The Future…

bleached-sun

Is a funny animal – at least to me. In examining it recently I see that I have always regarded it with a wary eye. A bit of distrust and dread. I can’t say why because I don’t know – but I suspect it has to do with failure.

I have gone along in life with a set of goals, some of which reach back to childhood. Some are simple, some are challenging, but most of them are unattained. At least not to the level I want. In my mind, I have looked upon this as failure, which in turn has made me feel that I’m a failure. Whether that is true or not is beside the point because it is my belief alone that it is failure that makes it so. If I were to follow this as logic then it would follow that if I changed my mind, that I wouldn’t be a failure. Does that make sense? It does to me.

I have come to realize that we are what we believe, what we think because by the very process of believing and thinking things we bring them about. If you read any biography of any successful or famous person you’ll notice that belief was paramount in the events of their life. That often, the singular action of believing in their goals and their ability to reach the goal was all that stood between them and failure.

I think now that many of the things that have happened in my life recently had to do with what I thought and I had more influence over the events than I knew. Simply because today I think differently and life is different. I realized the other night, while sitting on the back steps and looking up at the sky that I was thinking about the future and I wasn’t cringing or dreading it. I was looking forward to it. The change of attitude was a shock to me and it made me look back over the last few months with wonder.

I couldn’t tell you what brought about my change in view – just that a change has indeed occurred. I look now upon the future with anticipation and smiles. All of the trials and travails that have led me here were part of the journey I think. What I believed to be failures were only part of the process and will continue to be.

I’m sure I will still have dark days and frustration and wonder if the effort is worth it. However, I know it will pass and my optimism will win again. And that’s how I prefer it. I like to feel hopeful and cheerful about the possibilities. I like to think that things do indeed work themselves out and that I can attain the goals I’ve set for myself and new ones that may pop up. So I choose to be cheerful and hopeful and by so choosing the future looks bright.

7 thoughts on “The Future…

  1. Great post, lady. Now you got me thinking. Goodness, some days I can’t even fathom the future. What it will be like…I think of my grandma who just beat colon cancer at 82. She’s buried two husbands and a son, and beat cancer. What a rock star…you know? I pray I’m made of the same stock….that I will be able to overcome whatever comes my way in the future. Because I don’t know if you can ever be prepared for what’s to come, you have to learn to roll with the punches of life, and sometimes drink from the punch bowl…that’s spiked with rum. Now that sounds like a party I’d want to go to…what do you say? You in?

    Kim´s last blog post..dot-dot-dot

    Oh yeah, I’m always in the punchbowl – and if not a party, at least a post. Yeah, you’re right you never quite know what’s coming your way do you? And yet I have to wonder if we ‘don’t know’ on purpose – so we can have a little surpise in our lives? Know what I mean?

    Annie

    Like

  2. This is really a great post and one I needed to read today—and keep remembering. Two weeks ago my son started the job of his dreams, had quit even pot, was really happy and he got fired already. I am going to concentrate on the upcoming birth of my granddaughter and try not to focus on my son because I can’t change him. Now I am going to read this post again. Thanks Annie!! Love & hugs!!!

    joanharvest´s last blog post..Sunday Shower and I Don’t Mean Rain

    Hey Joanie-bah-boanie –
    I’m telling you, focusing on your soon to be grandchild can only be good for you.

    A friend of mine told me a story the other day and it goes something like this: a young indian brave was conversing with one of the wise men of the tribe and the wise man said to him – ‘In life you will encounter two wolves, a black wolf and a white wolf. The black wolf is the shadow and the fear and can destroy you – The white wolf is of the light and brings love, joy and happiness.’
    The young brave considered this for a moment and then asked, “Which one is the strongest?”
    And the wise man replied, “The one you feed.”

    I love that story and I think it says it all.
    Love & hugs & jugs,
    Annie

    Like

  3. Oh what a lovely uplifting post Annie.

    Thank you…. Belief, wonder hope and future. It all starts with belief doesn’t it weather it be negative or positive. Its strange isn’t how all the years we have been lead to believe by others and by our very own actions and thoughts that we are nothing but failures in the making which in turn sets us up to be failures in the makings.

    That liddle ol’chestnut – Self fullfilling Prophecys. I have quiet a bit of knowledge and experience on the concept self fullfilling prophicies as I kinda got taught about that within my 12 step programming. Identyfiying myself as an addict daily whilst not using drugs for a lot of years eventually took me back to active addiction. Today instead of saying ‘ Hi my names Diane and I’m an addict’ I say ‘Hi my names Diane, I used to use Heroin and now I don’t.
    I love back steps and looking up into the sky and letting God kiss all the worries away. Big love to you Annieo. Your one cool chic and big love to Joans of Mums, I love the little story you just told her and can’t leave Kim out, big love to Kim to.

    (((((((Hugs for the future Yay !)))))))))

    Hey Di…
    I love that you realized that saying you were an addict was reinforcing the idea. Though I understand the concept that support groups are working from by using that phrase – it’s an attempt to get the individual to face their actions. Ironically, it probably greatly affects the recidivism rate – and not in a good way.

    You’re wonderful. I’m glad I know you.

    Love
    Annie

    Like

  4. Hi Annie,

    Speaking of the future, my crystal ball shows me in New Orleans for the next few days 🙂

    the Grit

    the Grit´s last blog post..I’ll be back!

    Hey Grit,
    Well have a good time while you’re there – and go listen to a little Dixieland for me, will you? 😉
    Annie

    Like

  5. Great post! Life’s a highway littered with speed bumps and detours, and sometimes it takes a while to get around them. Glad to hear you’re getting back up to speed again.

    PiedType´s last blog post..What really beat Adam Lambert?

    Hey 30, well I’m doing the best I can to get up to speed in this old jalopy I’m driving around – it takes a while but I think I’ll get there. 😉
    Anni

    Like

  6. That is a wonderful story about the black and white wolves. Sort of says it all. Thanks Annie!!

    Joanie bah boanie!!!

    When I was little my brother used to call me “Joanie baloney full of macaroni”

    Love & hugs
    Joanie

    joanharvest´s last blog post..Password Protected

    Hey Joanie…
    I love that story too. Your little brother sounds like a card. 😉
    Love
    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

