Please Buy My Crap

So, yesterday was the big garage sale. The fact that it was the the hottest, windiest day of the year and a forest fire was blazing just five miles away didn’t stop me. Nope, I was up at 5 am and dragging crap around in front of the house.

Now there is a special way to lay out a garage sale when you’re in 25mile per hour winds. Have to be extra careful of glass items and God forbid you don’t anchor the clothes to the trees, just right. You know? So much for a nice display. I was just trying to keep everything from flying over the hill onto the freeway, lest I be the inadvertant cause of a 20 car pile up.

I was encouraged when I got some early birders who bought stuff right off. But there were long lulls of dry winds and nobody coming by. I listed the sale on Craigslist (everybody knows craigslist, right?) but I doubt any of the people who came by had anything to do with that since you end up so far down the list so fast that it ain’t funny. Luckily Roomie was in a good mood and made signs and kept going out to scout new places to hang them. I’m sure that’s the only reason anyone came off the beaten path to check out my wares. And he kept me company too (for part of the day anyway) which helped.

What was really strange is what sold. I expected things like furniture to go quickly but it didnt. In fact, most of my weirder stuff sold. Like the little elf suit I bought my dog last year so I could take pictures of her in it for xmas. A cheap clip on lamp – my old boom box, purses, costume jewelry, vhs tapes and cassettes.

To my utter shock and dismay nobody bit on the furniture – nobody needed a desk or a hutch or bookshelves, apparently. I guess if it wasn’t weird they didn’t want it. Go figure. God Bless Roomie for loading all that crap up in his truck and dragging it down to the thrift store for me. I have a trunkful of odds and ends to drop myself but there you have it.

Considering few of the ‘big ticket items’ (if one can say such a thing of a garage sale) sold, I did okay. I mean, what can you expect? You are essentially asking people to buy your crap and well if the weather isn’t nice and you’re not on a freeway off ramp, it is rather inconvenient for them to come by and pick through your possessions like black crows on a roadkill, you know? So, I got some pocket money and some gas money and I guess that is something to be grateful for.

The funny thing is that even though it feels a little weird to sell your stuff and sit on the floor in a nearly empty room, writing a post with the keyboard in your lap, it is kind of freeing to let go of all of it. Something about being down to few material goods does something for me every now and then. And really how hard is it to replace things that have no true sentimental value to you?

Though by the time 1 o’clock rolled around I was exhausted and every muscle in my body ached. I slept nine hours last night, which was good since I really needed it. I still feel a little creaky and that I’m too old for the crap but I’ll get over it.

Today, I clean and clean and then clean some more. Yay, one of my favorite activities. At least I’ll have breffy with Zelda first and a quick trip to Target for moving supplies. I love field trips, don’t you?

Anyway friends, I’m that much closer to kissing L.A. goodbye and moving onto my new life. And that’s a good thing.

8 thoughts on “Please Buy My Crap

  1. Happy Trails To You πŸ˜›
    Simplifying your life is a good thing. I’d love to be able to let go of almost everything I own, but my wife, Bunny, would never go for it. Oh well. I’m glad to hear all is going well for you, and I’m looking forward to your furthering adventures. πŸ˜‰

    Hey Spidey,
    Yeah, I guess it does take a certain mindset to let it all go – maybe you could start Bunny off with baby steps? Have her let go of a comb or a barette or something and then move onto bigger and better things? Yes, there will be further adventures to be sure. Thanks for checking in.
    WC

    Like

  2. I know how that feels, we just did it. Try selling the bigger stuff on craigslist now. We had the same thing happen with our furniture and it all sold on craigslist a week later.

    Boy you craigslist enthusiasts! That’s what my guy said – but there wasn’t time. We’re leaving in four days- no time to deal with people calling on ads. But I figure it this way, I just donated a buttload of stuff to a thrift store that will benefit veterans- so I just got a few karma points,you know?

