The Meaning of Christmas

There have been probably thousands of words devoted to this question. What is the meaning of Christmas? There are countless novels and stories devoted to the theme, most notably the Christmas Carol and The Gift of the Magi, countless movies and the famous editorial Yes Virginia, There is a Santa Claus yet still, we seem to ponder.

Perhaps because we all see a different meaning in Christmas. For some of us it means stress and disappointment and lonliness – conjuring long-gone memories of happier times. For others it’s about gifts and family gatherings, sleigh rides and pumpkin pie. Still others see it as a time to help those less fortunate than they are.

For me, it is a mixed bag of fun, stress, presents, old memories good and bad, carols, Christmas trees, joy and sadness. It is about having emotions at full tilt, the hope meter at full throttle and ultimately acceptance of what my life is and shall become. The celebration that ends the year that has come before it and the hopes that foster what could be in the coming year. There is never enough time, nor money to do it up right – there is always some disaster or disappointment, yet it is my favorite time of year.

It is the time of year when most of us open our arms and our hearts to let others in. When we forgive and forget. When we gather round a fire or a football game. When we laugh and smile a little easier and sleep a little happier. When we don’t care how many calories are in something, or how our asses look in an outfit. When we wave to our neighbors and smile and exude patience in lines at the post office or the department store. Open doors for little old ladies and don santa hats and reindeer ears as though it is a perfectly normal thing to do. A sort of free pass to be our most childish and silly selves and see the wonder in simple things. Think about others instead of ourselves.

So, I wish you the happiest of Christmases – joy in the simple things and delight in unexpected events. Peace on Earth, goodwill to men, blessed family and friends.

Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night.

WC

copyright 2009

2 thoughts on “The Meaning of Christmas

  1. Annie!!!!!!! I have been so bad about visiting and I haven’t been good about my google reader either. I even once went over a month without posting myself recently! Gasp! Hard to believe for me who was so addicted to blogging! LOL. I was so happy to see your comment at my place because you have helped make the blogosphere a nice place for me and I wanted to thank you for that. I hope 2010 brings many wonderful things for both of us. May your Christmas make good memories. Lots of love to you!

    Teens!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Merry, merry Christmas to you too honey. And the best ever year for 2010. Lots of love back, honey. 🙂
    Annie

    Like

  2. Ditto Teeni!? I hope you had a pleasant Christmas and may you have a BLESSED NEW YEAR! hugs, Care

    Hey Care,
    I surely did have a nice Christmas. So much better than last year. LOL. Blessed new year to you too my friend. Always.

    Hugs,
    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

