Splogger Round-up

I don’t know about you, but when inept bloggers cull the internet stealing other bloggers’ content, it really pisses me off. It particularly pisses me off when it’s my content being stolen. And it’s not just the theft that is annoying – it’s the fact that often these deadbeats lift the content and put it on their useless ripoff sites so that Google or other search engines will sense they have content instead of just endless ppc ads. Since Google and other search engines use bots to crawl, the bots can’t tell that they are being tricked. Plus there is the downside of having your content asssociated with these hideous huckster sites. They give you a link to your site. So you should be happy right? It’s gets you traffic, right? I’m sure that’s the justifyer. But that is sort of like saying a convicted criminal recommended your services. Not the kind of endorsement any ethical or honest blogger is looking for, is it?

Although I cannot stop them from lifting my content and pretending I have some association with these lowlifes I can at least reveal them to some degree. So, here is a list of current sites that are out there lifting, lying and using the labor of others. Perhaps you too have seen them on your stats page as a ‘referral’ (we use the term loosely) and sending you traffic?

htt://cervens.net/legionbbs123/showthread.php?10550-My-man-is-home-soon…
htt://healthfitnesstherapy.com/
htt://langkawicentre.com/
htt://1harga.com/blog/?page_id=2
htt://hostdo.co.cc/?page_id=2
htt://1harga.com/blog/?paged=2
htt://healthfitnesstherapy.com/
htt://loanrefinances.info/fha-home-loan-refinance-save-money-with-a-fha-home-loan-refinance
htt://langkawicentre.com/
htt://mambang-x.com/tag/song
htt://greenweightlosstea.net/authentic-best-fat-burning-exercise/
htt://taikpalat.co.tv/seo-tools/investing-in-seo-tools/
htt://topseoview.info/?p=43
htt://tipstohairremoval.com/?tag=caress
htt://investmentfinancing.bloggerreviews.org/Joint_Ventures,_What_it_is_About
htt://businessweb-hosting.co.cc/?p=102

As you may note, I deleted one letter from each of the urls, lest I give them traffic. But the pertinent information is there. While I doubt this will drive the slimeballs back under the rocks from whence they came. It at least makes me feel a little better in exposing them.

And once again, I would float the suggestion to wordpress, to offer us a no-copy function – so that this sort of thing is discouraged. And thereby make people who want to create websites and get traffic to have to create their own content in order to get it, rather than stealing from others.

Writer Chick

copyright 2010

One thought on “Splogger Round-up

  1. Yes, I just had a referral from that “healthfitnesstherapy” site, which is why I then googled it (and came across your blog – I didn’t waste time on theirs!) There is also another one I can’t work out if it is dogdy or not, that I’ve had “referrals” from, called alphainventions….the result of a wordpress forum seemed to be that alphainventions is a genuine attempt to help people increase their traffic. In any case, when I start reading about how these sites assist people to increase their traffic, that just makes me immediately feel quite sure that, despite the thrill I feel when ever there is another “view” on my blog that indicates that someone has read it (or at least looked at it), I’d rather have 5 views from the small group of people who are aware of my blog, than associate my blog to sites like these, that are impersonal and based on increasing traffic, and whose content I am not the least bit interested in, just for the sake of numbers!

    Hi Maria & welcome,
    Yes, splogging is a real problem for most the bloggers I know. Alphainventions I don’t have much of an issue with as they seem to just be a clearinghouse that refers people to others’ blogs based on topic. Much like the directory services like blogzilla, etc. But the healthfitness whacamacallit you mentioned as well as dozens of others are the ones that drive me nuts. They literally have no content of their own, just ppc ads and they cull the blogosphere for posts using keywords that they are trying to rank for. So basically you are writing content and they are making money from it. Bastids.

    On the other hand it’s probably smarter just to carry on and do your thing and not let your energy get wrapped up in what theives do. I truly believe people who steal get what they truly deserve in the end.

    Thanks for stopping by and feel free to come by any time.

    Writer Chick

    Like

What do you think?

