Technical Difficulties Part 87

Okay, for the last two days I’ve been trying to upload pics to the blog and well, forget about it Stevie, ain’t gonna happen. My usually reliable source for internet and blogging issues tested it and it worked fine for her, so apparently there is some anti-picture gremlin now residing in my computer.

This reminds me of when I first got this blog self hosted and couldn’t for the life of me insert a video, something I’d been doing for years. Suddenly, no go – won’t work. Forget about it Steveie. I downloaded plugins, employed secret codes, special incantations and offered it money but no go Stevie.

The idea of blogging without benefit of images really annoys the hell out of me. So, I will be madly working away to solve this current mystery. Please bear with me.

😦

UPDATE:

Well, apparently it all started when I decided to upgrade the flash player to version 10 – unbeknownst to moi, it wreaks havoc with the image uploader. Damn! Back to photobucket for me I guess. Too bad, I’d really gotten used to that uploader. The offered “solutions” don’t really grab me although I will probably be forced to make them and upgrade to wp 2.7.1 which is a freaking freak show if you ask me – but anyway – below, painfully inserted one by one and by hand via link are the pictures I wanted to post.

Since it’s been a pretty fubar kind of day I could use a laugh, how about you?

11 thoughts on “Technical Difficulties Part 87

  1. funny, I had the same issue yesterday! I agree, I thing images always enhance a post.

    Mark´s last blog post..Where Are You On Your Journey?

    Hey Mark,
    From what I”ve discovered so far it’s an issue with security features that Adobe has built into the new flash player that interfers with the uploader which is flash based. The solution being offered is to upgrade to the newest version of the wp software but even that according to those in the forums isn’t necessarily a solution. Aint technology grand?
    Annie

    Like

  2. This you gotta fix! You always find the coolest pics!

    PiedType´s last blog post..About those octuplets …

    Hey 30!
    Thanks for the kudos – and I was really having some fun with photos too since I found a groovy new site that lets you do all kinds of stuff with pics. I’m working on it. Wish me luck.
    😉
    Annie

    Like

  3. Hi Annie,

    I used to have problems uploading pics, but V2.7 of WordPress fixed it. You should make sure you’ve got the latest version installed. Good luck with it.

    the Grit

    the Grit´s last blog post..Evil cows!

    Hey Grit,
    Well thanks for the advice but honestly, it’s the last thing I want to do is upload that nightmare. Yikes. 😉
    Annie

    Like

  4. Well, I am finally all moved into my new abode and back to blogging. I am glad I came here for the laughs. I needed a laugh rather than a box to unpack. I’ll be back. I hope you get your computer stuff all figured out. I am glad I have a son-in-law at my beck and call when my computer messes up.

    joanharvest´s last blog post..Island Living!

    Hey Joanie!
    Glad you got your new place all set and glad to see your face back in these parts. I hope you got a laugh – some of these were pretty good, eh? Is your son-in-law available for rental? 🙄
    Annie

    Like

  5. oooooo I can so relate to that last one!!! lmao

    Hope you get your image loader fixed soon hon

    Mistress B´s last blog post..MILILFS

    Hey B!
    LOL – unfortunately, I can relate to all of them. 😉

    As to the uploader, don’t think it’s going to get fixed – I think I’m going to have to do something… yikes.
    Annie

    Like

  6. About the image thing… well, if it came to the worst you could always just describe the pictures… erm… well, okay, scratch that. :p

    I can understand the frustration though. It’d be like me trying to run my comic strip blog without the comic strips… kinda pointless.

    Hey Tony!
    Yeah, I could describe them…true enough – but as you say, kind of pointless. Also, I have a bit of a rep of being able to find great pics – it’s true I do have this odd talent. I’d hate to deprive others, you know? 😆
    Annie

    Like

  7. Hi Annie,

    Check with your service provider. They probably provide a utility to do it for you – well, mine does anyway.

    the Grit

    the Grit´s last blog post..Where’s the Change?

    Hey Grit,
    I must have lost my train of thought here…provide a utility for what? And what provider do you have, maybe I can switch. 😉
    Annie

    Like

  8. Hi Annie,

    A utility to up grade your WordPress software. My service has such, and it lets me, after a short wait while they get around to noticing the availability of a new release, switch to the latest version with one mouse click. I’ve done this at least six times now without any problem at all.

    I use midPhase, and you can find their link on the right side bar on my blog. At the moment, best I can tell, you’d probably get a better price than I’m paying since they’re running some specials. Which reminds me to email them about cutting me a deal. Good luck with it.

    the Grit

    the Grit´s last blog post..Where’s the Change?

    Hey Grit,
    Oh, now I see what you mean. No, no problems there. In fact, I think you misunderstood…I don’t want to upgrade to the new software you see? It’s always a fricking fiasco whenever I do and personally, I rarely find their improvements to my liking.
    Annie

    Like

  9. Hi there, just dropping by, steered here by WP, and glad of it. I so totally agree with you about the upgrades. Something is always lost in those things and, for me anyway, the new stuff never seems to work as well as the old stuff. Then before ya know it, a new upgrade comes along and suddenly the last upgrade doesn’t look so bad. It’s a slippery slope, I say. Slippery! and all downhill. Oh, right. A slope would be downhill.

    Anyway, I enjoyed (and appreciate your effort in posting) the ‘toons, and totally related to the pie chart! I’m new here, and still building my blog. I actually blogged about losing stuff—I suspected I wasn’t the only one who spends a lot of my precious time looking for stuff I had in my hand just a second ago.

    Well, happy to make your acquaintance! Guess I’d better move along. Gotta change outta these pj’s now and go wash a few dishes. Dang it, why doesn’t the “real” world take care of that automatically? Erk. 🙂

    Hey CBP and welcome,
    LOL – yes we anti-techies are a force to be reckoned with, aren’t we?

    I too, lose stuff on a regular basis and have still not found the magic genie to do my dishes and housework. Drat!

    Thanks for your comment, it really brightened my day.

    WC 😉

    Like

What do you think?

