Hey Buddy – Can You Spare Some Change?

The idea of change is a sometimes scary prospect. It makes us uncomfortable to go from predictability to non-predictability. What we know can suddenly become what we don’t know. What we believe can shift and look completely different in the flap of one butterfly wing.

This can be a good and welcome thing or it can be horrendously disorienting. Perhaps it’s all a matter of perspective? I think so.

There are times in our lives when we want change. To change our look, our jobs, our lifestyles, or geographical location. Borne out of boredom or a sudden event that brings us to a new awareness in our lives or viewpoints. We crave a change or improvement of conditions because we realize our current path is somehow leading us in the wrong direction and we will do whatever it takes to affect that change.

On the other hand there is that other kind of change, the type we don’t want or expect or like. The type that surprises and throws us off our feed. Puts us in a quandry. That throws the proverbial wrench into the works and never will our lives be the same. But should it? Should our lives always be what we know, what we can predict and control, keep us safely wrapped in our comfort zone. Are we meece or men? I wonder.

Good or bad, to me, the essence of life is change. For when we stop changing we stop learning, we stop living and become the guys fighting to maintain the status quo – which in the end is impossible. Because no matter what we may or may not want, nothing ever stands still or stays the same. It either gets better or it gets worse – it contracts or it expands if only minutely. So, it seems to me that we either change or we stop being and become a little bit less every day. At least, that’s how see it.

How do you see it?

6 thoughts on “Hey Buddy – Can You Spare Some Change?

  1. And with these changes, never look back with regret. For even the changes that were unwanted can lead to growth – if we allow it. I’d rather look back and say (for instance) ‘Yeah that was bad, but you know if it hadn’t of been for ‘that’ I wouldn’t have/be/experienced ‘this’!

    Yup, exactly my opinion too Billie Jayne. 😉
    Annie

    Like

  2. It takes me a long time to warm up to change. It is not my favorite thing, because when things are humming along, I’d like it to stay that way, at least for a good long while. I do like change when things move from bad to good though, LOL.

    Hey Mrs. V,
    Yup, I like bad going to good too. But even when things seem to be going to bad, I still try to look at it from the view of what the event is trying to tell me – where it might be leading me and despite all intents and purposes how it could be construed as something good at least ultimately. Often it works for me.
    Annie

    Like

  3. I thrive on change. Maybe even too much because I become extremely bored and irritable with stability. I think there is a middle ground there somewhere. I just can’t seem to find it.

    Hey Panther,
    Somehow I’m not surprised by this. And I think I understand too. While I do like a certain amount of predictability in my life, I do get bored easily if I’m not stimulated by current environment and conditions. Though I suspect you’re much more of a livewire than I am. 🙂
    Annie

    Like

  4. Hi Annie,

    Oh that funny litte word called change. Change happens every single second doesn’t it,change is movement but I”m smiling here thinking of the association each and every one of us has with the word and its the association with the word and our past experiences that frighten us more than the actual action of change.

    Urmm ! Am I actualy making sense , hehe !! Probably not.

    I’ve changed my blog – it would have been easier changing houses – my assiociation of the word change there was confusing to say the least.

    Love Di.

    PS. Change is only a second away. Oh I’m wittering, nice to witter Annieo, Thanks.

    Hey Di,
    You make a good point maybe we are more afraid of the word than the actual change of things. And yes, it is happening every second whether we like it or not, isn’t it?
    Love
    Annie

    Like

  5. Always look for dropped pennies

    Find a penny, pick it up
    All day long you’ll have good luck,
    Pass it on to a friend
    And your luck ur’ll never end.

    Di’s always waiting for the penny to drop – small change. x

    Hey Di,
    It’s funny you should say that. Every day for the last several days I have found money – usually just a penny or two but still I take it as a sign of good luck. The universe is trying to give me money, right? 😉
    Annie

    Like

  6. I think it’s natural to be a little resistant to change… there is a reason why there’s a status quo after all. You are right though, change is just the way things roll. The trees lose their leaves in autumn and then get them back in the spring. Water has to go downhill. Storms come and go. Just gotta roll with it as much as you can, even when every part of you screams, “NO!”

    Tony Single´s last blog post..Rain… [Trottersville #108]

    I’d say you especially have to roll with it when every part of you screams, No! In the end, it really is good for a person I think – but we rarely see that while it’s happening.
    WC

    Like

What do you think?

