I Want My D-TV!

Well, as expected the digital changeover might not be changing quite so fast. I’m sure most of you know of the impending February 17th cutoff date for analog television (read non-digital tv) since they have been yammering about this for the last two years you ought to. The plan was to change everything over to the digital world, not sure why, probably because there is vast profit in it for somebody who made a large contribution to a political campaign or two but anyway, I guess the analog space will become digital or maybe that space is up for sale for internet TV wanted by perverse wrestling midgets… Could be.

Long story short, it seems that their plans haven’t quite worked out. Apparently, since the government was forcing this on we, the poor, unsuspecting public, they felt duty bound to offer us coupons in the amount of $40 to offset the cost of the overpriced digital converter boxes needed to get the television signal on the old style analog televisions. Clearly, not all of us can afford those snazzy new, digital, hi-def numbers can we? And especially we of the downtrodden, since TV (and cigarettes and Budweiser) are our only real forms of affordable entertainment, really needed those coupons. I would have thought though since the government is the government that they’d just make the manufacturers (who I’m sure are profiting bigtime from the manufacture of these little black boxes) price them at say $20 rather than letting them price them at $60 and have them pick up the rest of the bill? At least, logic would dictate it. After all, they can tell power companies what they can charge, they regulate every fricking thing else in the country but not the price of a stupid little box? Interesting if you ask me – but maybe that is fodder for another post. I digress…

The deal is that the โ€˜program’ has run out of funds. Yup, there are reportedly a couple, three million who are still waiting for those coupons and likely if they pull the plug on TV before those folks get their little black boxes then there is sure to be some sort of natural disaster, or at least a class action lawsuit which I’m sure the ACLU would be up for – given that having television is a Constitutional right and all… Currently, the new administration is begging and pretty-pleasing Congress (why this is necessary I couldn’t tell you since they are all members of the same club, aren’t they?) to put off the cutoff date til June, you can read a little more about it here.

I’m sure that the date will be moved back and once we start heading toward June it will probably be pushed back further still. My prediction puts it at the end of the year at best. Given the fact that there are so many other economic issues for the new administration to concern itself with, I doubt television signals are going to be paramount among them. But who knows – it might be payback time and that could greatly affect us still living in the analog world.

Personally, I could care less, since I watch little television and what I do watch I can see on the internet without too much trouble – without all those annoying and badly written commercials too. Except in the sense that our government seems more and more convinced that they have to wipe our noses and asses at every turn. Why anyone ever agreed that we should be reimbursed for buying converter boxes is beyond me. We aren’t reimbursed for having to buy gasoline, automobiles, food or anything else that costs more than we wish it did – we didn’t get vouchers for dvd players when everything switched over to those, did we? No iPod credits, no mp3 players of any sort. I guess it’s all relative, eh? I think eventually, we’ll all just be implanted with little computer chips in our heads that carry all our personal info, medical & dental records, bank account access and 108 channel television – though the converter box for that would be quite something, don’t you think? I wonder if the government will issue vouchers for those too. What do you think?

Update: It has in fact happened, read about it here.

9 thoughts on “I Want My D-TV!

  1. Hi Annie,

    The reason for the change is that digital signals will be needed to send high definition broadcasts. Plus, they’re also better for sending regular quality TV. In addition, each channel takes up less bandwidth, so where we get one broadcast channel now, after the change there can be two or three, or even more as the technology improves. This is change you can believe in.

    the Grit

    Hey Grit,
    Well I knew you’d know the whole point of this exercise, although I feel duty bound to pose a question: given the current quality of existing channels, do we really want twice or thrice as many as we have now? ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  2. You mentioned government and logic in virtually the same breath. Therein lies the problem. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Well slap my face and call me silly, 30, you’ve got a great point. ๐Ÿ˜†
    Annie

    Like

  3. I’m just waiting to ‘SEE’ the difference. Something tells me I’ll be waiting a long time.

    I’d be thrilled if my cable company could just send ANY signal with regular, steady, viewable quality!

    Hey Billie,
    Well, any time we wait on the government to show us something, it’s a long wait. ๐Ÿ˜† Yes, dependable cable would be a nice thing, wouldn’t it? I still haven’t gotten over the fact that the whole idea of paid television was so we didn’t have to suffer through the damn commercials – it didn’t take long to change that, did it? And now we get to pay for the pleasure, talk about a scam. Are we idiots or what? ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  4. yeah, they kept pushing back the date here too, but we didn’t get no stinking discount vouchers! lol

    Your government is a strange beast indeed……. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Hey B,
    I’ve got to say that I find all governments strange beasts. I think the real problem is that they are all so huge now that they just have to figure out ways to justify their existence and their behemoth proportions. Hence the vouchers. But as I said, why not just put a cap on the cost…oh yeah, that would be interfering with the private sector and the government doesn’t do that…right? ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  5. i think most countries are having issues with the changeover to digital, not to mention the age old problem of governments feeling the need to look like they are doing something… except when they’re not, or in this case they can’t!

    Hey Mercury,
    I think you summed it up in one sentence. Well done!
    WC

    Like

  6. Annie, I have worked for the government as one of their illustrious Civil Servants for almost twenty years. Take this to heart concerning the push back on the change over. In 1996 the DoD was mandated to start encrypting data in transit so as to prevent hackers from message interception. Now, twelve years later we are still phasing this bastard of a program into being. Now the DoD wants to convert from IPv4 to IPv6. I just attended my first meeting last summer. Expected completion date? 2015. Do you reckon?

    Hey Jim,
    I think you’ve just told the classic government story – change? I think not. Nice thought but gimme a break, they can’t even switch over air waves without it becoming a bagillion dollar joke. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  7. I can safely say that I work for the government, and everything they do in my office wastes money and makes no sense. I can’t wait to see how this all plays out … DISASTER!!!

    LOL Girl,
    And meanwhile people are selling their discount vouchers on craigslist and ebay, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Annie

    Like

  8. I’m with you – I don’t think it can possibly happen before the end of the year. My mom will get her converter exactly one day later.

    Hey WD, if we’re lucky it will happen by the end of the year but more likely next year – providing of course they haven’t destroyed the entire economy bailing out the whiners. Yikes.
    WC

    Like

  9. Digital shmigital. :p

    Seriously, just how much “high quality” screen resolution can our eyeballs take? Do we really need to be able to see inside each and every tiny sweat pore to feel like we have quality television? Bleating heavens.

    Just give me a decently written and acted story occasionally. That would rock my world! :p

    Tony Singleยดs last blog post..Rain… [Trottersville #108]

    LOL Tony – you sound like me. You definitely have the rant gene – which makes you a natural for a blogger, eh? ๐Ÿ™‚
    WC

    Like

What do you think?

