Teapot – Theme Friday

I’m a little teapot, short and stout – here is my handle, here is my spout…” Before I ever knew what those words meant, I sung them to amuse grown ups. Mommy…Daddy…aunties and uncles.  The words gave me a fleeting power to command the eyes, ears and attention of adults. For those few moments, I ruled, cavorted, made them laugh and praise me — using my blond ringlets and fetching dimples to their maximum power.

It wasn’t long though before I connected the words to the vessel that made tea. A wonderous liquid with healing capabilities far beyond touted claims. The power to comfort. The power to reassure. The power to warm. The power to make a sick little girl feel not so sick, not so lonely.

And tea had its greatest power when I was ill. Mama always made me tea and toast whenever I was sick. Oddly, when I was sick and Mama went through the tea and toast ritual it was the only time I felt unconditional love emanating from her. Bringing a tray into my darkened sick room, Mama spoke softly – felt my forehead and smiled at me as though I were the center of the universe. Truth be told, there were times when I wasn’t as sick as I pretended to be. I craved her love so—to be the owner of all her attention and care. To remove my siblings from the equation…

Granny’s teapot, a relic we inherited, was once grand and lovely. All the way from County Cork Ireland it traveled to find its new home in America. I don’t much remember Granny because she left us when I was very small.  Eyes the color of jade, clear and unmutuable—hands white as milk with fine blue veins pulsing beneath the skin.

That teapot became Granny in my mind – fine structure, but ancient in its wage against time.  Pale and edged in faded gold and a spray of faded pink roses front and back. And from it came comfort, strength, love and reassurance. And I cried the day it finally died by suicide from a high pantry shelf. Tea never tasted the same after that and I spend my weekends looking for another Granny teapot and the curative powers it imparted.

copyright 2010

What powers does Christine’s teapot have?

3 thoughts on “Teapot – Theme Friday

  1. Sure, melt me on a Friday morning! 😉
    You bring back memories of my own. The sound of grandma’s breathing as my head was leaned against her chest as she was reading me a story. Almost as good as tea.

    Definitely as good as tea! 🙂
    Love
    Annie

    Like

  2. I think this is just terrific. I find it kindred that my link to you is the first line from that song, that we both mention tea and its wondrous abilities and discuss the tea pot as an heirloom.

    Though Granny’s tea pot has succumbed to time, the memories are still intact and that’s the best, most important part.

    Hey Chica,
    I guess I just answered this in my mind (lol). Sowwy.

    Yeah, looks like we both strolled down a memory lane of teapots so to speak. I love how certain objects hold such affection in our memories. Though, I have to admit, this was a tough prompt for me.

    Love
    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

