Ten Signs That You Were Meant to be a Writer

pencil nose

Ever wonder if you were meant to be a writer? If so, the following may help you decide.

1. You’re more comfortable making stuff up than dealing with reality

You can spend the day, imagining strange new worlds, a new language or a new superpower. When you were a kid, the other kids came to you for creative solutions to ditching school. No matter how much trouble you get into, you always manage to talk your way out of it. You’re damn good at making stuff up.

2. You’ve worked in at least five different careers and none of them stuck

You’re a multi-tasker. You seem to be good at everything. But you get bored easily – once you’ve mastered something (or just gotten the hang of it) you tire of it and move onto the next thing. Alternately, you know a little bit about a lot of things. But no matter how nice the office or how pretty the benefits you just can’t get excited about anything that doesn’t involve making stuff up.

3. Rather than looking away, you study people who do weird things in public

Weird people doing weird things, especially in public attracts you like nothing else. You could watch them for hours and never get tired of it. Often you take notes and rush home to tell your significant other about the weird guy who could play Rhapsody in Blue on his lips. Weird is just cool, right?

4. You have an incessant need for people to pay attention to you but you can’t sing, dance or act

You crave attention. You try hard. You could be a perfectionist (which is not to say you’re a clean freak). You want people to notice you – you may try to impress them with your knowledge of rare cracked china teacups, or the proper way to load a musket or other unending sources of trivia that live in your head. Deep in your heart you long to entertain or enlighten others but know you can’t get away with it in person – hence the need to make up characters who can get away with it.

5. You quote yourself on Facebook and Twitter

Nuff said.

6. Your only use for reality is research

Reality is boring unless it somehow feeds into or validates a storyline, character arc, or fictional scientific breakthrough. You’d rather live in any of the worlds where you make stuff up.

7. Your idea of aerobics is meeting your daily word count

Gyms, leotards and yoga do nothing for you. But trying to meet your totally unrealistic daily word count makes you break into a sweat that requires three showers and five clothes changes a day.

8. You can successfully carry on both sides of a conversation

You don’t need friends. You know how to be the good guy and the bad guy. You can speak in accents. You can pull off any personality affectation known to man. You can spend the day having conversations with your many selves and feel complete content.

9. You’re attracted to all things strange and weird – people, places, buildings, pets, foods, movies, you name it – if it’s weird it fascinates you

Accidents, acts of nature, strange food, weird bugs, the homeless guy in the park who talks to the mirror glued to his hand all fascinate you. You never tire of anything that is odd, unusual, strangely attractive and magically menacing.

10. People describe you as quirky, different, unique, or interesting

Reliable, responsible, stable, grounded are not typically the words people use to describe you. You’re quirky, unusual, weird, a laugh riot, even ca-razy but never normal.

So what about you? When did you know you were a writer?

Writer Chick
Copyright 2015

26 thoughts on “Ten Signs That You Were Meant to be a Writer

  1. #1, #3, #4, #5, #6, #8, #9, #10.

    I knew I was a writer when I started acing those spelling tests from one of my classes 3 years ago. I never realized that I was that good until my professor asked me to write an essay. From there, I knew that I had a future of being a writer.

    Like

    1. Interesting, I had a teacher who pointed it out to me too. Up til then I just thought I was strange little creature. Thank God for educators who care about us strange little creatures, right? 😀

      Like

  2. Hm. I do actually exercise 5 days/ week and I really dread having people pay attention to me (strangers). But, sure, I do recognise myself in many of this. LOL, what a strange people writers are 😀

    Like

      1. Now, per #5, every time I quote myself, I’m going to feel self conscious. Nah. Not really. Laughing so hard. Maybe under #8 – laughs at own jokes & when writing something clever. Also, makes self cry while writing. LOL.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. LOL – well somebody has to quote us, right?

        I’ve always laughed at my own jokes. Is that weird? And I cry when I write too (sometimes) – seriously is this weird behavior? Oh dear…

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on EJ SHOKO and commented:
    I was meant to be a writer. Or at least a wannabe writer. I carry 9 of the 10 signs. I’ve working in the same field the whole time but I am constantly drawing from the strange humanity I’m forced to live in…

    Like

    1. Whoa, 9 out of 10? Then yeah, it’s official you were meant to be a writer. I think all writers are drawn into the strange and weird in their environments. Built into the brain cells, I think. So glad we connected. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

