Getting What You Want

assbackwards, getting what you want, mind over matter

I think most of us can agree that the universe is screwier than Obama’s birth certificate. We’re just going along minding our own business, slogging through life as best we can, keeping our heads down and our fingers crossed – but still the universe will find some way of tripping us up. Right?

You wake up, have a great cup of coffee, the sun is shining, you have a fresh pack of smokes and traffic is light. Great. But then you get to work and discover that there is a power outtage and you failed to print out that report that was due today on Friday before you left for the weekend? Or the parking lot is under construction so you have to park on the street three blocks from the office and run back and forth all day to feed the meter? Or your co-worker just got laid off and you have double the workload with no increase in pay and you are likely going to be putting in extra hours at work just to keep up. Sound familar?

After a while too, we start to train ourselves to expect this sort of thing. The classic Murphy’s Law applies here: “Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.” My father had his own version “Hope for the best but expect the worst” I’m sure there are hundreds of variations of this view and all of them came out of the need to be prepared for disaster when and if it strikes. To expect problems and have a backup solution handy just makes sense. Right? Maybe not.

I’ve thought about this lately – in my case I’ve been traveling the universe for months looking for a home. A place where I can truly unpack my belongings and stay there a while. This goal has eluded me and has been a game of cat and mouse and frankly it’s really sucked. I definitely felt a victim of the universe. Nightly I would implore God, “What do I have to do to find a home?” or something like that. Never feeling I got an answer.

But then I started to wonder if I was making it happen somehow. I was creating all of this temporary living stuff without meaning to. No, I’m not talking about the Secret, where my mind was putting out some weird negative thought and because I was all wrapped up in it I got it. I’m talking about something else. I’m talking about the fact that this freeking universe is bass-ackwards. I’m talking about a trick you need to know in order to somehow survive this obstacle course of life. I’m talking about the fact that the uinverse is rigged. Yup. Rigged.

Whoever created this circus ride called life thought it would be tre’s funny to just make everything go in opposites. Like, if you want something then that means you’ll never get it. The more you pray, desire, crave, covet, etc. the further away it gets from you. Like a magnet in reverse – it just won’t stick. Conversely whatever you don’t want you can get in spades. You dont’ want to be stuck in traffic, so you leave early and voila, there is an accident that sticks you in traffic for 3 hours. You don’t want the object of your affection to leave you and boom, he decides he wants to see other people. You don’t want to gain weight so you stop eating, your metabolism slows and now no matter what you eat, you gain weight. Stuff like that, yes?

So, what’s the solution? To try to trick the universe by pretending you don’t want what you want? Or by pretending you do want the things you don’t want? Wow, that seems complicated, doesn’t it? And what a lot of mental exhaustion you could incur that way. No…I don’t think that would work – at least not with any consistent results. I think the answer is indifference. Let me explain.

Have you ever noticed that when you really don’t care – how things turn out that things turn out pretty good? It’s not that you’re in apathy and don’t want things to turn out well, it’s more that you’re  kind of above it – you’ve decided what you want, how you’re going to get it, the actions you need to take to bring it about and then you just go about your business. You don’t spend two hours a day visualizing it. You don’t amass magazines, construction paper and glue to create ‘story boards’ of it. You just say, “I want this to happen” and then you forget about it. Send it out there and just go about your business. Next thing you know it happens or you get it and you’re even a little suprised by the fact that you didn’t have to ‘work’ it.

I think when things do happen this way it’s because it does trick the universe. You aren’t out there sending it messages of what you must have, must get, must accomplish – in fact, you’re sending it no messages at all. So it has no choice but to give you things. It can’t help itself. It has to give things and you won’t play its game, so you win.

Don’t know if I’m right or wrong but I do think I’m onto something here because this almost always turns out to be true for me, anyway. Why not try it? Just say, ‘oh I want this, and this and this’ and then forget about it. Go about your business. Then be surprised when it happens. Because there is nothing better than nice surprises, huh?

4 thoughts on “Getting What You Want

  1. Hi Annieo,

    Laughing all the way through this post, what a great post. The universe is rigged had be nearly falling out of bed (yes Di’s on her lap top). Ha ! I was getting very excited saying ‘yer Annie, yer Annie it is, its bloody rigged, its a dam right conspiricy’ and I was laughing so hard and your theroy of trying to trick the universe. To cool. Loved it.
    Right wonderful Annie..I’m going to try and sort this complicated universe stuff out for you, very simply. Life goes tits up sometimes because its got to and when it does you have to say and honestly say so that your friends can ask the universe to take care off you and sort it all out.

    WE CAN’T ASK THE UNIVERSE FOR OURSELVES. Its just as simple as that I think. Much love Annie and great post. Thankyou.
    Di.

    Hmmm, I don’t know, Di – you certainly have a different perspective than I have here – you could be right. But then you have all that magical faerie dust too – so maybe you have an advantage. 😉
    Annie

    Like

  2. Urmm !! Thinking about what I’ve just said maybe isn’t that simple after all. I think I might of got ‘IT ALL’ wrong. Maybe we do have to pray for ourselves and wish things for ourselves. I dread to think what some of my mates have wished for me, Hehe !! awww. Maybe its just about keeping that loving universal spirit that we all have flowing, free flowing and no matter how tits up it all goes if your spirit is free and is flowing you’ll just become aware of direction.
    Urmm !! No, it’s debatable is all this. I love this post Annie, gonna read it again. Its really funny. I think you’ve got a pretty good slant on things Miss chic. It makes me laugh when you write in this way. Your a very funny smart lady. I’m always gonna pray and wish nice things for you – pray and wish for the spirit to remain free flowing. I think your spirit was flowing pretty freely with this post.
    Love again funny lady
    Di.

    And I always pray and wish for the very best for you too, sweetie. Always.
    Love
    Annie

    Like

  3. Great post, Annie.

    Ya know, there’s actually some science behind what you say here. A recent study at the Univ of British Columbia Dept of Psychology found that our brains are much more active when we daydream. In fact, the brain areas associated with complex-problem solving, once thought to go dormant when we daydream, are really more active than when focused on routine tasks.

    It seems that our two brain networks, reality vs. daydreaming, actually work in parallel, rather than on an either-or these basis as previously thought. What’s more, the more we’re unaware that our mind was wandering, the more both networks are activated.

    From the article

    The study seems to confirm what many of us intuitively understand – if we “sit” on a complicated problem for a few days or hours and let the cogs of our brain churn away in the background, a solution often presents itself unexpectedly.

    So, you really are onto something!

    Interesting, no? 😉
    JOS

    Wow JOS,
    You always find the coolest stuff. Maybe I am onto something. Wouldn’t that be a trip? 😆
    Annie

    .-= JOS´s last blog ..Environmental Extortion =-.

    Like

What do you think?

