Are You Lucky?

Is it possible that one thing can change everything? One moment, one realization, one person, one event? I’m beginning to think that maybe it can. While I consider myself a realist I am also a closet optimist. I like to be real and honest but I also think life is nothing without hope and the faith that there is at least the promise that something wonderful is always possible.

We spend our day to day lives fighting traffic, arguing politics, bemoaning our bills and missed opportunities and it’s hard, folks, to step back from that and unentangle yourself from the mess. But every now and then something wonderful does happen, unexpected, smack-you-upside-the-head, never-saw-that-coming wonderful – and if we still have a brain left in our heads we grab it. And we’d better, because it doesn’t happen everyday – sometimes it doesn’t even happen every year.

For all the ‘bad luck’ that I have unearthed this year in particular – the worry, grief, frustration that has seemed to be the constant landscape of my life – some little kernel of light stayed alive in the back of my mind because I have been lucky most of my life. In big ways and small ways, unexpected ways, delightful ways, suprising ways. So I knew my luck would return to me. And it has.

But I think too that luck has a lot more to do with us, ourselves and how we think and what we think. If we walk around believing that our luck is gone, good things don’t happen, we don’t deserve it, etc., etc. then I think that’s what we get. Conversely if we walk around believing that it’s there, that it belongs to us, that we deserve it then anything is possible, the most amazing things are possible, often times things that are beyond what we dare to wish for.

And so my friends a little word of advice, never doubt your luck and never believe it has left you – because it’s always there, waiting to deliver. I promise.

13 thoughts on “Are You Lucky?

  1. Funny how I kind of tip-toed around this in my last entry…

    From Beau Sia:
    The future is guaranteed. See what I said? Guaranteed. It must be so. I wouldn’t want to send you into the chaotic questioning of “What if the decisions I’m making aren’t making the future I want.” Relax. Everything is going to be OK.

    Matthew Dryden´s last blog post..Stepping On Skipping Stones

    Hey Matt, (promise I am going to get by your site soon)
    Well I don’t know who Beau Sia is…. but I don’t agree with him/her at all. But I will say I think one has to know the future they want before they can get it. Don’t you think?
    WC

    Like

  2. I think it is very much dependant on how we see the world. I found this very true with my last partner. I would look at and event and see at the very least potential, if not wonderful things. He would look at the exact same event and see problems and horrible things. And although we were living the same life events he always complained that life pooped on him.

    I always knew that there was a better person and better life out there somewhere for me. So, I kept my eyes open, so I wouldn’t miss out. BINGO! Found it.

    Luck? Perhaps. But is says a lot about who you are. You go, girl!

    Urban Panther´s last blog post..Youthful optimism

    Hey Panther,
    I had a feeling this post might speak to you. Your example is perfect, how we view things has so much to do with what we get from life, doesn’t it? I really believe that. Isn’t it strange too how two people can virtually go through the same experience and yet have completely different takes on what happened? Wild.

    Annie

    Like

  3. so very true, how we see the world affects how the world sees us and interacts with us … luck is part of that πŸ™‚

    darlene´s last blog post..coffee break

    Hi Dar!!
    How are you my lovely? Yes how we see things – it’s the trick, it’s the secret. πŸ˜‰
    xo Annie

    Like

  4. Hi Annie,

    I’m either lucky or cursed or both. All the facts aren’t in yet. I’ll let you know when there’s a definite winner.

    the Grit

    the Grit´s last blog post..Political Thought II

    Hi Grit,
    My feeling is that you probably are a pretty lucky guy – yup I really do think so. πŸ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  5. Thankyou.

    It’s been a rough couple of weeks here and I needed this reminder. πŸ™‚

    Bettina´s last blog post..Home-made Projects

    Hey Bettina!
    Sorry you’ve been have a couple of rough patches – that can be tough – but the luck is around the corner, I’m feeling it. Hang in there, sweetie.
    Hugs
    Annie

    Like

  6. I guess I mostly misquoted Beau Sia. He sounded much, much more sarcastic in my head. He went on to say something like:

    Behold! My nanotechnology can show you your future! You! You will win the lottery before the end of all lotteries, keep working for someone else until them!

