I'm Thinking About Christmas…

I’m thinking about Christmas. To those of you who know me, you also know that Christmas is and always has been a big deal to me. I really look forward to it every year – it is my favorite holiday and always has been. I simply am not happy if I can’t buy presents, send cards, decorate, cook and bake up a storm for Christmas.

Naturally, this Christmas I won’t be doing any of those things. Recent events – such as selling everything I own and moving cross country – has sort of superceded Christmas and its requisite activities. And to tell you the truth I’m not nearly as upset as I feared I would be. Sure, I’m disappointed that I can’t do what I always do but then maybe it just means I have to be more creative than usual.

So, how does one celebrate Christmas with no funds whatsoever? Seriously, I am not kidding – there is zero budget for Christmas this year. In fact, I was joking with a friend the other night, explaining that I was so broke that likely I wouldn’t even be able to afford to send free ecards to anyone. I did buy a little (living) Christmas tree to hang my one box of Christmas ornaments I brought with me. After the holiday, we will plant it in the big, big yard so it can grow to be a big pine someday. I think I have a couple of stamps so I may send my mom an actual Christmas card if I can find where I packed them.

I think mostly I will just listen to Christmas music and sing along when no one is listening. I will bake pumpkin bread and maybe some cookies and we’ll have turkey with stuffing for dinner. Sometime in the next few days I will write a Christmas story, as has been my tradition these last few years. I will write Christmas themed poetry too. I will watch the Christmas movies I managed to stuff into the trunk before we left L.A. and do so by the light of our little Christmas tree. But more than anything I will celebrate Christmas by counting my blessings. That I am relatively healthy, and so are my pets, I am with the love of my life in our sweet, funny little house, that I have many dear and wonderful friends and though life may not be filled with many material things, it is filled with the things that matter – snowflakes, Christmas lights, music, the smell of good food, rosy cheeks, smiling faces, love and joy. What more, really, could you ask for?

10 thoughts on “I'm Thinking About Christmas…

  1. If you realize this, do you know how ahead of the game you are? I’m happy for you- if I were near ya I’d give ya a big Christmas hug 🙂

    Hey Bella,
    Don’t know if I’m ahead of the game or not but it’s all good this year, you know? And I’d give you a hug too honey. 😉
    Annie

    Like

  2. And… you can look forward to receiving some special MAIL with my smiling face on it (and Oscar, of course…)

    Make Merry with what ya got! All the good things can’t be bought! (bot? so it rhymes?)

    Hey C!
    And I really look forward to that mail too. Who is oscar? Yep, it rhymes… 🙂
    Annie

    Like

  3. Hi WC,

    I don’t know how you do it with children, but my wife and I made a valiant attempt when we were first married. Our total disposable income at the time was something like $10 US, but we were living in Canada at the time so that tiny amount stretched a bit.

    On her way home from school, my wife picked up a great deal on a 5′ Xmas tree for around $3, sold out of the back of a big truck in the student parking lot. We got a crappy stand, which immediately broke, making me affix the tree in it through the desperate expedient of driving a large nail through the bottom and into the tree trunk. While this kept us from keeping water in the bowl, that didn’t turn out to be a serious problem as the tree turned out to be a left over from the previous year, meaning that it was already completely dead, so the needles started falling off as soon as it warmed up to room temperature.

    We were also at a loss as to decorations on such a limited budget, so we fell back on history. We bought a package of cranberries, made a large batch of popcorn, and invited friends over to string these together with needles and thread.

    Although the tree looked pretty good that night, we either missed some mention of preservation techniques or did the decorating too soon, because by Christmas morning, there were only a handful of needles still attached to the tree and our hand made decorations were covered in masses of black mold.

    While we make a much better show these days, I’ll never forget the magic of that first, pathetic, Christmas tree.

    Hey Grit,
    Luckily I have no children – I have pets who think they are my children but that is another post. The story was great until we got to the moldy homemade decorations – LOL – I don’t even know what to say. Had me in tears laughing I’m afraid. There is something magical though about making a valiant effort with little to no resources, eh? Somehow those are the Christmases (or whatever) that go down in our personal histories as favorites, aren’t they?

    Annie

    Merry Christmas.
    the Grit

    Like

  4. The Grit’s tree decorating reminds me of my favourite decoration for our tree.

    I buy some construction paper (seriously, maybe a buck at the dollar store), we use existing scissors, and cut into strips. We then take existing glue, and glue strips into little links. We link it all together and decorate with whatever else is around and put it on the tree. It looks fabulous and was fun to make.

    Your ideas for Christmas sound fabulous. Enjoy.

    Daisy

    Hey Daisy!
    Yup, we’ve done that too – made construction paper garlands. Really the bottom line is that it’s all in the spirit of things isn’t it? We’re not destitute, nor an inch away from homeless, just a little tight right now. Christmas will be wonderful because we are together – not because of ‘stuff’ you know? 🙂
    Annie

    Like

  5. Sounds like the perfect Christmas to me. Just being with the one or ones you love, a nice dinner and old Christmas movies by the light of a tree. I’d have a tough time making that any better.

    The only thing I would add to that is snow. I love snow and lots of it.

    LOL Joanie,
    You would add snow, wouldn’t you? I think I might pass on the snow, unless I could be sure it would be gone the next day. 😉
    Annie

    Like

  6. As long as you have some lights on your tree, and a hot cup of coffee, throw on some holiday tunes and enjoy the peace that comes with being able to stop for just a moment. 🙂

    I mean, you have Christmas blend coffee…what’s better than that? (Unless you splash a little whisky in the coffee…that would be good too)

    Why yes, yes I do have Christmas blend coffee, don’t I? 😆 Yes a nice quiet Christmas with my honey would be nice and shall be, eh?

    Annie

    Like

  7. Hey Annie – Music, good food, and quality time is what it’s all about anyway. Hey look – snow! I hope you have shovels too though. 😉

    Hey Teens,
    You and Joanie and the snow – enough already. You’re talking to a California gal – snow is a might too extreme – gimme a year to acclimate, eh? 😉
    Annie

    Like

  8. There is a great children’s book called “Angel Pig and the Magic Christmas” which addresses the very issue of what to do if you have no $$$ for Christmas. The little pigs find things around their house to give one another and to decorate their tree.

    It sounds like you have all the right ideas! I wish you a wonderful holiday!

    I wrote a small booklet for my family a few years ago, all about Christmas memories from our childhood. If you would like to read it in PDF format, e-mail me. The pages are not in order so you would need to skip around a bit–I can’t figure out how to rearrange them in my graphics program! Poop…

    Hi Sandra,
    I’ve not heard of that story but it sounds like a good one. The one that always comes to mind is the Magi – the ultimate Christmas story in so many ways. I wish you a wonderful holiday as well – and here’s to a promising new year, yes?
    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

