Drama

woe is me

When I was in my twenties, I didn’t truly feel alive unless there was lots of drama around me. Unless my life was just teeming with drama. It made life seem exciting and interesting. Now…not so much.

In fact, if I spend the rest of my life drama-less I’ll be one happy camper. I’ve had more drama than a leather-bound set of Shakespeareian plays on crack, lately. If it’s not one thing, it’s another.

A couple of weeks ago, my sister came to stay with me for a few days. Her friend Marlene came by my house a couple hours before we were to pick up my sister at the airport and we sat around talking. I hadn’t seen Marlene for a few months and so she asked the dreaded question, “So, what’s been going on with you? Why did you move and then come back?”

I shook my head and went into what I hoped was the Reader’s Digest version of my bizarro life for the last year – poor Marlene tried very hard not to laugh but finally bust a gut, apologizing all the while. I laughed too because it was funny. It really was the tale of a very poorly plotted soap opera or sit-com. I mean, truly you can’t make stuff like this up – unfortunately.

It gave me pause after telling the story. I thought, jeez what a freek show you’ve become and I further thought – I don’t want to be a freek show anymore. And I don’t know, a switch clicked or the screw turned or something and I realized while drama was once the bread and butter of my existence, that that changed a long time ago.

That in fact, I don’t like drama – not even a little bit (well, except for my favorite television shows). That really life is too short and there are so many great things in life to be interested in, participate in and partake of that you really don’t need it at all.

So, I’m packing up my drama queen clothes and shipping them off to the thrift store. I’ll miss them from time to time but really they just don’t fit any more.

4 thoughts on “Drama

  1. Shipping them off to the thrift store?? You could make big bucks by selling them to the highest bidder! So many Drama Queens – so few perfect outfits…… 😉 Let the bidding wars begin!

    Oooh Bigtime, do you think Ebay has a drama queen category? 😆

    Wouldn’t that be a hoot?
    Annie

    Like

  2. Hi Annieo

    In fact, if I spend the rest of my life drama-less I’ll be one happy camper. I’ve had more drama than a leather-bound set of Shakespeareian plays on crack, lately. If it’s not one thing, it’s another.

    Oh fuck – That is to funny. Hehe ! My drama queen clothes are to far to small for me now. I’ve got some rip roaring outfits to contribute for a Drama Queen Stall. x

    Hey Chickster, Your back to your old blog. OMG ! I forgot about this blog. I like it here, so many fond memories. Nice to see you here.
    Love Di

    Hey Di,
    Between my drama queen clothes and your drama queen clothes and some of my other girlfriends drama queen clothes, I’ll bet we could open a drama queen shop. Wouldn’t that be a hoot. And I’d make you Queen seamstress too because we’d probably run out of stock pretty quick. Doncha think? 😆

    It’s fun to be back, isn’t it?

    xo
    Annie

    Like

  3. Can I just ship all the drama queens that seem to surround me off to the thrift shop?

    Seriously though I read this nodding my head in agreement.

    Mum and I often joke that we should sell the tales of our family to a soapie show because what we live is at times weirder than anything their writers come up with, but I’ve got to say that I’ve become much better at just letting it drift around me and not getting caught in it these past few years. I’ve got so much better things to fill my head, heart and time with now.

    Yes, let’s do ship all the drama queens to the thrift shop, they should at least work for a living, eh? I love the idea of it all drifting around me – now how do you do that, exactly? That’s an infomercial right there. 😉
    Annie

    Like

  4. As a lifelong Drama Queen, I think I know what you mean. But I have less and less ability to deal with the drama now. I get exhausted and need to “sleep it off.” So a trip to the Salvation Army with those costumes is in order here, too.

    Hope you are doing well. Me? I am OK fer now. 😉

    Hey Sandy!
    Your comment made me laugh and that’s always a good thing in my book. Yup, a trip to the Salvation is in order for many people I can think of – but let’s you and I go together – we can stop at Starbux for a frappe-crappo or whatever on the way back. 😉

    Doing okay, thanks for asking.

    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

