a clue how he ever got in office. You guys have my sympathy.
    Annie

    Like

  6. I was going to say just about what you said to Bettina. Right on!

    I laughed a little too hard and long at the video dear…as you almost..well, I did!

    Hugs

    Hey There my little rabble rouser! I know, doesn’t it piss you up the wall about how much people are ‘freakin out’ over this? I’m not thrilled but shit man, we survived the dotcom bubble and nobody had a problem with Clinton saving their heinies and a top tax bracket of 39% – oh no, that was ‘good’ economy, right? Gimme a break.

    That video just killed me. My friend probably would be a great president, as well as several bloggers I know. I’d kind of like to see you and the Grit run for office. We’d have some awesome videos and kick ass going on if that happened, eh?

    Love
    Annie

    Like

  7. Annie,

    This is a plan I could certainly get behind; the American people could certainly put this money to better use than the government!

    Unfortunately, our government has established a system that favors and even rewards poor decision-making. So, why should anyone care? After all, if one makes poor financial decisions by improperly accounting for the economic risks that cause one’s bank to go bankrupt, the government will pay to bail him or her out. Today we live under an economic and political system where need is a blank check and risk is nationalized.

    I wish our lawmakers in Washington would leave it alone. A market economy works if you let it! Ayn Rand must be turning in her grave.

    Hey JOS,
    Right on! ‘need is a blank check and risk is nationalized’ Ain’t that the truth? How about it everybody, are we glad that we gave control of Congress to the Dems? It sure changed things, didn’t it?

    Leaving things along, unfortunately, is not in Congress’s lexicon. They have to make sure that their stock values don’t go down, you know? Nothing like vested interest to get you motivated, eh?

    Ayn and many others I’m sure are turning in their graves. When will people wake up and realize that voting for somebody who promises to ‘take care’ of them is going to end up with them really being taken care of – and not in a good way? Jeez.

    Annie

    Like

  8. Hi Annie,

    I’ve seen that bit before and it’s interesting, except that the math is wrong. 85 billion divided by 200 million is 425, not 425,000. And now you know why my army skill placement test came back with clerk. Speaking of which, do they still give that test to high school students?

    the Grit

    Hey Grit,
    My math tells me it 4250 – which is still a chunk of change and actually I thought we were starting out with 700 billion. Oh well, that’s what I get for not reading closely enough. Though I must say I like the spirit of the idea. I have no idea what they are doing with high school students these days – except that they seem to be constantly upgrading the metal detectors in the auditorium. 😉
    Annie

    Like

  9. Hey – this is the best plan I’ve seen so far! We can write you in, right?

    LOL Teens, oh yeah, write me in, baby. We’ll get that new blogger legislation happening – the one where all bloggers pay no federal income tax because they add to the dialogue of the universe. 😉
    Annie

    Like

  10. Count me in. 😀 Interesting perspective. I hadn’t heard that one before.

    Hey Mrs. V,
    Neither had I – but Grit assures me the math is wrong. 😦 However, the concept I think sends us in the right direction, eh?

    Annie

    Like

  11. Math like that just makes me dizzy, which is why I don’t question it.
    Problem with that is that it also makes most politicians dizzy, which is why they don’t question the math of the few selected that come up with number plans.
    Second problem is, that journalists don’t feel too confident about numbers like that, and so they regurgitate what the official press releases say, and regurgitate does not mean question.
    Third problem is, that most audiences also buy it at face value.
    Let’s just pray that the few who came up with this plan understand, and that it’s really what America needs.
    Have to say this bail out thing leaves me feeling rather skeptical. I know how long it takes to find a good solution to a problem at our office. This problem is much larger and yet the solution was on the table rather quickly. If it was that easy to fix in the first place, why didn’t anybody come up with it earlier? Well, at least it didn’t cost that much……
    Nice post Annie.

    Hey Spaz,
    Actually dear, this was something that was sent to me which I just cut and paste. It’s a bit tongue in cheek – satire if you will. As to the bail out – I say not one red cent should go to private industry to bail them out. They screw up, they pay the price is my philosophy. If I make an error in my accounting, Congress doesn’t write me a blank check – so just because the mortgage industry screwed up bigger doesn’t make it okay for me to bail them out, along with every other taxpayer. We have to stop thinking of the ‘government’ as mommy and daddy and start being accountable for our own mistakes. Frankly, I think half these jokers should be thrown in jail for fraud. But then, that’s me.
    Annie

    Like

  12. Hi Annie,

    The 700 billion, or so, is to bailout the upper strata of the banking industry. The 85 billion is to bailout AIG which is a single large insurance company. There was also something around 20 billion in a separate bill that goes to help keep our automobile industry afloat. That tiny amount was mostly lost from view in the shadow of the two larger giveaways. What a grand time it would be to have friends in Congress.

    the Grit

    the Grit´s last blog post..Political Thought II

    Hey Grit,
    Dang! Ain’t that the truth? I better check my rolladex just in case I do know someone in Congress. 😉
    Annie

    Like

  13. I’m all for it. Sounds sort of like giving every citizen in America the equivalent of a smaller MacArthur “genius” grant.

    Yes, we are ALL geniuses . . .

    Hey I’m with you, Marianne, we are all geniuses – especially compared to members of Congress. 🙄

    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

