Technology, Computers, and Me

computer-1071694_640

So about a week ago, while I stepped away from my computer to refill my coffee cup my computer refused to boot. Odd thing was that it had already booted up. Naturally, the dreaded thought of all computer users popped into my head: Virus.

I was ever so glad that I have an external hard drive that I use for back up. Because otherwise I’d have had to shoot myself.

Well, despite my crying, pleading, and begging the computer just wouldn’t boot up and in fact gave me the boot. I called around and spoke to a couple of computer repair guys who apparently didn’t need the work because they told me I could buy a new computer for what they’d charge me.

I didn’t believe them, but lo and behold they were not lying. I found just the baby I wanted and ordered it on Black Friday. Gotta love it when timing and big sales come together right?

Of course that meant it would be a week before I had my new computer. So, I pulled out my ancient eMachines (do they even make those anymore?) computer which I shoved in the closet seven years ago and set it up. It groaned, it whirred, it made this awful grinding noise but it worked. Of course doing anything more than writing in Word and checking my emails was about all I could get out of it. And even then it was iffy. But somehow I managed. (Still, I felt like Fred Flintstone trying to work with a chisel and stone tablet).

It is funny though how we get so used to things going lightning fast that when they don’t, we get upset and tense. Could explain some of the road rage you see these days, right?

Then I got the new computer and you want to talk about fast – wow – I had no idea what I was missing. I really must come out of my cave more often and see about all this new-fangled high technology stuff.

So, I guess the moral of this story is that I’m an idiot but things worked out in the end anyway.

mre thumbnailBTW, I’m doing a Kindle countdown on M.urder R.eady to E.at (Book 2 of Scotti Fitzgerald Series) tomorrow and Wednesday. You can get all that fun and adventure for a mere 99 cents. And please do. Okay – end of plug.

Hopefully, once I learn how to ride my new computer I’ll be able to do things like tweet and facebook and other fun stuff.

Annie

6 thoughts on “Technology, Computers, and Me

    1. And I did and I do. God bless external hard drives. Also, we were able to pull files off the hard drive using a thing I think is called an aggregator? I just dragged and dropped everything I wanted into my external hard drive and it was all good. Gotta love technology right? 😀

      Like

  1. I have terrible bad luck with laptops, although I am excruciatingly careful in handling them. But somehow they always quit on me anyway… You’re not alone in your plight, Annie. Hugs ❤

    Like

    1. Hi Ramona,
      I was just thinking about you the other day – wondering if you’d gone on holiday for the month. Actually, that sounds nice, doesn’t it? A month long vacation?

      I’ve had one laptop in my life and three months after I got it – it quit. I never replaced it. Not sure why. 😀

      I know everybody had computer problems and all of us seem to need them to get through our daily lives. Although there are days when I long for simpler times when computers didn’t have so much control of our actions.

      Thanks 😀

      Like

What do you think?