    You! You will find your true love someday! Keep settling until then!

    And you! You will become the best at whatever it is you want to be without having to try at all.

    And more on that like. You can check it out on YouTube to get a better understanding of what I’m trying to say. Search out “Back to the Now.”

    Hey Matthew,
    LOL – thanks for the explanation but I think I’m more lost than before. Suffice to say you have a very original approach – it may take me a little bit to get grooved in on that. πŸ˜‰
    WC

    Like

  7. Shoooooooooot! I don’t like to think of it as “luck” per say….

    I wonder what I am then? Cuz I usually just don’t expect for a thing, and when it happens, it’s a pleasant surprise and I just take it all in! Loving and cherishing every moment.

    I’m just not feeling the word “luck” tonight. So, if something doesn’t go my way, it’s BAD LUCK???

    Hmph, I’m confused… love me. Just love me.

    javaqueen14´s last blog post..What is love?

    Hey Bella,
    I don’t necessarily mean this is a super literal way, because I suppose luck infers chance. I think what I’m getting at here is that we make our own luck. It’s not about expectations so much as about loving our lives and knowing that the good things really are there for us and will come when the time is right. You know?
    Love
    Annie

    Like

  8. Hi Annie,

    Great post. I love how you write. Lucky, I’m feel to be the most luckiest girl in the world, I honestly do, that doesn’t mean I don’t have terribly confusing days with my luckiness and with my unluckiness so to speak.

    Yes I think its how we see the world,I’m wonderfully lucky and I really do know it. I don’t take luck for granted. I love luck.

    Just believe. Believe your lucky and you will be, For me its all about the belief.
    Love & Luck
    Di

    Hi Sweetie,
    Absolutely…just believe…just believe… That’s the ticket. πŸ™‚
    Love
    Annie

    Like

  9. Hi Annie,

    Love the little love heart thingy at the bottom of the page. I’m thinking what we differenciate as lucky. How we define lucky.

    Would you say a millionare being in love with you and wanting to give you the world was lucky. You see I don’t really look at that as lucky but some of my friends would do.

    I feel lucky that I can smile and love and laugh and feel and all sorts of simple little stuff like that.

    It doesn’t actualy take that much for me to feel lucky.

    I feel lucky that I come here and chat away.
    Luck in muck and love in abundance
    Di

    Hi Di,
    I was looking for the heart thingie and I can’t find it. Where is it? Do you mean the comment luv? You’re right, how we define luck is different from person to person. And for me too, the simplest things in the world can make me feel incredibly lucky and happy. πŸ™‚
    Annie

    Like

  10. Yes I ment the Comment Luv, What a loverly little love heart find. I’m lucky. Hehe!!

    I feel lucky to find love hearts at the bottom of the page and rejoice in their delight.

    Yer Annie, I can feel incerdibly lucky and happy with the smallerst of things, things apparently that a lot of people don’t even notice, my daughter says shes loves that about me, we discussed the same topic but in a different fashion.

    I’ve been quiet lucky in a big thing to and for some reason I never like to talk about it.Funny isn’t.

    I’v not been lucky in love YET. What does lucky in love mean any way.

    I think I’m lucky with love Hehe!!
    Love
    Di

    Hey Di,
    Yeah the comment luv thing – good, I was worried I put a graphic in there without realizing it. πŸ˜‰
    I think someday soon you may be lucky in love. It’s never too late for love, my dear. Trust me.
    Love
    Annie

    Like

  11. I love promises.

    Have a great weekend Annie. oh! So excited going to read theme friday now. OMG ! We have the panther, Argh ! I’m scared.

    Hehe!! Shes lovely isn’t she, I’ve only ever visited her once. I’m a bit funny arn’t I.

    Shes very bing, bang, bong, or bish, bash bosh, hehe! Shes great. It will be intrestibng to read her to.

    Thank you Annieo.
    Love
    Dio.

    I do too, Di. And we’re very excited to have Panther joining us for the themes. She is very bing, bash, bosh – you got it. And a very lovely lady too.
    Love
    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

