Fourth of July in a Small Town

I have lived in my little town for several years now and although I was aware that we had a parade on significant holidays, I never attended any. This year I resolved to attend the 4th of July parade and I’m glad I did.

It was not a fancy parade, with shiny, big bands and Hollywood celebrities – no, it was just a slice of Americana in it’s most humble attire. Flags of course were everywhere and a few thousand of us (which would be most of the town) lined Foothill Boulevard to watch the official kickoff of the celebration under the hot July sun.

I found a perch outside the local Starbuck’s, ready with travel-mugged coffee and a bottle of icy water. Camera in hand and really feeling like a little kid, excited and proud.

The crowd donned all manner of headgear, carried mundane and imaginative seat options and vendors pushed carts filled with cotton candy, popcorn, ice cream and cold drinks.

I ended up taking almost two hundred pictures, so into it was I that I hardly knew which pictures to share. But after much deliberation I chose about 20 that should tell you how the parade proceeded:

       

     

 

             

 

 

 

 

Now, I don’t know about you or your town and whether you have a parade for the 4th but I have to say it was fun, even getting sprayed by the water truck was a hoot and I most decidedly felt proud to be an American afterward. We are a unique country and unique people who by and large are proud of their hard-fought heritage and parades are a fun and cheery way of showing it. Now there are studies that say if you attend such parades you run the risk of growing up a Republican – oooh, now that’s scary isn’t it? Puleez – on this day of all days we are simply Americans, one and all and celebrating the birth of our wonderful nation.

God Bless and Happy 4th –

I’m heading home to fire up the barbie.

WC

Copyright 2011

2 thoughts on “Fourth of July in a Small Town

  1. Love it! Especially Bagpipe Dude on the unicycle. Haven’t been to a parade like this since I was a kid. Nice to know they still exist. Have a great Fourth of July!

    Hey Girl,
    Happy 4th! Yeah bagpipe dude opened the parade and was quite good bag-piping patriotic ditties whilst cycling. Impressive. It was a real hoot.
    Annie

    Like

  2. Isn’t it great to live in a small town that has these types of parades? I wasn’t able to enjoy such a treat until I moved from Brooklyn to a small town in PA. I love it! 🙂
    (And what a bonus that there’s a better chance of my children becoming Republicans now – :-/ )

    Great pictures, Annie!
    Glad you had such a nice weekend,
    Debi

    Hey Debi!
    It is nice to live in a small town – I’m originally from a small town in Michigan, so I guess at heart I’m a small town girl- (wow, I just used small town three times in a sentence, lol.) I’ve been to other parades, where the displays were very beautiful and slick but there’s something about seeing your neighbor marching down the main drag that just makes it more personal I guess. And then there is the added benefit of just standing in your front yard and being able to see fireworks in three directions.

    Yes, it is a bonus that your kids will grow up to be Republicans – lol- what slayed me about that article is that they seemed to be indicating it was a bad thing. Go figure. Hope you had a great 4th!
    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

