Happy Constitution Day

happy constitution dayIf you’re anything like me,  you slept through most of American history when you were in school.  Sadly, I can’t get those days back and I wish I hadn’t opted for napping rather than learning about my country’s history.

Happily, now that I am older and wiser I have taken classes, read numerous books and have educated myself on our actually really amazing history.  And I have become particularly enamored of the Constitution and the Declaration of Independence.  The more I study these documents, the more I realize just how brilliant the American experiment is.

Constitution Day commemorates the formation and signing of the U.S. Constitution by thirty-nine brave men on September 17, 1787, recognizing all who, are born in the United States or by naturalization, have become citizens.

If you have any desire to refresh your memory or enhance your understanding and knowledge of the Constitution, boy do I have links for you.

I know that a lot of people think America is arrogant or bad in other ways but you have to ask yourself, if we are so bad why are people willing to risk their lives just to live here?  In fact, we are special, we are unique and I don’t think there is any shame in saying so – but the foundation of that exceptionalism lies in our founding documents and the men brave enough to fight for true freedom.

So go red, white and blue and happy Constitution Day everyone. 🙂

 

Writer Chick

One thought on “Happy Constitution Day

  1. I never cease to be amazed by how interesting history is NOW. Why wasn’t it interesting in school? Because we lacked perspective? Maturity? Because the teachers were bad? I really don’t know.

    Yes, ours is a pretty amazing history, unique in many ways. But exceptional? I have trouble with that term. Different, yes. One of a kind, sure. But I cringe when our leaders speak of our “exceptionalism” as though we are better than other nations. It makes us look haughty and arrogant to others, and I think we need to avoid that. Even as a kid, I knew that bragging was not a good thing.

    Hey Girl,
    I’ve been thinking about you – hope all is well on the homefront.

    I think our interest in our history grows as we live and experience life. When you’re young I think you gravitate to what’s new – that is the energy of youth.

    As to the term exceptional – yes politicians have made that a dirty word. But unique is another way of saying exceptional in my mind. I don’t think it makes us haughty or arrogant at all. Speak to anyone who has come from another country and lives here now and nine times out of ten they will say, America is the greatest country in the world. There is a reason for that. And it is because the country and how it was formed and the principles on which it was based was and still is exceptional – personal liberties originated with us, nowhere else in the world. Human rights, religious freedom, free speech all were part of the American experiment and it was and still is exceptional. I think that perhaps people feel uncomfortable with that phrase is because they think Americans are bragging about themselves when in fact they mean it culturally – not about themselves particularly.

    America is the only country that believes that the individual is important, that we aren’t all part of some state or collective conglomeration – that we don’t belong to the state or the community, that free will and personal liberty and sovereignty inspires greater innovation, discovery and expansion. And frankly, I think that’s been proven to be true.

    And for those who think that makes Americans arrogant tells me that they don’t know Americans. By and large we aren’t arrogant, we give more to charity than any other nation in the world, we give more aid, we always send people and help in any catastrophe anywhere in the world and never ask for anything in return. Isn’t that exceptional? I think it is.

    Anyway, the world continues to turn.

    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

