Clanging Spoons – Theme Friday

spoons theme friday

The computer hums and snickers a nag like clanging spoons upon my beloved soup pot. And it cries, “Pay attention to me!”

But I refuse my electro-taskMaster and languish over recycled morning coffee. At the window, the last vestige of daylight offers itself and chittering birds, fluff for sleep.

The ice cream truck chirps its incongrous tune then fades fast into the still of nightfall. Spaghetti sauce simmers on the stove and my ‘thank-God-it’s-the-end-of-the-work-day’ cigarette plumes with more grace than I can muster. (Oh, my aching back and throbbing feet.) Tells my brain: RelaxStop thinking – Give it a rest.

Emails and obligations await. Dust bunnies conspire to ambush. And that laundry is not going to put itself away. (Damn it.)

Still, I stick. Watch the final light fade and fold into the night sky.

Home. It’s good to bE.

copyright 2009

themefrilogo

 

What’s clanging Christine’s spoon?

4 thoughts on “Clanging Spoons – Theme Friday

  1. I love the line about the cigarette smoke. The idea of this- how many times do all of us attempt to drown out that clanking? I’m glad the speaker succeeded this time.

    It’s inspiring.

    Hey Chica,
    You know what, if you try, it works. And taking that ten minutes makes a difference. It really does.

    Annie

    Like

  2. I need some major downtime.
    I’m not sure when it’s coming but hopefully soon. 🙂

    Hey Girl,
    Don’t we all? No rest for the wicked, or is that the weary? Hope you get some downtime soon.
    Hugs,
    Annie

    Like

  3. Hi Annie,

    Yes me to c – loved that line. I think its no rest for those that can’t rest or don’t have time to do it or maybe it is the wickid or weary.Love to all and plenty of resting time.
    Love Di.

    Hey Di,
    Doesn’t look there is any rest in my immediate future – but I’m not complaining.

    Love
    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