    Annie

    Like

  3. That’s the thing with yard sales and garage sales. You never can really tell what will sell well. Some people are only out looking for specific items and others are just nosing around. Anyway, at least it wasn’t a total bust and you did end up getting it done. One step closer to your new life! πŸ™‚

    Hey Teens,yup that’s what I thought too – one step closer. Now if I could just figure out a way to make my trunk a bit bigger, then I’d be stylin’ πŸ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  4. You’re on your happy way, Chica!
    i’ve heard those fires’ve been freaking awful, although, i sure miss the Santa Anas. i really do. And though i’ve always been saddened and moved by the destruction, i weirdly liked the brilliant oranged smoke and the smell of burning.

    i like earthquakes, too.

    Have fun getting ready, Annie. God! i’m so excited for you!!!! And happy for you!

    Chica!!
    Yeah, the fires have been bad- I know what you mean about the orange smoke though – it is strangely beautiful.

    I know you’re excited and happy for me- I am too. LOL – seems everyone is happy. I really like that too. I’ll be in touch, c.
    Annie

    Like

  5. some people (not me) reckon that australia was subtley striking at America by exporting our native gum (eucaplyt) trees over there to contribute to the bushfire menace!

    Glad you sold some of your stuff even if it wasn’t the big items. Garage sales can be very hit and miss aye?

    Hey Bettina,
    You’re kidding? Well,that’s just silly. I love those eucalyptus trees- they smell so great and are just awesome. All trees burn,you know?

    Garage sales are hit and miss and I have to say I really don’t like doing them -so exhausting. But at least I got some money for my troubles, so it’s not all bad. πŸ™‚
    Annie

    Like

  6. Five miles sounds dangerously close to those fires. Glad you’ll be getting out of there soon and heading off on your Excellent Adventure.

    Hey 30!
    Yeah, my excellent adventure. LOL. They are close but pushing west which is away from me. I guess it’s like anything, you get used to them. I feel bad for the people in their path but we all know they happen – so you take your chances. Where I’m going there will be rain and maybe even some snow -now that sounds scary to me. πŸ˜†
    Annie

    Like

  7. Oh Annie !!

    I’m so excited for you. aww !! I would have bought the lovely elf suit for my Maggie to. Hehe!!

    Wow ! You’ve let it all go.

    Whoo Hoo !! Time for new pastures. I wish you love and life. I bet Zelda is going to miss you like mad. aww!!

    NEW LIFE
    Love
    Di.
    Hi Di!
    Me too- he gets here tomorrow night – alll the packing is done- now we just have to get it in the car.Yikes. Oh, too bad about the elf suit, your maggie would have looked wonderful in it. Green is her color,eh?

    Yeah, Zelda will miss me and I her – but green pastures are calling.

    Love
    Annie

    Like

  8. Hi Annie,

    You are a marvel. I can’t even imagine having a yard sale. I find it difficult to throw away, well, most anything that won’t decay at room temperature, and I’m still slightly ticked at my wife for giving my old blue jeans, size 30 that I can only dream of fitting into again, to Good Will 10 years ago. I have every book I ever purchased, except for a few that one person borrowed and didn’t return before leaving town, and I still keep a picture of him and a list of the lost literature just in case he makes the mistake of moving back or I run into him somewhere and we have to have a discussion about the stolen property. That was 15 years ago but, well, books are books.

    On the other hand, if you had staged your yard sale here, in Memphis, you would have done well to retain your car, mailbox, and the siding on your house. We have a thriving subculture that swarms across the landscape every weekend morning and strips every yard sale bare. No one understands why this is, but I’ve heard rumors that research teams from several major universities are studying it, and we may have an explanation soon.

    the Grit

    Hey Grit,
    I don’t know if I’m a marvel- but I can part with material things – I’ve always been able to. Just as I’ve always been able to collect material things when I wanted them. Kind of a nice little give and take with the universe if you will.

    Memphis does sound like the place I should have had my sale. That would have been great money wise and my back probably wouldn’t hurt right now. πŸ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

