Best – Theme Friday

The best laid plans…I have many. All the time. Every day. Every week. But I keep breaking those promises to myself. Funny because I always keep my word to everyone else, I follow through, I do the do I said I would do. But the promises made to self seem to matter less. As though what others think of me trumps what I think of myself.

You know best…I am beginning to see what you meant in that not so long ago. For as crazy as you are you did know best when it came to the words. Not everyone writes the real but rather an altered reality designed to bring praise and sunshine but without revelation. Yes, the words matter because they are all we have to give. What we leave behind. Slivers of our souls that we part with before we stand naked before God and await judgment.

Hope for the best…I do, really, I do. I lean in close to seek the truth. My nose pressed up against the words that paint the images. Mine and theirs. I look hard but often fail to see. I listen but sometimes miss the notes. And my hope is the gauze that filters the view. Yes, I can see the ugly and the mean – the raw and the hopeless. And yet I hope for the best, hope that gleam on the edges will grow brighter and warmer. And that our glasses are always full.

copyright 2011

Christine’s best and Clancy’s best

4 thoughts on “Best – Theme Friday

  1. Oh, boy, Annie. I hope that, too. All of that. With all my heart.

    Well Clancy, I guess that makes two of us, eh?
    Annie

    Like

  2. Three ways of best. These hadn’t even popped up in my search for options. You know best is very mysterious, thought provoking. Words matter, but it seems fewer people believe that anymore- which is sad. Of course, whether people believe it or not doesn’t take away the power of words. It just means that words are more often flung about and consumed carelessly.

    Very good.

    When best came up I immediately thought of idioms – there are so many with the word best in them. In fact I think I found about 50 of them. The ones that spoke to me ended up in the post.

    I agree about words, people don’t love them the way they used to – maybe texting and emails have made them seem less important – still, they have power, appreciated or not.

    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

