Deja Move

Hello again, yup I am back and yet I’m not…let me explain. It all started when I decided to move from the West Coast to the East Coast. There were garage sales and last time lunches, planes to meet, car repairs and in the end I was left with one blue car, one small dog, one fat cat, all that my trunk could hold (which turned out to be quite a bit more than I had thought), a very small amount of cash and an already weary boyfriend -plus some free road maps.

With this we began a trek toward ‘home’ new for me, old for him – with a couple of stops – and a pretty grueling driving schedule. By the time we arrived in the promised land I was ready to explode or maybe it was implode- if I never saw the inside of a car again it would have been all right with me. Once we got out of that torture chamber I was loathe to return to it.

The next couple of days were spent shopping for food, the neighborhood tour, sleeping, eating and other pleasant activities. Life was good once again. Then Black Friday rolled around and we were back at it again-because you see I am moving yet again. Well, I am not moving, I suppose technically I haven’t really moved yet, simply found a holding station until ‘we’ move.

On Friday, I did get over to our new house and unloaded everything that was in the blue car, cleaned a lot and organized what there was to organize. Took a walking tour around the neighborhood which is pretty good and has many nearby shopping locations which can provide for pretty much anything we need- which is good news for my cardio and my fat ass.

Saturday, back to the new house with some boxes and things from his place- and installing new locks on the doors -setting up temporary tethering for aforementioned small dog and discussion of placement of various belongings and workstations as well as getting doggie familiar with space.

Today it is raining not a good moving day kind of day – so we get boxes and box things today. Must be there early tomorrow to meet cable person for tv, internet & phone and then I guess it is flat out moving. I really am hoping that once we move this time, it really is for good and there will be no surprise or guest moves because I would simply have to kill someone if there were. We did manage to get a bed over there and I got some daffodil, iris & crocus bulbs(with appropriate hand tools) which I will plant along the front fence, around the guest house and around the deck for some wonderful springtime color and delight.

Tomorrow, we spend our first night in the new house which I suppose will officially make it home, though truth be told it will be days before we get everything over there. Anyway, at least I should be operating from the desktop instead of this measely little laptop-praise Jesus!

Again, will try to stick my head in to say, ‘hi’ but can’t promise much. So, how was your weekend?

16 thoughts on “Deja Move

  1. Glad to know you are getting situated! I like how you write about your bed and then go on to write about the flower beds. That sounds nice to be so ready for spring!!! Where are you now anyway?

    My weekend mostly consisted of lying around.

    Yes from beds to flower beds – I really do want to have some spring blooms – it’s something to look forward to. Though the ground is pretty unyielding, so I need to get something going quickly or I will miss my window of opportunity.

    I am on the east coast – prefer not to reveal specific locale on line – you can email me if you like.

    Annie 🙂

    Like

  2. I do not envy you the move. Hatred of moving is what keeps my wife and I together. Hope it settles down soon for you.

    Hey Darlin’
    I can see how that would keep a couple together. 😉 It will be a while for it settling down but we are getting there a little at a time.
    Annie

    Like

  3. Wow! That’s a lot going on. I hope the weather holds out for you. It’s been nasty here in GA and on my trip to FL this weekend.

    I hate moving, but I hope yours goes well!

    Hey MJ!
    Nope weather is getting colder – drat! Oh well, maybe I will have a white xmas this year. Something I haven’t had in decades. I may even build a snowman, he? 😉
    Annie

    Like

  4. Hi Annie,

    Good for you! I worried for you living amid the wild fires and land slides of California. As to your lack of desire to get back in a car, I can empathize. After all the Thanksgiving celebrating we did this weekend, I may never cook or eat again.

    the Grit

    Hey Grit!
    Now you can worry about me being in a blizzard, eh? 😉 I didn’t have the kind of t.g. that you describe this year but have many like that in the past, so I hear you.
    Annie

    Like

  5. Oh wow. Congratulations on accomplishing such a monstrous move! We will be doing the same kind of thing in two to three years, so I may hit you up for tips. There’s a post in that: things to NOT do when moving ‘cross country. 🙂

    LOL MS –
    Not sure I’d be a good source for tips but you can have any I might have. Mostly I think it’s about not killing each other during the trip. 🙂
    Annie

    Like

  6. After all you’ve been through in the last two weeks, you still have the energy to plant bulbs!?

    Hey 30!
    Well it might be energy and it might be compulsion…hard to say. Hell, I’m eating meatloaf for breakfast, who knows what goes on with my system right now? But I figure I will take advantage of it while I can, you know? 😆
    Annie

    Like

  7. Hi Annieo Chickieo,

    I think that you write really cute, we use the word cute differently to you in the UK I think. Its nice to plant the bulbs and got me to thinking should I plant some of those. I’m a copy cat hehe!!

