Meant to Be

meant to be, fate, destiny, chance, change

Meant-to-be-people who subscribe to this way of thinking often believe it only applies to the mysterious and wonderful things in their lives. While I don’t particularly believe in fate, if there is such a thing then I’d have to accept that meant-to-be applies to the good, the bad and the ugly in life. When bad things happen we like to ask why. When good things happen we say, it was meant-to-be. How does that work, exactly? I’m curious. If the good things are meant to be, aren’t the bad also?

I think they are.

But we like to fiddle with fate and outcomes as the whacky, quirky human animals that we are. When things don’t go as planned we like to say, not meant-to-be. Rather than saying, yeah, it was meant to be. It was meant to be over, done, finished. Meant to last but a few moments.

There are a few rare occurences in my life that I truly believed were meant-to-be and you know what, every one of them came to an end. Which I don’t suppose lessens their meant-to-be-ness – but does probably mean that if something is meant-to-be it isn’t necessarily forever. Perhaps that is where we trip up on this meant-to-be idea. Maybe the meant-to-be’s are temporary rather than permanent. Maybe life and all that happens in it is meant-to-be temporary rather than permanent. It could be and to me, that would make more sense. While it isn’t nearly as comforting to believe that something is temporary rather than there for the rest of your life, it is probably more realistic.

3 thoughts on “Meant to Be

  1. Hi Annie,

    I love this post it’s a bit of a tounge twister of the mind. I think your right maybe the meant-to-be’s are just temporary meants.

    Temporary – fucking – mentals. Hehe!! The meant to be’s might be just tempremental moments. I think the only thing thats meant to be and meant to be forever for the rest of your life is marrage and you can’t even bloody trust them nowadays – although I wouldn’t know about that me being meant to be left on the shelf. Ha ! Left on the shelf she says, thank God I’m on ‘The shelf.’ – A shelf. By myself on a shelf. Chuckling.
    Great post Annieo.
    Love Di

    Di,
    You’re on a roll today. YOu’ve got me laughing and snorting – you one funny girl. All alone on the shelf, poor dear. Here, let’s have some tea and cakes, you’ll feel better, eh? 🙂
    Annie

    Like

  2. I think I totally agree with you.

    While I wouldn’t wish the bad on myself or anyone else it’s the bad that really tests us, teaches us, stretches us and changes us. Without the bad I wouldn’t be who I am, I wouldn’t appreciate the good the way I do, so yes, the bad was meant to be too.

    Hey B!
    Yes, I agree the bad does test us and molds us into who we are as much as anything else, perhaps more. Though sometimes you just want to be an airhead and sing “It’s a lovely day in the neighborhood” you know?

    Good to see you here.

    Annie 🙂

    Like

  3. I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

    Hi Tony,
    Well thank you – but apparently substance is not in great demand in the blogosphere. We all do our own thing I guess. 🙂 Thanks for reading.
    Writer Chick

    Like

What do you think?

