Independence Day

independence_day

“Is life so dear or peace so sweet as to be purchased at the price of chains and slavery? Forbid it, Almighty God. I know not what course others may take, but as for me, give me liberty or give me death!” –Patrick Henry

Happy Independence Day everybody. Next to Christmas, this is my favorite holiday because it reminds me of what a unique nation we are and of the incredible people who gave us our independence and at what cost.

A friend of mine did a documentary entitled, America! some years back and the links to all three parts are below. I  encourage you to take the time to watch, it will bring tears to your eyes and make you remember why you and so many others love this country.

America! Part 1

America! Part 2

America! Part 3

And as a final note, please pray for our guys and gals standing in harm’s way around the world, and for their families — especially families of those fallen Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen, Marines and Coast Guardsmen, who granted their lives in defense of American liberty.

Enjoy your day.

3 thoughts on “Independence Day

  1. Oh my gosh! Wonderful!! Yes, the 4th of July has become all about who can have the grandest display of fireworks and/or who can prepare the best stuff to fire up the grill for. So NOT what the 4th is all about. Thank you so much for reminding me of the true intention of what we are celebrating the on the 4th of July for in the first place! Something EVERYONE should truly understand. Thanks for rounding me up 😉

    Hey Kelly,
    I loved the documentary – so real, wasn’t it? I hope a lot of others watch it too. Rounding you up? Oh girlfriend, you were never needing rounding up. 😉
    Annie

    Like

  2. Hi Annie,

    And we should also remember that, like our troops, our Founders were willing to die for their ideas. What a shame that our current rulers aren’t held to the same standard.

    the Grit

    Hey Grit,
    I’m afraid once again, you have a point. I’m not thinking there are any of our rulers to give their lives either. It’s shame and I wonder if we’re being looked upon as the public servants instead of the other way around. Could be.
    Annie

    .-= the Grit´s last blog ..Watching the Change 07/06/09 =-.

    Like

  3. Hi Annie,

    Sorry I scared you. Oh, and the liberals who happen to be in charge at the moment don’t look at us as public servants, but as serfs. Public servants have a choice in the matter, serfs don’t. Blood in the streets is my prediction. And, as you mention, I do at times have a point. If you need proof, look up the current rate of gun sales even in these hard economic times. What was it Dylan said, “There was music in the cafés at night, and revolution in the air?” And, if my aging memory is working correctly, I seem to recall Jefferson mentioning that, “the tree of liberty must occasionally be watered with the blood of tyrants.” Thus, I’m thinking that, if you have any spare cash to invest, the growth stocks of the future will be ammunition manufacturers and makers of stylish body armor.

    the Grit

    Hey Grit,
    No worries, I’m used to being scared. 😉 I was thinking that those stocks you mentioned were just the ticket. I wonder what the stock market of tomorrow will look like – will it have a starting bell or maybe a cannon? I know that Jefferson quote – there is a lot of wisdom in that one.
    Annie

    .-= the Grit´s last blog ..Pick it! =-.

    Like

What do you think?

