Bad Dreams

So, here I am at 1 AM plus sitting at my computer keyboard cuz I had a dream that scared the bageebers outta me. Luckily I was smart enough to wake up or I could be lost in the depths of a bad plot about a doctor going crazy on my ass. You know? But you have to love dreams, don’t you? For all their Alice in Wonderland, crazy plot twists and casts of characters. This one, which thankfully, I vaguely remember was about some doctor who was lecturing me about stealing from him and he was going to ‘get’ me and somehow an old boyfriend figured into the scenario too but he had something to do with critiques on flavors of candy he had invented as well as sleep remedies. And somebody must have been beating me with a stick too because my neck is killing me. Aside from the old boyfriend, I have never met any of the people in the dream, which is freaky cuz man they seem real, so maybe it’s just a novel I need to write that is calling to me from badfuckingdreamland or I shouldn’t have eaten the cheese cracker thingies Roomie offered me last night?

I do (and have often) wonder where these kind of dreams come from. I know there is much psychobabble dedicated to dreams and their ‘meanings’ which for the most part I think is a bunch of hogwash. I mean seriously, how much can you trust the ‘unconscious mind’? It’s unconscious for a reason, right? You don’t trust unconscious people, do you? So why would you put any stock in a mind that was unconscious and what it was trying to tell you? Like babies and puppy dogs, while they are amazingly cute and lovable, if they were giving you advice, would you listen? I think not.

I do, however, believe in premonitions that sometimes come in dreams, as some of those have really hit the mark for me personally. I wonder if there is a difference? There must be, otherwise they’d be as nonsensical as the other dreams, wouldn’t they?

Like my dream, I’m probably not making any sense – or maybe I really can write in my sleep – I guess I’ll let you be the judge of that – but again, what is up with these dreams anyway? Are they just from stress or a string of weird thoughts, snippets of television shows and bad cheese and crackers? I think they are. I think the body just can’t take what we deal out often in our daily lives and so it revolts at night when we aren’t paying attention by causing us to hallucinate about non-existant jobs, trips and blind dates. It is ‘its’ way of getting back at us for not taking good enough care of it. Not feeding it right, pushing it to the point of exhaustion and then forcing it eat and drink very weird stuff (as far as it is concerned anyway).

I have no real point here, I am simply jabbering in the hopes the last vestiges of the dream melts like cotton candy and I can go back to sleep. Any thoughts?

9 thoughts on “Bad Dreams

  1. Poor thing! If I were there I would give you a hug, and check under your bed and shit before tucking you back in 😉 Cuz that’s how I roll. Dreams, very bizarre. Sometimes, YES, they can seem so real. My mom has such weird dreams that she keeps a “dream diary” so she doesn’t forget…I should do that too! I hope you made it back to bed and catch some ZZzzzzzz’s. xoxo

    Hey Bella,
    Thanks, honey. I did get back to sleep and still had weird dreams but not scary ones. I tried that diary thing once but for some reason could never remember them once I woke up. 🙂
    Annie

    Like

  2. I think I must be lucky to mostly not remember my dreams. The bad ones though are all stress related, definitely.

    Hope you get back to sleep soon and have a more peaceful rest of the night.

    Hey Bettina,
    You may be right about the stress thing. I did get back to sleep and at least the boogie man didn’t come back – that’s good, right? 😉
    Annie

    Like

  3. Your tag is wrong. That is not stupid shit at all. My belief is that dreams are the minds way of getting rid of all the excess bullshit that we pick up from day to day.

    Very profound thought, Mr. Evyl – you may be right. I tend to think the same thing most of the time, anyway. 😉
    Annie

    Like

  4. Hi Annie,

    My dreams often make more sense than my real life and, while this is disturbing in some ways, I’ve learned to live with it.

    Oh, and I make it a point to NEVER touch the keyboard until I’ve had at least two mugs of coffee and a smoke. The results of past early attempts at communication that resulted in this personal rule are too horrible to relate.

    the Grit

    Hey Grit,
    Gee that caffiene/nicotine combo you’ve got going could account for your interesting dreams. 😉 Actually I do better if I hit the keyboard without quite waking up. 😉
    Annie

    Like

  5. Sounds like the dream I just had about my fiance choosing a bowl of salad over me… Freaking perfect huh?

    Oh my gawd, I hope there was at least good bread to go with the salad. Seriously, that is just sick. 🙄
    Annie

    Like

  6. Hi Annie !!

    OMG ! A dream post and I dreamt about you last night. How bizarre. I was buying some stuff at your garage sale. Your garage was full of sparkly stuff and I wanted to buy something for 22 dollas a blue elephant wall hanging but I only had sterling,I went to change my money to dollas. You wore a grey wool winter coat and we hugged.

    I don’t know what it is with all this dream shit but over a period of about eighteen months I had about 12 really vivid ones about my online friend, all really meaningful, they used to. drive me crazy.

    Something in the sub conscious eh !

    Love
    Di

    Hey Di,
    That’s so cute that you wanted to buy stuff at my garage sale. I don’t have any elephant wall hangings and since it’s going to be about 90 degrees tomorrow, I probably won’t need the coat but the hug would have been grand, darlin’ I think it’s neat that you’ve dreamed about your online friends in a nice way, maybe it means you’ll be meeting them soon, eh?

    Love
    Annie

    Like

  7. Sorry to hear about the bad dream. Those things can be so real and so scary or upsetting. I do believe creative, imaginative people probably have more intricate, elaborate dreams (which makes the bad ones even worse).

    Hey 30!
    I do have some hum dingers sometimes – usually they are just strange or oddly funny – but this one was really frightening. Luckily, I don’t have them often. I imagine it was just all the excitement and adrenaline going, eh?

    Annie

    Like

  8. Hey, Girl..

    My [new] husband asks me how I can function during the day with all the strange, realistic dreams I have most nights – the ones that cause me to SAY the oddest things while I’m still sleeping! (something I wasn’t aware of when I was single :-/)

    Entertaining? Sure.. but what about these dark circles?? 🙂

    Hang in there, Annie.. there’s a lot going on right now. You know what they say: “Even good stress is stress”.

    Sweet dreams,

    Debi

    Hey Debs!
    Yeah, you probably hit the nail on the head there – good stress. Hard to believe there is such a thing but I think there is. At least we’re moving toward the downside of adrenaline jitters. And happily, the dreams have been benevolent since then.
    Annie

    Like

  9. good or bad, dreamstuff is the kind of experience that really does transcend the mundane, even when the dream is mundane in itself, everything is still very slightly askew…

    Perhaps, but I can think of better ways of entertaining myself. 😉
    WC

    Like

What do you think?