    I was giggling reading your itinary of business and smiled at.. ‘Other plesent activities’ I’m left wondering what they are. I’m picturing some pretty wierd stuff.

    I’m gald you managed to get the bed over there. You are such a busy girl. Well done you. Its not every day you move lives is it. Sending you love and good energy for pottering around your new place making it all beautiful and special.

    Love
    Di

    Hi Di-eo
    Yes, I am a busy girl but still have so much to do – we just keep at it. We managed to unstick the fireplace flue which was probably making it much colder in here, so that is one thing handled. We have it sort of operational – though a glitch with internet connection for some reason, doesn’t like my computers so am using my honey’s…TV turned itself on yesterday nite – not sure why…LOL – lots of fun eh?

    But we are making it nicer and hopefully prettier…

    Love
    Annieo

    Like

  8. PS.

    My weekend was nice and easy. Adele is having a hystrectomny on Thursday so we had a dinner party to say good-bye to her womb, overies and tubes.

    Thirteen hours round a dinner table with five women friends. Perfect for me. We had a ball and for sure we put the world to rights as always with lots of impersnations which always go down a treat. I have two women friends called Annie.

    Annies must come in three then eh !! Hehe !!

    Love
    Di

    Sorry to hear that Adelle had to have an operation but if it contributes to better health for her, then good. Annie’s come in threes eh? Could be. LOL
    Love
    Annie

    Like

  9. Glad to hear you like the neighborhood (can I hear a told you so?)…and the moves are well. Hope to hear from you soon, dear sweet Annie.:) Hee hee.

    And I hope to be ringing you soon. 🙂
    Annie

    Like

  10. My question is: How on earth did you find a house so quickly to move into?

    We found it on craigslist – and he got it secured before he came to get me. It just worked out that way – not usual I guess, eh?

    Annie

    Like

  11. Congratulations on your house! My weekend was pretty freaking awesome. My aunt decided I needed new clothes because I dress like an old man.

    @Urban Panther: When we went looking for a house, it was only a month before we were closing the deal on ours. We like to move fast!

    Well if your aunt still is jonesing to dress people, send her my way – I can always use new clothes. 😉
    Annie

    Like

  12. How exciting! Big move, new life, super love and flowers…

    Sounds like fantastic!

    Hey Chica!
    Exciting and excitable and really I’d really be happy with a little boring right now. 😉 It’s all good really, but so much to do. I really had forgotten how much there is to do initially. You know? 🙂
    Annie

    Like

  13. Hi Annie,

    Your biggest worry on this side of the Rockies is tornadoes and/or hurricanes. Well, unless you’re located up North, and then it’s hurricanes and liberals. Personally, I’ll take my chances with tornadoes. Of course, if you’re too near the coast there’s always tidal waves to worry about. Blizzards you can prepare for, so no problem.

    the Grit

    Hey Grit!
    Since I grew up in the Midwest, I suppose I’m not all that afraid of the occasional twister – don’t think hurricanes will be too much of a problem either – no, the biggest danger will in fact be the liberals. But we have guns and know the Constitution, so we should be all right. 😉
    WC

    Like

  14. Yeah.
    Moving is always loads of fun right?

    And the bigger the distance, the bigger the fun. 😉
    i swear, i thought R&i were going to get a divorce after trying to put chains on our U-Haul in Shasta. 🙂 We’re from So-cal, as you know, so putting chains on a U-Haul was interesting to say the least.

    i’ll be glad when you two are finished with it all, can cuddle up in front of the fireplace and enjoy your new home.

    Yes, I agree – the longer the distance the more fun it is. LOL. Although in retrospect the driving out here wasn’t the worst part. It’s trying to get all his stuff out of his old apartment that seems endless. Dragging everything down three floors (yes we use the elevator but still) and then through a parking lot and loading it up – we’re finished with the kitchen and most of the furniture – but the books, the books and the books – oh my God.

    I too will be glad when it is all finished – and I hope it’s soon.
    😉
    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

