Road Trip Part Deux

The last time I took a road trip was when I had a huge mental lapse and decided to move to Florida. I did write a post about it but I think I was still suffering post traumatic traveling syndrome when I did. Let me give you the Reader’s Digest version. Bad break up, needed a ‘change’, hey, Florida sounds good. Sold everything I owned, including two antique cherry dressers that I refinished myself, my favorite impressionist print of all time, a great chair and blah blah blah.

I cried when I got to Florida and pretty much cried every day until I left. To say I hated it was putting it mildly. My conclusion about Florida was that it was simply a swamp that the critters were trying to reclaim and as far as I was concerned they were doing a damn good job of it. Did you know that mold grows on everthing there? Seriously. My butter even grew mold on it. That’s just scary.

Anyway, so I quickly put everything in reverse and went running back to California and practically kissed the ground when I crossed the border. I decided at that point that the next time I left California (as I knew I would) that it was going to be for a much better reason – and so there is.

Although there are some similarities, such as I’m selling most of my stuff – hey if you ‘re in the neighborhood, drop by the garage sale – although nothing treasured, strictly utilitarian stuff. I am driving but in a much better, more comfortable car and have a driving partner. There are are a lot of ‘unknowns’ about where I’m going. Never been there – don’t know a thing about it, not really. Of course my trusty pets Maggie and Boodie will be coming along, so I’ll have at least two other friends.

The differences of course, are many. For one thing I’m not running away from anything (except maybe smog and bad drivers). It’s not about becoming invisible, it’s about enriching my life, making my life bigger, better. I’m not surrendering, I’m celebrating.

I have a feeling this will be no repeat of Florida actually it’s more than a feeling – I know it won’t be.
It will be a road trip to remember, punctuated with funny stories, new sights, snap shots, and joy. I can’t wait.

14 thoughts on “Road Trip Part Deux

  1. Have fun! (and if you’re headed to my area of the world, let me warn you that the bad drivers live here, too. OH – and of course, look me up when you get here!?)

    Hey C!
    Yeah I guess bad drivers are everywhere now, eh? Too bad. And I’ll definitely be looking up local bloggers, we could have a real blogfest, eh? ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  2. I haven’t been on a road trip in well, so long I don’t even remember. I envy you your adventures. I went to Florida once on vacation and knew from that I would never want to live there. I guess home is where your heart is. I wish you a wonderful road trip and can’t wait to hear your stories. Maybe someday all us east coast bloggers can have a convention and meet each other. I wish you the best as always

    Hugs and jugs
    Love
    Joanie

    Hey Joanie,
    Yeah Florida is the pits, eh? Home is where the heart is, no doubt about it. I think someday we will have a little blogfest – could be sooner than you think. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    hugs & jugs
    love ya,
    Annie

    Like

  3. I’m looking forward to hearing about some of the new adventures of WriterChick! ๐Ÿ™‚ Sending you good energy and hugs!

    LOL Teens, that sounds like a bad sit-com, doesn’t it? The New Adventures of WC. Thanks for the good energy, I’ll take it. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  4. WOW! Up and moving just like that? I’m impressed, and a bit envious. I lived in Florida for a bit too, and I was never a fan. Do you have a destination in mind, or are you making it up as you go? Are you going to be keeping up posted, or will this be the last post for a while? Will these questions get answered? Will we be left wondering? Am I asking too many questions? ๐Ÿ˜› Stay safe and enjoy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Hey Spidey!
    A-yup, I am.

    1. Yes, we have an actual destination
    2. Yes, I will keep you posted.
    3. My last post will be Tuesday or Wednesday, then I’ll have a few guest posts and then I’ll be back, God willing and internet connection.
    4. No, you won’t be left wondering.
    5. Yes, you are asking too many questions. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Thanks, we will. It’s all good.

    Annie

    Like

  5. Hi Annie,

    Sounds like hell to me, but I’m not much of a traveler. I suspect, however, that you’ll have a better time than my wife and I did driving from Memphis to Saskatoon, Saskatchewan in a 1964 Volkswagen Beetle, in the middle of summer, with no air conditioning and only an AM radio. The leg of the trip through the Badlands of South Dakota was really memorable. If you pass that way, make sure you stop at Wall Drugs. Don’t worry, you’ll see the signs.

    Drive safe.

    the Grit

    Hey Grit,
    Well traveling for extensive periods in a car can be a bitch – but we’re going to break up the trip a bit by stopping off to see family and maybe some friends too. Depends on the momentum and so forth. I’m happy to report my car has comfy leather seats, a working heater and air conditioner, an fm radio and cd player, and a moon roof, with power everything – plus a double cup holder – so I think we’ll be as comfy as one can be. Don’t know if we’ll be swinging thru the Dakotas or not but I’ll keep a lookout.

    Thanks.
    Annie

    Like

  6. Leaving that Liberal State of CA is this like “Writer Chick goes to Washington” to kick some Ass and take names ?

    Now there’s an idea, Ger. But if I go to Washington to kick some butt and take names, with my luck I’d end up in jail and then on Jerry Springer. You know? ๐Ÿ˜‰
    WC

    Like

  7. I’m a big believer in the therapeutic power of the road trip, though inexplicably I seem to come back home from mine. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Well in a way, we’re not so different – in my mind, I am going home. Finally. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    WC

    Like

  8. Hi Annie,

    Wow Wow Wow ! How very exciting, will look forward to little stories along the way.

    Your very brave and I admire you.
    Love
    Di

    Hey Di,
    I’ll miss you while I’m gone – I look forward to your fun and lively comments in the morning with my coffee. I guess I’ll just have to pretend you’re there in the car, pointing out the sights and offering me a smoke, eh?
    Love
    Annie

    Like

  9. the occasional road trip is good for the soul I believe ๐Ÿ˜‰ Have fun! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hey Bettina,
    Thanks – I think we will have fun. It will be nice to have a partner in the drive, make it much better I think this time out. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Annie

    Like

  10. I’m not surendering – I’m celebrating

    aww !! How wonderful. I wish you all the best in the world with everything, you’ve been on my mind so much, not that I’ve thought that I’ve been overly thinking about you but I must have been to dream about you.

    Read my last post – again another magical happening.

    Again love and well wishes and I’m so happy for Maggie and Broodie to.
    Love Di.

    PS. Do you think coinsidents are fairys working. I’ll send the smoking fairy for the trip. She smokes roll ups and has been known to sprinkle them with magic fairy dust. Hehe!!

    Hi Di,
    Thanks, darlin’ I know you are sending us really good wishes – as are many people. In fact, I’ve never had so much support in anything I’ve ever done as I have with this. There is something very magical about it all. Here’s hoping the magic never ends, eh?

    Love ya, honey,
    Annie

    Like

  11. so florida is a mild case of hell on the senses then? mold on everything, strikes me as the ideal adversarial environment if you want to write ANGRY!

    That’s about right. I definitely would not recommend living there. Yikes, just the thought…
    WC

    Like

What do you think?

