Cha-Cha-Changes…

I don’t know about you but I hate change and yet I love it. I love the newness and the excitement and honestly the whole mystery of it. What will it be like, where will I go, who will I meet, what will I see? On the other hand, being the lazy slug that I am, I hate changing anything – sometimes I don’t even change out of my pajamas, especially if it’s cold and the coffee is good and I get involved in something…I can go days just sitting in front of my computer. It’s pathetic really, I didn’t even know who’d been elected until Roomie came home and blurted it out before I could stop him. So see we have your classic love/hate relationship going on with change here.

So what is that all about? Is it simply comfort? We get comfortable with where/how things are and are loathe to alter things because we might have to actually put on our shoes or brush our teeth? Talk to another human being? Have I (we) become incurable couch potatoes? In my case, I suppose the answer would be yes, typically.

However, if I really think about it, this entire year has been all about change for me. Which could account for all my whining and sissy-assed behavior. Things that I always thought would be the same, weren’t. The unthinkable happened to someone I dearly love. Wonderful, surprising things happened that I never could have guessed in a thousand years or believed had someone told me it was going to happen. But more than anything my outlook has changed, it’s definitely more positive and filled with much hope and joy for the future. There is a whole lot more activity going on in the old gray matter – which has sort of had the affect of making me seem like Rain Man’s older sister or something. I laugh a lot more and smile a lot more. Which is really pretty amazing when I consider that a few months ago things seemed awfully glum, terribly sad and even hopeless.

So perhaps I have become an advocate for change. Not just for the sake of the change, I mean I could rearrange the furniture for that – but for new things, good things.

I know most of you are probably scratching your heads and thinking, ‘wtf is she talking about?’ that’s okay too. Maybe I’m just thinking out loud. Bottom line is that one thing, one incident can change everything and maybe that’s the way it’s meant to be. If you ask, it is.

How about you, any good changes happening for you?

12 thoughts on “Cha-Cha-Changes…

  1. You sound excited and I think that is pretty neat. I’m excited and happy for you! Change IS good. Especially if you were glum before! πŸ™‚ Now I’m off to bed. Try to get some rest, Annie! Hugs!

    LOL Teens, rest? What’s that? Yes, excited. So many things to do.
    Love,
    Annie

    Like

  2. Hi Annieo.

    What a lovely positive post. I to worry about change although at the same time get very excited, I was smiling reading I can sit for days in me jarmas if the coffees good. ME TO and feel very comftable and alive with it.

    For me where change is concerned I’ve changed more inside than outside. I’ve got nothing new particular outside of myself happening in my life but whats changed is ME and I’m loving the newness of the change.

    OMG !! How can I forget. Yes something big did happen outside of me that changed me, my new puppy Maggie. I’ve not felt love like this is such a long time, shes new love, I’ve not been kissed or cuddled for such a long time and this little being kisses me and loves me and the espression of the love between us both is so soft and warm.

    I needed soft and warm and I got it in Maggie

    Great post Annie – smile forever and keep shinning.
    love Diane

    Hey Di,
    It is wonderful how a new pet can change your life, as Maggie has done for you. There is nothing better than a sweet, loving puppy, is there? I think I will be smiling for a long time to come.

    Love
    Annie

    Like

  3. When people shake their heads and ask me how I can stand to move so often (I’m living in my 7th house), I always say I’d rather move than clean…

    LOL C, I have to say you have an original approach to everything. Though moving does sound better than cleaning, doesn’t it? πŸ˜†
    Annie

    Like

  4. Change is constant in my life as it is in yours. The difference is the degree of resistance or acceptance. One creates angst while the other creates joy.

    Hey Mark,
    Absolutely, one’s attitude truly makes all the difference, doesn’t it? If I’ve learned nothing else this year, I’ve learned that. And it was a lesson well worth the time and angst spent to get there. πŸ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  5. I’m just happy that you are happy. My changes have been slowly happening over the past 1 1/2 years since my daughter and her husband moved in with me. Therapy has had a big part in helping me realize some of the changes I had to make for myself to be happy. I was just sort of waiting around for someone to make the changes for me. Now I just take what ever comes along my path and work with it. I consider myself a happy person who has a bad day once in a while. Not too shabby. I still have to deal with my son but I don’t take his actions so personally now. I’m just focusing on the good stuff in my life which there is a lot of.

    Gotta go, Sarah just called in her supper order.

    Thanks, Joanie, I am. You know, I think that’s the best way to go about things – focus on the good and forget the rest or at least try not to worry about it, you know? πŸ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  6. No changes for me at this time. And for now that’s a good thing. πŸ˜‰ Change could throw me into a tailspin, LOL.

    Well, heck, we would want a tailspin going on, would we? πŸ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  7. I recently changed to boxer briefs. Does that count?

    It’s good to see you all happy go lucky. Strange but good. I like strange.

    I’m sure it does to your wife, darlin’ πŸ˜‰

    Strange is good, eh? πŸ™‚
    Annie

    Like

  8. I’ve always resisted change because I’m a control freak and like to be in control. If it is a change initiated by yours truly, then it bothers me less than one forced on me. But I’m like you these days wondering if learning to accept change, which is crazy because I just wrote a poem called change like twenty minutes ago, is something I need to try harder to do because change is all around us. Ok, blab over.
    Still waiting on the story.
    love
    kim

    Hey Kimmie,
    Yeah, I’m a bit of a control freak myself, but I’m learning to let go a little. It’s been good for me, so I highly recommend it to others.

    Yeah…the story – it’ll get there. πŸ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

