Gratitude – The Truth

This week I am grateful for the truth. In all its many forms. The look that tells it all. The touch that conveys meaning. An honest belly laugh. And the truth that humbles and humiliates – that makes me see I have a long way to go. That I cannot phone it in and expect much in return. That facing up and starting over is so much better than a free pass.

The facts. A candid assessment. Because facts don’t judge or give you extra points for style, looks or pedigree. Facts  just are. Because the truth is something I can work with. Something I can get my teeth into and taste, digest.

So I thank anyone who tells me the truth, even when it hurts. Even when it changes something I’d rather not change. Even when it sends me down a new and tenuous path. Even when I don’t like it very much. It is still the best friend a girl can have.

copyright 2011

What do you think?

