One Dark Night – Theme Friday

one dark night

One dark night I lost a dear friend. Around a fire, amid laughter and drink. The air held a chill and denied summer stars – the moon remained hidden and watched from the window. Snickering.

The knife ever stealth and glinted so faint that the breath which caught in my throat sang mirthful and gay. But the creature that traveled my spine and whispered warning made my eyes turn in search of the culprit. And I saw. And I denied. And I knew. But could not say. Words would not help me. My voice would not reach.

The deed was done. My fall was complete. I was over. Shattered to ruins. So much dust dancing on air. Vanquished from memory. Relegated to trash on the curbside, waiting for pick up. Betrayal complete.

copyright 2009

What dark night is Christine in?

themefrilogo

 

3 thoughts on “One Dark Night – Theme Friday

  1. I get this. Nothing like a knife in the back to frighten one off- for a while at least- from reaching out, opening up, feeling confident.

    The world is scary enough without such incidents.

    “The air held a chill and denied summer stars – the moon remained hidden and watched from the window. Snickering.” Me likes. Me likes a lot.

    Hey Chica,
    Well, you just never know what is going to come from a prompt, do you? I rather liked that line myself. Life is interesting, it really is. Thanks cutie.

    Annie

    Like

  2. Hi Themed Annie Dark night.

    Wow!

    That was a dark night – sat amongst friend’s laughing and drinking and….And I saw. And I denied. And I knew. But could not say.

    Sat amongst friend’s with ‘A’ voice that’s not worth hearing – that’s the darkess of dark. Its dark hurt. I get this too. Thanks for sharing this story Annieo, a great theme for nearly Halloweeen. Hey Am I a poet ~ smiling ~.

    Love Di

    Hey Di,
    I know you get it and I’m glad. Yes, dark for almost Halloween. What is it about Halloween that brings out the ghouls? 😉
    Love
    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

