Gratitude

These days I know that it is sometimes really difficult to feel gratitude for what you have. With the economy flailing and the job market dwindling, just keeping your head above water can be a real challenge. At least it has been for me. Let’s face it, times are tough – for pretty much everyone.

Still I like this concept of gratitude – being grateful for your blessings. No matter how small or meager they may seem, we all have something to be grateful for and often more than the next guy. So I have decided to dedicate a post a week to gratitude. To say thank you for my blessings. So this week I am grateful for…

The people I have known throughout my life. The nice people, the mean people, the stern, and the happy people. People who have inspired me to be a better person, people who have taught how not to be by example, people who have made me laugh, people who have offered help when I was too proud to ask.

I am grateful to have witnessed true grace under pressure, kindness in any form, and advice given, even if unneeded.

For the sunshine that I experience most days and the many walking paths ready for my feet and sense of adventure – always with a view of the mountains and wild flowers.

For books that entrance me, educate me and expand my horizons.

For music that calms me and transports me out of a bad day.

For the technology that makes my life easier and better. And in fact has changed my life.

I am grateful for the good soil in my backyard that enables me to grow my own vegetables.

For my goofy little dog who is always my friend and greatest admirer.

For daffodils, chocolate, movies and obscenely strong coffee.

Today I am grateful for everything I do have and everything I do not have.

What are you grateful for?

WC

Copyright 2010

4 thoughts on “Gratitude

  1. Heh yup it is me, your ever lovin long haired bearded ex trucker. Hi Annie, I missed ya.

    I keep a gratitude list and people I know always take up a lot of space. My lovely wife is always #1 and believe it or not you always make the top 5.

    Top on my list is God’s mercy and grace to let my feet hit the floor once again everyday. I remember where I have come from and where I have been. It could just as easily been radically different if you know what I mean.

    Heck my dog Ginger usually does not make the list till about the fourth or fifth entry down.

    Luv ya and hope you and yours are doing well. God willin someday I AM gonna come visit. Sigh.

    Aw Squawky, you’re such a sweetie. I made the top five? Wow, I’m touched. Yes, I do know what you mean about how things could be radically different. But we won’t go there. 😉

    Love youse guys too – and yep, God willing, our paths in the non-virtual world will indeed cross. How are your folks doing?

    love ya,
    Annie

    Like

  2. I’m grateful my ass still fits in my desk chair so I can read what you write.

    LOL! I’m greatful for readership, whether standing or sitting. 😆
    A

    Like

  3. This is a great blog. Taking inventory of the things we are grateful for is so therapeutic! I am so grateful for all the really great people in my life – the friends that you know are always there. Like you m’dear.

    Cora! Welcome to the blog. 🙂

    I agree, taking inventory is therapeutic. It also just changes your perspective – it’s so easy to focus on all the ‘bad’ stuff or things that aren’t going your way that the good stuff gets lost. I plan to do a post like this every week, for myself and hopefully to inspire others.

    I’m grateful for you too, m’dear – wow, all the years, huh?

    Love
    A

    Like

What do you think?

