Why social media may not be all that

social media is not all that

Yep, I said that out loud.  I can hear all the twitterers and social media gurus gasping now. Too bad.

Social media is freeking everywhere these days.  You can’t read an article, watch a television show or go to a gas station without seeing those cute little icons plastered all over the place.

Chances are if you’ve ever spoken to any marketing person about promoting your business, one of the first things out of their mouth was, “You simply must be doing social media.  You have to be on Face Book and Twitter.”

 

Is it true? I don’t know

Is social media even right for you?

In this digital world it’s easy to believe that we all have to jump in and do what everybody else is doing and so we do.

I have a Twitter account.  I have a Face book page. I have a blog.  So, why am I down on social media?  Well, in my case social media hasn’t really done much for me lately.  Frankly, I’m not even sure how to use it.  Or more to the point I am completely mystified as to how others use it so well.

For many of us, the idea of gleefully conversing with people we don’t know about things we aren’t interested in makes us break into a cold sweat.

Here are my problems with Twitter:

  1. I can’t figure out the language.  I’ve read countless articles, gone to webinars, had conversations about Twitter.  But for the life of me RT @ # look like gobbledygook on my Twitter feed.
  2. People follow me for no reason.  Nearly every day I get a notification from Twitter that some fellow tweeter is following me.  I look at their profile and shrug.  Why me? I wonder.  No answer as far as I can tell.
  3. It seems like a numbers game.  Apparently the social proof is in who follows you and how many of those who’s follow you.  For some reason it makes me feel like I’m back in high school heading the geeky girl club again.
  4. It takes too much time.  Ironic right?  Since the tweets are a max of 140 characters you’d think I could swoop in and out of my Twitter account.  And some clearly can.  Not me.  I get so hung up trying to figure out what everybody is talking about and why people I don’t follow are in my feed that I can lose an hour just like that.

Here are my problems with Face Book:

  1. They are totally OCD.  Face book just is incapable of leaving well enough alone.  They are constantly changing things whether  you like it or not and you never have the choice to opt out.  Take the timeline thing.  I hate it.  But I’m stuck with it.  Why does face book think they know how to represent me better than I do?
  2. Sponsored ads and paid posts.  It’s not bad enough that they are always trying to get you to give them access to your email contacts and running non-stop ads on the sidebar til  you want to puke – but now you’ll see ads in your own feed.  What the hell? Hate that.
  3. Notifications gone wild.  It got to the point that I was getting so many notifications in the email box that I had to turn them off completely.  Which is too bad because there are some things I’d like to get a notification on.  But after a hundred, ‘your friend Burt farted yesterday’ type notifications I had to put my foot down.
  4. It’s so saturated with marketeering that I can’t find or see the people I signed up for Facebook  to see and find.  My reason for jumping into Facebook was really to stay in touch with friends and family.  But my feed is so jammed with everything else, it’s hard to even see anybody in the mess.
  5. It makes it too easy for people to spy on and stalk you.  You may not know this but lawyers are regularly checking out Facebook pages. Yep, if you are going through a divorce, then limit your page to close friends and don’t talk about anything that could hurt you or help your spouse.  Also, talking about when you won’t be home or places you are going will only make it easier for your stalker to track you.

I don’t hate social media – but I don’t love it either

Don’t  get me wrong, I don’t hate social media but to be honest it’s not really all that for me.  I think that social media does have great potential for the right kind of people.  And social media will probably work great for you if:

  1. You are a social animal and love talking to strangers about anything and everything.
  2. Sharing your every thought about every topic under the sun gets your engine roaring.
  3. Glad handing is your natural style.
  4. You have your smart phone, and i Pad glued to your hip at all times.
  5. You’d rather text, tweet, report your status or otherwise chat it up than anything else.

The social retard revolution

Only you know if social media works well for you, whether you use it for promoting your business or hanging out with your buddies.  However, I think that we who aren’t comfortable with it, not good at it and don’t understand it, should just admit it.  Maybe we should have a social retard revolution and just say no.  I mean, aren’t we all individuals?  Do we have to always run with the crowd? Or could we maybe just maybe dance to the beat of our own dysfunctional drums?

What do you think about social media? Is it all that for you? Tell me how?

3 thoughts on “Why social media may not be all that

  1. There is so much I don’t understand about twitter…

    I think social media is great if you enjoy it, but I don’t use sites I don’t have fun with. Facebook, yes. Twitter, sometimes. But I don’t think I’ve ever used my LinkedIn profile (or completed it for that matter), I don’t know what a Triberr is, and I only use Google+ for one writing group that does hangouts every once in a while. I’m not going to waste my time on all of this stuff that’s probably not going to help me and that is just going to frustrate me while it sucks up time I could be using on more important things.

    Hi Kate,
    LOL about Twitter – I don’t understand Twitter at all.

    I tried checking out Triberr but couldn’t even get on their site. Then a friend sent me a link to a blog post about Tribrr that made me decide not to bother with it. Linked In oy! I can never get on their site at all – not even long enough to delete my account.

    I agree, don’t waste your time on stuff that isn’t helpful and you don’t enjoy. I’ve been trying to follow the same policy.

    Thanks for your comments.

    Annie

    Like

  2. My blog sends automatic feeds to Twitter and Facebook as a service to readers who follow me that way, but that’s it. I don’t touch social media otherwise. Facebook, notably, has had serious issues with privacy and is currently under FTC sanction for privacy violations. If you think you’re getting something for nothing (like a social media service), then you and your information are the product — being sold or given to countless other business partners and advertisers.

    Like

    1. Hey Girl,
      Yeah, you nailed it. I do pretty much the same on Twitter as you do – link my blog posts to it and that’s about it. Otherwise I’m just totally lost on that site.

      Facebook I’m more active on but mostly on a personal level with friends and such – although I do have an author page.

      But you’re right – the ‘free’ comes with strings attached and that is you and your data. One of the reasons I do very sparse profiles and give as little info as possible on social media sites.

      Anyway…we all had lives and managed to muddle through before social media came along – so I’m thinking somehow we social media dweebs will survive. 🙂
      Annie

      Like

What do you think?

